Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be configured to point to the UBC eLink service, which will assist in searching UBC Library collections for full text. Users can expect to sign in via OpenAthens to access full text if they do not already have a session open. To enable the UBC eLink button, go to Google Scholar, click on the menu icon on the top left of the page, choose "Settings", then "Library links", search for "UBC" and select "University of British Columbia - UBC eLink".
PubMed
UBC researchers can access a version of PubMed that connects to the UBC eLink service, which will assist in searching UBC Library collections for full text. Users can expect to sign in via OpenAthens to access full text if they do not already have a session open. Please connect via the page below.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
BrowZine
BrowZine works by organizing articles found in UBC subscriptions and Open Access publications, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across disciplines. Use BrowZine to access content from over 1000 scholarly publishers and tens of thousands of journals. Please visit the page below for more information.
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowThe BrowZine app organizes articles found in Open Access and our subscribed ejournals, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a virtual newsstand for browsing.
DOIs and Table of Contents Alerts
Users may have a variable experience with links that are not Athenized.
For publisher-supplied links such as table of contents alerts, some publishers may customize links with the OpenAthens prefix to enable UBC users to sign in to access full text. In general, we recommend installing the Lean Library browser extension, which will help users connect to UBC Library full text from anywhere on the internet.
Similar issues can arise if using a DOI link. Again, we recommend use of Lean Library. To search for a particular DOI within UBC Library's collections, please use the Summon advanced search.