How to find journal articles
Journal databases have been arranged on this page by music specific, multidisciplinary, and open access.
For help using these databases, see the UBC Library's guide for finding journal articles.
Music Specific Article Databases (A-Z)
- Archiv für MusikwissenschaftOne of the leading German periodicals for musicology. Articles in German and English.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCMPI is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. CMPI is a free service provided by Library and Archives of Canada.
- Medical problems of performing artistsFirst clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts.
- Music Index Online(EBSCO) Some full text
The Music Index Online, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. - Music Periodicals DatabaseFormerly: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
Some full text
Indexing and abstracts for 445 international music periodicals covering music education, performance, ethnomusicology, theory, popular music, composition. - Music Theory and Analysis (MTA)Music Theory & Analysis (MTA) is a peer-reviewed international journal focusing on recent developments in music theory and analysis. It has a special interest in the interplay between theory and analysis, as well as in the interaction between European and North-American scholarship.
- Nota BeneCanadian undergraduate journal of musicology. Open Access.
- Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO) This link opens in a new windowOnline access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions. Publication rate is 15–20 new titles per year.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - Full Text This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) Full text
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text provides researchers with immediate access to a global, multidimensional full-text collection of scholarly music research. - RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950 This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) Full text
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950.
- Studia musicologicaAlternate title: International journal of musicology of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Edited by the Institute of Musicology, Centre for Humanities, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, publishes papers, documentary studies and short essays in the field of musicology in the broadest sense, with special respect to subjects connected with the history of Hungarian music and folk music. In English, French or German.
- Traités français sur la musique (TFM) This link opens in a new windowTraités français sur la musique (TFM) is an evolving full-text database of writings in the French language on music.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases (A-Z)
- Academic Search Complete(EBSCO) Full text
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of newspapers, videos, texts and images that document the rise of a social movement around disability history and disability studies.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. with many links to full text.
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowThe premier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. Contains academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas,
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowA current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline access to a comprehensive selection of important journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, theses and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines - medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, sport, business, and law.
- Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new windowPolitics, youth culture, music, fashion and other phenomena of the post-world war. Britain and America from 1950-1975.
- Web of ScienceImportant information resource across disciplines with excellent research services.
Open Access Article Databases (A-Z)
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- List of Open Access Music Journals (LOAMJ)The LOAMJ contains peer-reviewed academic journals; the supplemental list contains several other resources, including the newsletters of scholarly societies, specialized magazines on musical topics, blogs, and personal websites containing significant scholarly material.