How to find books
-
SummonSummon is the main search tool for UBC Library, combining the library catalogue with a wealth of other databases and online collections. It is a good place to begin a search for print and electronic monographs.
Note that Summon, while extensive, is not connected to everything UBC Library owns.
Continue your search for books held by UBC Library by using the institutional subscription e-books databases listed below.
Expand your searching to include books not held by UBC Library by using the links in the 'Books from other libraries' box.
E-Book Databases (A-Z)
-
ACLS Humanities eBook ProjectAn online collection of approximately 3,700 books in the humanities.
-
Association of Canadian University PublisherseBooks published by Canadian University presses available via Scholar's Portal.
-
Bloomsbury ebooksAccess to 12,000+ ebooks from Bloomsbury, including imprints Bloomsbury, Hart, I.B. Tauris, and Zed.
-
Cambridge University PressCambridge University Press is one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world, a leader in publishing subjects as diverse as astronomy, Shakespeare studies, economics, mathematics and politics.
-
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)Catalogue and Digital Collections of the CRL consortium of North American university and independent research libraries. Items are available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
-
De Gruyter ebook collectionsEbook collections on the de Gruyter platform for Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, Princeton, University of California.
-
e-Duke Scholarly Books CollectionFull-text of over fourteen hundred books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences.
-
eBooks @ EBSCOhostMultidisciplinary collection of e-books, with strengths in business information. Use for: finding ebooks on accounting, e-commerce, entrepreneurship, economics + global economy, finance + banking, management, etc.
-
Google ScholarWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
-
HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
-
John Benjamins ebooksAccess to all 4000+ John Benjamins ebooks in every imaginable subfield of Language and Linguistics, including music related monographs.
-
MIT Press Complete Collection
Unified interface of US National Library of Medicine's (NLM) databases in toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
-
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe Oxford Handbooks series includes four subject modules - Business & Management; Philosophy; Political Science; and Religion.
-
Project MuseOnline access to a comprehensive selection of important journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
-
ProQuest Ebook Central
This comprehensive physiology resource is based on more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's Handbook of Physiology series.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooksAccess to a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from Taylor & Francis. Imprints include Routledge, CRC Press and Garland Science.
-
University Press Scholarship OnlineAlternate title: Oxford Scholarship Online
A vast and rapidly-expanding online research library, University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) offers full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform.
-
Wiley Online LibraryUse for: full text online access to journals published by John Wiley & Sons in the sciences, life sciences, law and business.
Books from other libraries
If UBC Library doesn't have the book you need, try ordering it through UBC Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
-
IllumeCatalogue of the holdings of British Columbia's public, college, and institute libraries.
-
Voilá: Catalogue du Canada / Canada's CatalogueCanada's national union catalogue. Includes published materials held by Libraries and Archives Canada (LAC) in Ottawa as well as those in hundreds of other libraries across the country. The successor to AMICUS.
-
WorldCatSearch thousands of libraries from one catalog. Order Interlibrary Loan requests easily through WorldCat.
