Online Reference
- African American Music Reference(Alexander Street Press Music Online)
Reference material spanning all genres and time periods of African American music. - Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicFull text encyclopedias.
Vol. 1: Africa
Vol. 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Vol. 3: The United States and Canada
Vol. 4: Southeast Asia
Vol. 5: South Asia - The Indian Subcontinent
Vol. 6: The Middle East
Vol. 7: East Asia - China, Japan, and Korea
Vol. 8: Europe
Vol. 9: Australia and the Pacific Islands
Vol. 10: The World's Music - General Perspectives and Reference Tools - Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAnnotated bibliography and high-level encyclopedia identifying the best scholarship across a wide variety of subjects including music.
Include topical bibliographies on genres such as Rap/Hip-Hop and Jazz. - Oxford Music OnlineForemost English-language scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians. Holds extensive articles and bibliographies written by subject experts and comprehensive lists of works for select composers.
Ability to search by region, topic, and key terms such as "Race and Ethnicity" or "Ethnomusicology".
Print Reference
Afro-American Religious Music: A Bibliography and A Catalogue of Gospel Music by Call Number: ML128.S4 J3 1979Spirituals (Songs)--Bibliography.
Gospel music--Bibliography.
African Americans--Music--Bibliography.
Black Classical Musicians and Composers, 1500-2000 by Call Number: ML385 2019Much has been written about the work of black musicians and composers yet little attention has been given to the long history of black influence on classical music. Covering the lives and works of such composers as Chevalier de Saint-Georges, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Scott Joplin and Margaret Alison Bonds, this book examines the black classical music legacy with profiles of key artists who made valuable contributions that impacted classical music from the 16th through the 21st centuries.
Musicians, Black--Biography
Composers, Black--Biography
Music by black composers--History and criticism
Black Women in American Bands and Orchestras by Call Number: ML82 .H36 1998Composer profiles are presented under the headings of orchestras and orchestra leaders, string players, wind and percussion players, keyboard players, and non-playing orchestra/band affiliates.
African American women musicians.
Blues, Funk, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, Hip Hop, and Rap by Call Number: ML128.P63 M43 2010Despite the influence of African American music and study as a worldwide phenomenon, no comprehensive and fully annotated reference tool currently exists that covers the wide range of genres. This much needed bibliography fills an important gap in this research area and will prove an indispensable resource for librarians and scholars studying African American music and culture.
Blues (Music)--Bibliography.
Funk (Music)--Bibliography
Rhythm and blues music--Bibliography
Soul music--Bibliography
Rap (Music)--Bibliography
A Blues Bibliography by Call Number: ML128.B49 2019In addition to biographical references, this work includes entries on the history and background of the blues, instruments, record labels, reference sources, regional variations and lyric transcriptions and musical analysis.
Blues (Music)--Bibliography
Brass Music of Black Composers by Call Number: ML128.W5 H62 1996The most comprehensive guide to brass music written by black composers. Covers composers from around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries. Included in the book is biographical information; commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each piece; bibliographical sources; and an index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensemble.
Brass instruments--Bibliography
Blacks--Music--Bibliography
Caribbean Popular Music: An Encyclopedia of Reggae, Mento, Ska, Rock Steady, and Dancehall by Call Number: ML102.P66 M67 2006Due to its depth and extensive coverage, this book is the most complete and up to date encyclopedia about reggae, mento, ska, rocksteady, and dancehall music on the market today. Entries cover singers and songwriters, producers, record labels, and different styles of music that evolved from reggae.
Popular music--Caribbean Area--Encyclopedias
Choral Arrangements of the African-American Spirituals: Historical Overview and Annotated Listings by Call Number: ML128.V7 T75 1998Musicians, choral directors, and scholars will welcome this first complete text on the African-American spiritual genre. Annotated listings of titles provide information choral directors need to make ensemble-appropriate performance choices. Arrangements indexed by title, arranger, and subject complement the accompanying biographies and repertoire information.
Choral music--United States--Bibliography
Spirituals (Songs)--History and criticism
African Americans--Music--History and criticism
Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music by Call Number: ML102.G6 E63 2005The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music is the first comprehensive reference to cover this important American musical form. Coverage includes all aspects of both African-American and white gospel from history and performers to recording techniques and styles as well as the influence of gospel on different musical genres and cultural trends.
Gospel music--Encyclopedias
Gospel music--Bio-bibliography
Encyclopedia of the Blues by Call Number: ML102.B6E53ebvol.1A full-length, authoritative encyclopaedia on the Blues as a musical form, this A-Z resource covers not only the performers, but also musical styles, regions, record labels and cultural aspects of the blues, including race and gender issues. Special attention is paid to discographies and bibliographies.
Free Jazz: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: ML128.J3 2018Free Jazz: A Research and Information Guide offers carefully selected and annotated sources on free jazz, with comprehensive coverage of English-language academic books, journal articles, and dissertations, and selective coverage of trade books, popular periodicals, documentary films, scores, Masters theses, online texts, and materials in other languages.
Free jazz--Bibliography
International Dictionary of Black Composers by Call Number: ML105 .I58 1999African American composers--Bio-bibliography--Dictionaries.
Composers, Black--Bio-bibliography--Dictionaries.
Music by Black Women Composers by Call Number: ML128.W7 W35 1995Women composers, Black--Bibliography.
African American women composers--Bibliography.- Music of Sub-Saharan Africa : an international bibliography and resource guide by Call Number: ML120.A35 G73 2018Music--Africa, Sub-Saharan--Bibliography.
- Spirituals: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography for Research and Performance by Call Number: ML128.S4 A28 2015To make sense of the immense impact spirituals have made on music, culture, and society, this bibliography cites writings from a multidisciplinary perspective. This annotated bibliography documents articles, books, and dissertations published since 1902. Of those, 150 are books; 80 are chapters within books; 615 are journal articles, and 150 are dissertations, along with a selection of highly significant items published before 1920.
Spirituals (Songs)--Bibliography
Gospel music--Bibliography 
String Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography by Call Number: ML128.B45 H7 1991Composers from Africa as well as the Diaspora are covered in this, the most comprehensive work on the topic yet published. Organized in alphabetical order by composer, each entry provides information, where available, on the composer's life and career, and then details all works that include strings as well as information about commission, premiere, and composer bibliography and discography. The volume includes a string index, as well as a general discography and bibliography.
Composers, Black--Bibliography
Composers, Black--Biography
Music--Bibliography
Woodwind Music of Black Composers by Call Number: ML128.W5 H65 1990The later half of the twentieth century has witnessed a rise in compositions for woodwinds, both for solo and chamber ensembles by relatively unknown Black composers. This pioneering volume will become the standard source of information on nineteenth and twentieth century Black composers from three continents as well as their woodwind compositions. It contains the most current and complete biographical data on 90 African composers, Afro-American composers, Afro-Latin composers, and Afro-European composers, including their education and professional experience and information on their continuing musical influence.
Woodwind instruments--Bibliography
Composers, Black--Bio-bibliography- Hip-Hop Studies: An International Bibliography and Resource Guide by This remarkable new study provides the first comprehensive overview of the burgeoning field of Hip-Hop Studies and its enormous literature. Comprised of more than 7000 entries it encompasses both the early journalistic and popular writing on the subject as well as the wealth of scholarship that has emerged since the mid-1990s.
Afro-Cuban Music: A Bibliogrpahic Guide by Call Number: ML120.C85 G73 2012Blacks--Cuba--Music--Bibliography
Festivals--Cuba--Bibliography
Folk music--Cuba--African influences--Bibliography
Popular music--Cuba--African influences--Bibliography
Musical instruments--Cuba--Bibliography
Musicians--Cuba--Bibliography
From Vodou to Zouk: a bibliograpic guide to music of the French-speaking Caribbean and its diaspora by Call Number: ML128.F74 G73 2010Folk music--West Indies, French--Bibliography
Popular music--West Indies, French--Bibliography
Musicians, Black--West Indies, French--Bibliography
Zouk (Music)--West Indies, French--History and criticism--Bibliography
Voodoo music--Bibliography
Carnival--West Indies, French--Bibliography
West Indies, French--Social life and customs--Bibliography
Search Terms - Library of Congress Subject Headings & Keywords
Library of Congress (LC) subject headings offer a focused pathway into the holdings of UBC Library. Use the Books and Media Catalogue search engine to explore LC subject headings and linked resources. Listed below is a sampling of LC subject heading relevant for topic research.
- African American women composers--Bibliography
- African Americans -- Music -- History and criticism
- African American composers -- Biography
- African American women composers
- Blues (Music)--Bibliography
- Composers, Black--Biography
- Funk (Music)--Bibliography
- Music--Political aspects--Africa
- Music and race
- Music by black composers--History and criticism
- Musicians -- Africa
- Musicians, Black--Biography
- Rap (Music)--Bibliography
- Rap (Music)--History and criticism
- Rap (Music)--Social aspects
- Rhythm and blues music--Bibliography
- Soul music--Bibliography
- Women composers, Black--Bibliography
Browsing - Library of Congress Call Numbers
Scores
- M1670 - African American music (includes accompanied and unaccompanied works, including Spirituals: Collections)
- M1830 - African folk, national, and ethnic music (General)
- M1831.A-Z - African folk, national, and ethnic music (by ethnic group, A-Z)
- M1834 - South African folk, national, and ethnic music
- M1838.A-Z - African music (by region or country, A-Z)
Music History and Criticism
- ML350 - Africa (General works)
- ML355.A-Z - Africa (by region or country, A-Z)
- ML3187 - Gospel music
- ML3478 - African American music - History and criticism - Addresses, essays, lectures
- ML3479 - African American music - History and criticism - General works
Popular Music
- ML3486 - West Indies/Caribbean Area - General works
- ML3502.5 - Africa (General works)
- ML3503.A-Z - Africa (By region or country, A-Z)
- ML3506 - Jazz (General)
- ML3507 - Jazz - Addresses, essays, lectures
- ML3508 - Jazz (United States)
- ML3509.A-Z - Jazz (By other regions or countries, A-Z)
- ML3521 - Blues/Rhythm and blues
- ML3527 - Doo-wop
- ML3527.8 - Funk
- ML3528.5 - House music
- ML3530 - Ragtime music
- ML3531 - Rap music
- ML3532 - Reggae music
- ML3534 - Rock music
Folk, National, and Ethnic Musics
- ML3556 - African American (Including spirituals)
- ML3558 - Latin American (including Creole)
- ML3565 - West Indies
- ML3560 - Africa (General works)
Social and Political Aspects of Music
- ML3917.A4 - Africa
- ML3917.U6 - United States
- ML3918.B57 - Blues
- ML3918.F86 - Funk
- ML3918.J39 - Jazz
- ML3918.P67 - Popular music
- ML3918.R37 - Rap music
Anthologies
- Anthology of art songs by Black American composers / compiled by Willis C. Patterson ; preface by George Shirley ; introduction by Wendell P. WhalumM1619 A513 1977
1 score (xi, 148 pages) ; 31 cm
Includes biographical notes on the composers. - Art songs and spirituals : by African-American women composers / Vivian Taylor, editor.M1495 .A79 1995
1 score ([vi], 88 pages) ; 28 cm
Includes biographical notes on composers ([iii-vi]). - Songs. Selections 44 art songs and spirituals / by Florence B. Price ; edited by Richard Heard.M1620.P75 H43 2015
Medium/high voice.
1 score (x, 173 pages) ; 28 cm
Includes program notes and biographical information on the composer. - An anthology of African and African diaspora songs / Louise Toppin, editor ; Scott Piper, associate editor
Journals
Audio/Visual Resources
- Anthology of American folk music / edited by Harry Smith.AV1.2.Z62 U55 A58 1997
6 audio discs : digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 2 booklets. - Jazz : the Smithsonian anthologyAV1.2 .J398 2010
6 sound discs : digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 book (200 pages : illustrations ; 28 cm.)
Book includes introduction, notes on each track by various authors, bibliographical references and discography. - Naxos Music Library - Jazz (NMLJ)Holds the recordings of over 32,000 artists from over 200 labels and includes selections from the catalogues of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy, and others.
- Naxos Music Library Worldincludes the complete Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, the non-profit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, as well as holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World. Smithsonian Folkways is dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound.
- Smithsonian Global Sound (Alexander Street Press Music Online)Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Open Access Resources
- A Seat at the PianoA database which seeks to promote a more equitably representative body of piano works. Includes bi-weekly composer features.
ASAP focuses on creating a more inclusive pedagogy, but is a valuable resource for teachers and students alike. - African American Art Song AllianceIncludes discography along with lists of composers, performers, scholars, and publishers.
- African Diaspora Music ProjectExtensive database which allows the user to search by composer, voice repertoire, and orchestral repertoire. Include bios of each composer with detailed lists of works.
- Black Opera Research NetworkIncludes literature, dissertations, audiovisual resources, and a list of works.
From the website: "BORN wishes to serve as a platform for conversations on the history, experiences, politics, and practices of Black opera." - Black Music History LibraryFrom the homepage: "This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing."
- Composers Equity ProjectA list provided by Chamber Music America (CMA) of composers from underrepresented and marginalized backgrounds. Names link to composer websites.
- Composers of Color Resource ProjectResources for music by composers of color. Includes scores, annotated scores, analytical notes, lesson materials, and music theory examples.
- Edwin A. Fleisher CollectionOrchestral music by composers of African descent. From the collection at the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Includes historical background of the collection. - Institute for Composer DiversityDatabase organized by Composer, Works, and Choral. The ICD acts as a resource for the discovery of composers from underrepresented groups.
- Music by Black ComposersIncludes sheet music, resources such as bibliographies, discographies, and podcasts.
They have also compiled repertoires for violin and orchestra, solo violin, solo piano, and classical guitar.
Check out the "Living Composers Directory."
Selected Composers
Below is a list of notable Black composers that can get you started in your research. This list is not meant to be comprehensive; rather, it provides a small glimpse of names that are often overlooked in the traditional educational canon.
- Bonds, Margaret (1913-1972)Composer, pianist, and teacher from Chicago. Primarily a vocal composer.
- Braxton, Anthony (1945-)African-American experimental composer, improviser, saxophonist, and multi-instrumentalist.
- Coleman, Valerie (1970-)American flutist and composer, specialist in chamber music performance.
- Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel (1875-1912)Coleridge-Taylor studied at the Royal College of Music and gained success in both England and America. His repertoire includes choral and orchestral works, along with incidental music and concertos. His influences include Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, and Grieg, along with an appreciation for African American folk music.
- Davis, Anthony Curtis (1951-)American pianist and composer who incorporates several styles including jazz, rhythm 'n' blues, gospel, non-Western, African, European classical, Indonesian gamelan, and experimental music.
- Dett , R. Nathaniel (1882-1943)Dett is a Canadian-American composer born in Niagara Falls, Ontario in 1882. He is beest known for his choral and piano compositions which drew inspiration from African-American folk songs and spirituals.
- Eastman, Julius (1940-1990)American composer, vocalist, pianist, and improviser. Focus on minimalist repetition. Regular performer at the Kitchen in New York.
- Hailstork, Adlophus (1941-)American composer. From Oxford Music Online: "His musical language is postmodern and pluralistic, embracing a variety of contemporary techniques and including occasional references to black American idioms..."
- Kay, Ulysses (1917-1995)American composer. From Oxford Music Online: "Kay’s musical language is tonal, though extensively chromatic. Lyrical melodies, rich harmonies and polyphonic textures are also characteristic. His orchestration reflects a creative understanding of the timbral possibilities of orchestral instruments."
- Leon, Tania Justina (1943-)Cuban-born American composer, conductor, pianist, and teacher.
- Lewis, George (1952-)Improviser, performer, and scholar of experimental music born in Chicago. Member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM).
- Mitchell, Rosco (1940-)Composer, jazz instrumentalist, and educator, known for being a technically brilliant saxophonist.
- Monk, Thelonius (1917-1982)Jazz pianist and composer whose work has had a tremendous influence on the development and progression of modern jazz.
- Newton, James (1953-)American jazz flutist and composer.
- Perkinson, Coleridge-Taylor (1932-2004)American composer and conductor. From Oxford Music Online: "His music draws on elements of Baroque counterpoint, American Romanticism, blues, spirituals, and rhythmic ingenuity."
- Perry, Zenobia Powell (1908-2004)American composer and professor.
- Price, Florence B. (1887-1953)First African-American women to gain recognition for symphonic composition.
- Roumain, Daniel Bernard (1971-)American composer and violinist. Incorporates electronic and African-American musical influences.
- Saint-Georges, Joseph Bologne, chevalier de (1745-1799)French classical composer, virtuoso violinist, a conductor of the leading symphony orchestra in Paris, and a renowned champion fencer.
- Sancho, Ignatius (1729-1780)The earliest documented composer of African origin to be published in the West. Most of his compositions are in the early classical style.
- Singleton, Alvin (1940-)American composer from Brooklyn, NY. Style influenced by jazz and contemporary European practices.
- Smith, Wadada Leo (1941-)American jazz trumpeter and composer, member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM).
- Still, William Grant (1895-1978)American composer with an influential career as an arranger. Used elements of blues in much of his music.
- Uzor, Charles (1961-)Nigerian-born composer whose works opera, dance, orchestra, and choral.
- Walker, George (1922-2018)American composer and pianist. Received a Pulitzer prize for his piece Lilacs in 1996. From Oxford Music Online: "His mature style reflects the influence of serialism, but is also characterized by neo-classical forms and textures, engaging melodies, dramatic instrumental colouring, rhythmic complexity, and frequent references to black folk idioms."
- Z, Pamela (1956-)American composer and performer who combines dynamic vocal techniques with computer technology.