Featured Composers
Violet Archer
Violet Archer, 1913-2000, was a Canadian composer and teacher who wrote in a wide variety of genres. A student of Claude Champagne, Bartók and Hindemith, she received the Queen's Silver Jubilee Medal in 1978 for distinguished service to music. She was a long-time faculty member at the University of Alberta (source).
Image source: Violet Archer, 1948. University of Alberta Archives, UAA-2001-058. Public domain.
Grazyna Bacewicz
Grazyna Bacewicz, 1909-1969, was a Polish composer, violinist, and pianist born in Łódź. An accomplished performer, Bacewicz often incorporated folk elements into her works, and is best known for her symphonies, string quartets, and concertos for piano, violin, viola, and cello (source).
Image source: Grazyna Bacewicz, date unknown. Courtesy of Polish Music Centre. Public domain.
Margaret Bonds
Margaret Bonds, 1913-1972, was a pioneering pianist and composer. She is best known for her vocal works, and collaborated frequently with other artists, notably Langston Hughes. As a performer, she was the first Black soloist to appear with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in a performance of her teacher, Florence Price's piano concerto (source).
Image source: Margaret Bonds by Carl Van Vechten, 1956. Public domain.
Nadia Boulanger
Nadia Boulanger, 1887-1979, is widely considered one of the most influential composition teachers of the 20th Century. She was also one of the first women to conduct professionally. Though she stopped composing in 1920 after the death of her sister, Lili Boulanger, several of Nadia Boulanger's early works survive, and her many students are among the most influential composers of the last century (source).
Image source: Nadia Boulanger, 1925. By Edmond Joaillier. Public domain.
Lori Freedman
Lori Freedman is a Canadian composer, improviser, and clarinettist. She has premiered many contemporary works for clarinet, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and was the winner of the Prix Opus in 2013. She is known for her daring and creative works (source).
Lori Freedman's papers are available in UBC Special Collections' Canadian Women Composers Collection.
Image source: Lori Freedman © Annamarie Ursula, CC BY-SA 3.0 DE.
Sofia Gubaidulina
Sofia Gubaidulina is known for her distinctive style and use of rests. Her works are often inspired by philosophy, and blend traditional Western instruments with folk traditions from her birthplace in the Tatar region. She has written extensively for strings (source).
Image source: Sofia Gubaidulina July1981 Sortavala © Dmitri N. Smirnov, CC BY 2.5
Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre
Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre, ca. 1665-1729, was a French harpsichordist and composer in the court of Louis XIV. She was the first French woman to compose an opera, and is known for her secular cantatas and sonatas for keyboard (source).
Image source: Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre by François de Troy. 18th Century. Public domain.
Kassia
Kassia, 810-ca. 867, was a Byzantine-Greek composer known during her life as a hymnographer and writer. She was closely associated with Emperor Theophilus of Constantinople. More than fifty works are attributed to Kassia, but many are of dubious authenticity (source).
Image source: Kassia. Unknown date. Public domain.
Libby Larsen
Libby Larsen is an American composer who has written over 400 works, including a staggering 15 operas. Larsen is known for her wide range of colours, vivacious rhythms, and use of amplification (source).
Image source: Libby Larsen at Book Release © Oninatortay, CC BY-SA 4.0
Tania León
Tania León is a Cuban-American composer, conductor, and pianist. She frequently incorporates Cuban and African elements into her compositions, which often feature polyrhythms alongside rich, dissonant harmonies (source). León won the Pulitzer Prize in Music in 2021 for her work Stride (source).
Image source: Tania León © Michael Provost, CC BY-SA 3.0.
Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i
Lili'uokalani, Queen of Hawai'i, 1838-1917, was a Hawai'ian composer known best for her songs, including the famous Aloha 'oe. As monarch, she ruled from 1891 until her deposition in 1893, which also marked the political end of the Hawai'ian Kingdom.
Image source: Lili'uokalani by George Prince, ca. 1898. Public domain.
Marianne Martínez
Marianne Martínez, 1744-1812, was a Viennese composer of Spanish descent. A student of Porpora, Haydn, Metastasio, and Hasse, she was renowned during her lifetime as a singer, harpsichordist, and composer in the Italian style. She was an honorary member of the Bologna Accademia Filarmonica, and wrote both instrumental and vocal works (source).
Image source: Marianne Martines..., Anton von Maron, ca. 1780. Public domain.
Pauline Oliveros
Pauline Oliveros, 1932-2016, was an American composer known for her electroacoustic music. She founded the San Francisco Tape Music Center in 1962, and went on to work with assistive technologies for music and real-time collaborative performance over the internet (source).
Image source: Pauline Oliveros - Sonic Acts 2012 © Pinar Temiz, CC BY-SA 2.0
Florence Price
Florence Price, 1887-1953, was the first African American woman composer to have a work performed by a major American orchestra (Symphony in E Minor premiered by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1933). Price is best known for her songs, which were popularized by singers such as Marian Anderson and Leontyne Price (source).
Image source: Florence Price, George Nelidoff, ca. 1940. Public domain.
Barbara Strozzi
Barbara Strozzi, 1619-1677, was an Italian composer and singer. A student of Cavalli, she produced many songs and solo cantatas, primarily for soprano. Her work is rooted in the seconda prattica and demonstrates exceptional lyricism and generous vocal writing (source).
Image source: Barbara Strozzi by Bernardo Strozzi. Ca. 1630's. Public domain.
Canadian Women Composers Collection / UBC Rare Books & Special Collections
The Canadian Women Composers Collection (CWCC) was introduced by UBC Library in 2015 for the purpose of documenting the compositional practices of Canadian women composers active at home or abroad. The collection is held by UBC Rare Books & Special Collections and consists of primary resources and related materials created and used by the following composers:
- Deborah Carruthers
- Dorothy Chang
- Zosha Di Castri
- Barbara Monk Feldman
- Lori Freedman
- Ana Sokolović
- Chiyoko Szlavnics
UBC Rare Books and Special Collections holds other collections related to Canadian women composers including: the Jean Coulthard Fonds, compositions by Anita Sleeman, and facsimiles of scores by Barbara Pentland.
Online Reference
- Classical Music Reference Library
Broad array of reference materials, including Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians and Women Composers: Music Through the Ages. Can browse composers by gender. - Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital repository with searchable catalogues from multiple institutions and full-text access to many scores and books. - Index to Printed Music
Online index of sources for printed music published in standard editions. - Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)
Annotated bibliography and high-level encyclopedia identifying the best scholarship across a wide variety of subjects including music.
Includes topical bibliographies such as Women in Music, Gender & Sexuality in Music, and specific composers including Clara Schumann and Hildegard von Bingen. - Oxford Handbooks Online
Specially commissioned essays from leading scholars and practitioners, providing critical examinations of issues and new perspectives. Merged with Oxford Academic. - Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)
Foremost English-language scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians. Holds extensive articles and bibliographies written by subject experts and comprehensive lists of works for select composers. Biographies of many women composers, articles on “Women in Music” and “Gender and Music,” and a list of women composers. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Comprehensive bibliography of publications about music, including citations, abstracts, indexes, and some full text sources. Alternate title: Répertoire internationale de littérature musicale.
Print and e-Reference
Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers by Call Number: MT90Publication Date: 2018Contains essays by leading theorists and musicologists on important women composers of history. In three volumes - Secular and Sacred Music to 1900, Concert Music 1900-1960, and Concert Music 1960-2000.
The Cambridge Companion to Women in Music Since 1900 by Call Number: ML82ISBN: 9781108556491Publication Date: 2021Explores women's work in music since 1900 across a classical tradition, popular music, and music technology. Covers many musicians, such as Marin Alsop, Grace Williams, Billie Holiday, Joni Mitchell and Adele.
Canadian Women Making Music by Call Number: ML82.K58 1992ISBN: 0969195583Publication Date: 1992Contains interviews with Canadian women musicians, including performers, singer/songwriters, and composers. Includes a history of women's performance organizations in Canada and bibliographical references.
From Convent to Concert Hall by Call Number: ML82 .F76 2003ISBN: 1573564117Publication Date: 2003Includes information on nearly 200 women composers from the 9th century to the 21st, representing a broad range of styles, countries, and eras. Also includes discography and bibliography for each composer.
In Her Own Words by Call Number: ML390ISBN: 9780252037597Publication Date: 2013Contains interviews with twenty-five American women composers from the mid-twentieth century onward, working in classical, jazz, multimedia, or collaborative forms for the stage, film, and video games.
International Encyclopedia of Women Composers by Call Number: ML105 .C73 1987ISBN: 0961748524Publication Date: 1987Contains short biographies, works lists, and bibliographies for more than 6000 women composers from around the world. With geographic and historical indexes, lists of operas by women, and a list of pseudonyms.
The Kaleidoscope of Women's Sounds in Music of the Late 20th and Early 21st Centuries by Call Number: ML82 .K63 2015ISBN: 9781443876520Publication Date: 2015Includes biographies and analyses of works by Sofia Gubaidulina, Joan Tower, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Libby Larsen, Chen Yi, and Judith Weir.
New Grove Dictionary of Women Composers by Call Number: ML105 .N38 1994ISBN: 0333515986Publication Date: 1994With information on 875 composers, ranging from Hildegard von Bingen to contemporary multimedia composers. Contains a biography, bibliography, and works list for each composer. Fully cross-referenced.
The Pandora Guide to Women Composers by Call Number: ML390.F837 P3 1994ISBN: 0044409362Publication Date: 1995Includes over 100 British and American women composers from 1630 on. Provides a critical overview of music, as well as an extensive bibliography and discography for each entry.
Piano Music by Black Women Composers by Call Number: ML128.P3 W3 1992ISBN: 0313281416Publication Date: 1992Lists over 300 solo and ensemble works, with biographies of 54 Black women composers. Includes difficulty and sources of published works, selected bibliography, and discography.- Pink Noises by Call Number: ML82 .R65 2010ISBN: 9780822346616Publication Date: 2010Contains twenty-four interviews with women in electronic music, including club and radio DJs, remixers, composers, improvisers, instrument builders, and installation and performance artists. An extension of pinknoises.com.
Race and Gender in the Western Music History Survey by Call Number: ML193ISBN: 9781003044635Publication Date: 2022Provides resources for developing inclusive music history and theory curricula, including information on social and cultural milieu. Parallels traditional chronological sequencing of music history classes.
The Routledge Handbook of Women's Work in Music by Call Number: ML82ISBN: 9780429201080Publication Date: 2021Covers women's contributions to Western and Eastern art music, world music, popular music, music education, ethnomusicology and more. In six parts.
Say Can You Deny Me by Call Number: ML128.W7 J3 1994ISBN: 1557283036Publication Date: 1994Lists the locations of the printed and manuscript sources of over 400 women composers from the Renaissance to the early romantic.
So You Want to Sing Music by Women by Call Number: MT820ISBN: 9781538116050Publication Date: 2019Explores the music of hundreds of women composers, such as Hildegard von Bingen, Clara Schumann, Erykah Badu, and Sara Bareilles. With chapters on art song, opera, choral music, avant garde music, music theater, and CCM.
Stormy Weather by Call Number: ML82.D34 1984ISBN: 0879101288Publication Date: 2004This book delves into the history of the involvement of women in jazz. It covers how women participated in the music as well as in-depth interviews, and also includes a discography of recordings by female artists.
Uncovering Music of Early European Women (1250-1750) by ISBN: 9781138585621Publication Date: 2020Covers women making music in the medieval and early modern periods in Europe. In four parts.
Violin Music by Women Composers by Call Number: ML128.W7 J63 1989ISBN: 0313266522Publication Date: 1989Covers works in 12 genre categories, including solo, recital, concerto, and chamber music. With selected biographies and discography.
Women Composers, Conductors and Musicians of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: ML82.L46 1980ISBN: 0810812983Publication Date: 1980Contains biographies of several leading women composers, conductors, and performers of the twentieth century. In three volumes.
Women in Music by Call Number: ML128.W7ISBN: 9780415994200Publication Date: 2010Annotated bibliography of feminist scholarship on music. Covers published writings on women's work in music and feminist theory in music.- The Women in Music Anthology by Call Number: ML82 .W65 2021ISBN: 0994042590Publication Date: 2021"An anthology of texts on women in classical music, mainly historical women composers and musicians"
Women of Influence in Contemporary Music by Call Number: ML82 .W676 2011ISBN: 9780810877429Publication Date: 2010Collected essays on nine American women composers, including Jennifer Higdon, Libby Larsen, and Tania León. Each chapter includes a biography of the composer, an interview, and a detailed analysis of one major composition.- The Work of Women Composers from 1150 to 1995 by Call Number: ML82 .B66 1996ISBN: 072232975XPublication Date: 1996Contains biographical essays on women composers 1150-1995. Includes bibliographical references.
Search Terms
Library of Congress (LC) subject headings offer a focused pathway into the holdings of UBC Library. Use the Books and Media Catalogue search engine to explore LC subject headings and linked resources. Listed below is a sampling of LC subject heading relevant for topic research.
- African American women composers
- African American women musicians
- Femininity in music
- Feminism and music
- Feminist music
- Gender identity in music
- Lesbian musicians
- Music by African American women composers
- Music by women composers
- Music by women composers–discography
- Music–Social aspects
- Women composers
- Women composers, Black
- Women composers–Biography
- Women composers–Canada
- Women composers–United States
- Women hymn writers
- Women in Music
- Women in the music trade
- Women librettists
- Women lyricists
- Women musicians
- Women musicians–Canada
- Women musicians–United States
- Women’s music
Browsing
Scores
The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system does not distinguish works by gender. It is best to browse the scores by instrumentation or specific composer!
-
M1977.W64 - Secular vocal music–Women (secular songs about women)
General Literature on Music
-
ML82 - Women and music
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias
-
ML102.G46 - Gender in music
Bibliography
-
ML128.W7 - Women in music
-
ML156.4.G4 - Women’s music (discography)
-
ML156.4.W6 - Women musicians (discography)
Scores
Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women by Call Number: M2 .C77 1997ISBN: 9780253211026Publication Date: 1997Contains pieces by 30 women composers, including concert music, jazz, pop, and more. With short biographies, references, and discographies.
New Historical Anthology of Music by Women by Call Number: M2 H68 2004ISBN: 0253216834Publication Date: 2004Contains 55 pieces by 46 women composers from antiquity to present day. With introductory essays and suggestions for further reading and listening. In modern notation.
New Standards: 101 Lead Sheets by Women Composers by ISBN: 9780876392232Publication Date: 2022Contains jazz compositions by women composers of the last century in a variety of styles. Includes works by recent Berklee Institute graduates.Women Composers: Music Through the Ages by
Call Number: M2 .W654 1996Publication Date: 1996With annotated, modern performance scores from the ninth through the twentieth centuries. Also contains explanatory essays, bibliographical references, and index.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
- Collected Works of Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre, 1665-1729 by Call Number: M3.J25Library holds volumes 3 (sacred vocal works) and 4 (secular vocal works).
- Compositions of Chizuko Yoshida by Call Number: M3 .Y67 2010Publication Date: 2010In three volumes plus supplement. Includes Japanese texts with English translations and parallel romanization, list of compositions, list of songwriters, program notes for all works, and a personal history.
- Selected Works by Call Number: M3.1 .C37 1985ISBN: 0306761939Publication Date: 1985Includes piano pieces and string quartet.
- Selected Works by Call Number: M3.1.H45 D53 2002Publication Date: 2002The 5th work for high voice and piano; the 4th and 6th are fragments. Edited from an autograph ms. in the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin--Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung.
American Women Composers: Piano Music from 1865-1915 by Call Number: M21 .A59 1990Publication Date: 1990Includes bibliographical references.
Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music (1893-1990) by Call Number: M21 .B55 1992Publication Date: 1992Includes biographical information on composers and biblographical references.- Eighteenth Century Women Composers for the Harpsichord or Piano by Call Number: M21 .E534 1992Publication Date: 1992The first work of vol. 1 in part for high voice and continuo; figured bass realized for keyboard instrument. Includes biographical and performance notes.
- Female Composers: 22 Pieces from the 18th-20th Century by Call Number: M21 .F815 1985Publication Date: 1985Foreword and biographical sketches in English and German.
Four Centuries of Women Composers by Call Number: M21 .M45 2003ISBN: 0786668709Publication Date: 2003Spans four centuries, including rarely heard pieces by Clara Gottschalk and Marie Antoinette. Other composers include Teresa Carreño, Amy Beach, Clara Schumann, Fanny Mendelssohn, and others.
Woman Composers: A Graded Anthology for Piano by Publication Date: 2022Three-volume compendium of educational literature from the 17th Century to the present day. Includes tips for rehearsing and biographical notes. Book 1: Gr. 1-4,Book 2: Gr. 4-7, Book 3: Gr. 7-8.
Women Composers in History by Call Number: M21 .W56 2013ISBN: 9781476817491Publication Date: 2013Includes music by Amy Marcy Beach, Teresa Carreno, Cecile Chaminade, Louise Dumont Farrenc, Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel, Margaret Ruthven Lang, Clara Gottschalk Peterson, and Clara Schumann, along with composer biographies.- Women Composers of Ragtime: A Collection of Six Selected Rags by Women Composers, Reprinted From the Original Sheet Music by Call Number: M21 .W55 1906APublication Date: 1985Reprint of works originally published 1906-1910.
Includes the illustrated title pages.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
- Female Composers: 13 Pieces for Violin and Piano by Call Number: M218 .F738 1994Publication Date: 1994Prefatory material in German and English.
- Female Composers: 14 Pieces for Violoncello and Piano by Call Number: M230 .F73 1999Publication Date: 1999Preface in German and English.
- Keyboard Sonatas by Call Number: M219 .K415 1990ISBN: 0306762854Publication Date: 1990Principally for violin and keyboard instrument. Reprints primarily dating from the late-18th Century. Includes bibliographical and discographical references.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
- Clarinet Music by Female Composers: 18 Pieces for Clarinet (A and B-flat) and Piano by Call Number: M248 .K42 2020Publication Date: 2020For clarinet and piano. Includes notes about composers and their works in German with English translation.
- Flute Music by Female Composers: 13 Pieces for Flute and Piano by Call Number: M241 .F565 2008Publication Date: 2008For flute and piano. Preface and notes on the composers in German and English.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
Art Songs and Spirituals by African American Women Composers by Call Number: M1495 .A79 1995Publication Date: 1995Includes biographical notes on composers and bibliographical references. For high voice and piano. English words.- Female Composers: 25 Songs for Voice and Piano by Call Number: M1619 .F62 1992Publication Date: 1992Foreword and biographical sketches in English and German.
First Solos: Songs by Women Composers, Vol. 1 by Call Number: M1619 .F53 2000 V. 1Publication Date: 2000For high voice. Works by Boulanger, Lehmann, Ruthven-Lang, Beach, Viardot Garcia and others. Biographical notes on composers and notes to students. Words in English, French, German, or Italian.
First Solos: Songs by Women Composers, Vol. 2 by Call Number: M1619 .F53 2000 V. 2Publication Date: 2003For medium voice. Works by Caccini, Puget, Hensel, Beach, and others. Biographical notes on composers and notes to students. Words in English, French, German, or Italian.
First Solos: Songs by Women Composers, Vol. 3 by Call Number: M1619 .F53 2000 V. 3Publication Date: 2003For low voice. Works by Ruthven-Lang, Branscombe, Lehmann, Szymanowska, and others. Biographical notes on composers and notes to studetns. Words in English, French, German, or Italian.
Inspired by Goethe: Songs by Women Composers for Voice and Orchestra, Volume 1 by Publication Date: 2021Originally for voice and piano. Postscript and biographical notes in German and English. Works by Liebmann, Lang, Hensel, and others.
Inspired by Goether: Songs by Women Composers for Voice and Orchestra, Volume 2 by Publication Date: 2021Originally for voice and piano. Postscript and biographical notes in German and English. Works by von Arnim, Lang, Hensel, Kinkel, and Schumann (Wieck).- Latin American and Iberian Art Songs by Women ComposersCall Number: M1619 L279 2020For female voice and piano in staff notation.
Introduction, critical notes, and biographical notes in Spanish with English translation, phonetic transcriptions of song texts, and song index 
Lieder and Other Songs by Women Composers of the Classic Era, Vol. 1 by Call Number: M1619 .L4293Publication Date: 1987German words, with English translations at end of each song. Includes biographical notes in English, bibliographies, and lists of works of each composer.
Women Composers: A Heritage of Song by ISBN: 0634078712Publication Date: 2004For voice and piano. Additional lyrics printed as text. Available for high voice and low voice.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
Anthology of Sacred Music by Women Composers by Call Number: M2062 .A58 2019Publication Date: 2019-2020Biographical notes and commentary in English. English, Latin and German words, in part printed separately as text with English translations.
Volume 1 - SATB, Volume 2 - Treble voices
Breath of Song: 10 Works by Women Composers for Unaccompanied SATB Choir by Publication Date: 2021Preface and program notes in English. Includes works by Eleanor Daley, Laura Hawley, Cecilia McDowall, Sarah Quartel, and others.
Be sure to check out our guide to finding digital scores!
Audio Recordings
UBC Library offers access to many streaming audio and video resources, including Naxos Music Library, Medici TV, and Berlin Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall. Highlighted below are music CDs from UBC Library's physical collections. These resources frequently contain booklets with important and hard-to-find information about composers and their works.
- Chamber Music by Women Composers
Music by (Wieck) Schumann, Beach, Tailleferre, Lili Boulanger, Mendelssohn Hensel, Carreño, and Chaminade. Compact disc.
AV2 4201 S393 34799 - Deferred Voices: Organ Music by Women
Christa Rakich, organ. Program notes including notes on the organ with specifications inserted in container. Compact disc.
AV1.2.H447 P7 1993 - The Ice Age and Beyond: Songs by Canadian Women Composers
Patricia Green, mezzo-soprano; Midori Koga, piano; with additional musicians. Compact disc.
AV1.2.D66 A5 2009 - In Praise of Woman: 150 Years of English Women Composers
Program and biographical notes by Sophie Fuller and texts inserted in container. Compact disc.
AV1.2.L15 M95 1994 - New Music for Electronic & Recorded Media: Women in Electronic Music, 1977
Program notes by Charles Amirkhanian with selected discography and bibliography inserted in container. Music by Beyer, Lockwood, Oliveros, Spiegel, Roberts, Ruth Anderson, and Laurie Anderson. Compact disc.
AV1.2.B49 S8 M8 2006 - Rees & Stoyanoff, Duo Pianists: Music by American Women Composers
Music by Postnikoff, Smith, Ballou, Beach, Bolz, Butler. Compact disc.
AV2 4115 P8586 34382 - Sacred Women: Women as Composers and Performers of Medieval Chant
Fadia El-Hage, vocalist; Belinda Sykes, vocalist, Shawm; Marianne Kirch, vocalist, dulcimer; Vladimir Ivanoff, frame drums, ud. Compact disc.
CBC EMCD 287 - Susana Marín, Piano
Recorded Aug. 1990, Madrid. Music by Lili Boulanger, de la Cruz, Escribano, Ozaita, Catalán, Diez, and Bacewicz. Compact disc.
AV1.2.B678 D8 1991 - Three Concerti: Music by Violet Archer, Larysa Kuzmenko, and Alexina Louie
Christina Petrowska Quilico, piano ; National Arts Centre Orchestra, Alex Pauk, conductor (1st work) ; CBC Vancouver Orchestra, John Eliot Gardiner, conductor (2nd work) ; Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor (3rd work). Compact disc.
AV1.2.L6795 C6 2010 - Women Write Music: Orchestral Music by 20th Century Women Composers
Foundation Philharmonic Orchestra; David Snell, conductor. Program notes in English and French (23 pages) inserted in container. Compact disc.
CBC COCD 1636
Open Access Resources
- Association of Canadian Women Composers
Advocates for women composers in Canada, provides funding for projects, publishes lists of repertoire by women composers, and holds a collection of archival material related to women composers in Canada. - Canadian Music Centre
Hub for Canadian music resources. Publishes works of many composers, operates a score lending service across the country, and streams archival recordings of Canadian music online. Check out the Composer Showcase for featured composers and more. - Donne Women in Music
Publishes a list of over 5000 women composers, funds concerts and commissions, and publishes a daily blog featuring women composers. Based in the United Kingdom. - Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection
A digital catalog of works by women held in the University of Michigan’s Special Collections. Some works available online. - IMSLP
Online library with thousands of public domain scores. Has a list of women composers with works available. - Inclusive Early Music
Hosts an extensive bibliography on underrepresented voices in Early Music on Zotero. - International Alliance for Women in Music
Advocates for women in music internationally, provides awards and grants for projects, and publishes a quarterly journal on women in music. - Institute for Composer Diversity
Hosts a set of searchable databases of underrepresented composers and repertoire (choral, wind band, orchestral, and art song) by underrepresented composers. Also has a bibliography of selected resources. - Kassia Database
Maintains a searchable database of art songs by women composers. - Kapralova Society
Maintains an online bibliography of resources related to women composers - Many Many Women
An online list of over 1000 women composers, also divisible by genre. - The Philomel Project
Maintains a database of chamber and solo works by women composers. - Sakira Ventura Map of Women Composers
An interactive map of women composers from around the globe created and maintained by musicologist Sakira Ventura. - Women’s Philharmonic Advocacy
Collects statistics on performances of works by women composers by American orchestras, publishes lists of repertoire and active composers and conductors, and publishes a blog called Feminist in the Concert Hall.