All Music Databases A-Z
- American Music (Alexander Street Press Music Online)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming database includes songs across multiple genres by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys and covering songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. - Berliner-Philharmoniker Digital Concert HallAudio/visual streaming classical music concerts.
- Cambridge CompanionsOver 600 titles covering literature, classics, music, philosophy, religion, history, and culture.
- Canadian Encyclopedia2013 online successor to the print editions published in 1985 and 1988.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index(CMPI)
Index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. - cIRcleUniversity of British Columbia's digital portal for creative arts theses (creative writing; film; music; theatre - MFA and MMus only), beginning October 21, 2017 (UBC-V) and March 1, 2018 (UBC-O).
- Classical Music Library(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming database of classical music from Medieval to 21st century. - Classical Music Reference Library(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Reference materials spanning the history of Western classical music; includes Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music. - Classical Scores Library (4 Volumes)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Authoritative source for digital scores of the classical canon including lesser-known contemporary works. - Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press Music Online)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming database covering musical genres from every continent: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, jazz, Indian classical, and more. - Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Primary and secondary source materials serving music research. - Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology On-line(DDM)
Index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995. - DRAM(Database of Recorded American Music)
Audio streaming classical music; includes original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. - Encyclopedia of Music in CanadaNow embedded in "The Canadian Encyclopedia." Describes the full breadth and depth of Canadian musical culture.
- Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)Repository of ethnographic video recordings supporting scholars in the ethnographic disciplines including ethnomusicology.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineVols. 1 & II (Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Two-volume collection containing classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries, and shorts from every continent. - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
10 volumes devoted to world music: (v.1) Africa; (v.2), South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; (v.3) the United States and Canada; (v.4) Southeast Asia; (v.5) South Asia; (v.6) the Middle East; (v.7) East Asia; (v.8) Europe; (v.9) Australia and Pacific Islands; (V.10) glossary, a bibliography of literature and recordings by region, and essays by prominent ethnomusicologists. - HathiTrustDigital Library Full text
Digital preservation repository holding scores and monographs. - Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series (IPM)(EBSCO)
E-index for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions. - IPA SourceAlternate title: International Phonetic Alphabet
Phonetic alphabet transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. - Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street Press Music Online)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming jazz. - JSTOR CollectionDigital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- LGBTQ+ Source(EBSCO) Full text
140+ historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and books. - LibraryMusicSourceOnline database of classical sheet music in full score and parts.
- Maison ONAContemporary music e-scores.
- Medici TVThe largest audio-visual catalogue of classical music with 1,200 programs (concerts, archives, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles).
- Music and Performing ArtsOnline portal providing access to all Alexander Street Press music and performing arts databases. The gateway allows for cross-searching as well as entry to individual products.
- Music Index(EBSCO) Some full text
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature.
Print: ML118. M84 v.1(1949)-v.52(2000)
- Music Periodicals DatabaseFormerly: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
Some full text
Indexing and abstracts for 445 international music periodicals covering music education, performance, ethnomusicology, theory, popular music, composition.
- Naxos Music LibraryAudio streaming world's largest online classical music library.
- Naxos Music Library - Jazz (NMLJ)Audio streaming jazz legends and contemporary jazz.
- Naxos Music Library WorldAudio streaming includes complete Smithsonian Folkways, holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World.
- nkoda - Digital Sheet Music LibraryDigital sheet music library accessed via app.
- Opera in Video(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio/visual streaming performances from Baroque to 20th century. - Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAnnotated bibliography and high-level encyclopedia identifying the best scholarship across a wide variety of subjects including music.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineAlternate title: OHO Music module
Specially-commissioned essays referencing further reading for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners in the subject area of music.
- Oxford History of Western Music OnlineRichard Taruskin’s multi-volume survey of the traditions of Western music.
- Oxford Journals OnlineArts & Humanities
Includes Oxford University Press (OUP) publications in music. - Oxford Music OnlineAlternate title: Grove Music Online
Foremost English-language scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians. Holds extensive articles and bibliographies written by subject experts and comprehensive lists of works for select composers. Incorporates access to New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition), Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Grove Dictionary of Music Instruments, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. - Oxford Reference OnlineIncludes Dictionary Plus Music, Oxford Companion to Music, Dictionary of Opera Characters, Dictionary of Music, and more.
- Oxford Research EncyclopediasPeer-reviewed, article-style writings authored and edited by leading scholars in a variety of subject areas including music.
- Popular Music Library (Alexander Street Press Music Online)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming database presenting pop genres from around the world: alternative, country, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks, and more. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalAlternate title: PQDT Global
An extensive collection of 3.8 million graduate works, with 1.7 million in full text. - Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO)Access to all titles in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American, and Oral Traditions.
Legacy Collection: Additional access to titles published before 2018 in the seven RRIMO series and the series Collegium Musicum: Yale University. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - Full TextAlternate title: Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale
(EBSCO)
Foundational support for scholarly music research. A comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. - RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950(EBSCO)
International, annotated database offering detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture 1800 -1950. - RISM - Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (RISM-OPAC)Alternate titles: International inventory of musical sources = Répertoire international des sources musicales = Internationales Quellenlexikon der Musik.
Annotated index to music manuscripts produced after 1600; links to some manuscript scans.
Print: ML105 .46 Check holdings record. - Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and ProtestPrimary sources for the study of politics, youth culture, music, fashion and their interrelation, 1950-1975.
- Smithsonian Global Sound (Alexander Street Press Music Online)(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Audio streaming encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. - Traités français sur la musique (TFM)Full text
Database of writings in the French language on music. - WorldCatSearch thousands of libraries from one catalog. Order Interlibrary Loan requests easily through WorldCat.