Skip to main content

Art History & Visual Art – Special Topics

Getting Started

This research guide provides resources, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources, on specialized topics in visual and material culture.

Start by exploring resources in:

Then, expand your search by:

  • using the tailored resource lists in each section of the menu on the left-hand side of this guide

Other art research guides:

Key Resources

Listed below are a few key resources for art, and related multidisciplinary studies, that can be used to search across all of the topics in this guide.

For more specialized databases and research materials, explore the topic-specific resources listed in the tabs on the left-hand side of this guide.

Image result for oxford art online  Art Full Text  Image result for artbibliographies modern   Image result for oxford bibliographies online 
Image result for art index retrospective   Image result for international bibliography of art Image result for bibliography of the history of art Image result for jstor   

Find Art Books

General instructions for finding art books are provided below. For information about locating art books on specialized topics, use the tabs listed on the left-hand side of this guide to find tailored resource lists.


Search Summon and the Library Catalogue to find print and e-books.

Books in the call number ranges listed below are located on Levels 3 & 4 of the Music, Art & Architecture Library:

Core Art books are classed in the N-call number range.

  • N - visual arts
  • NB - sculpture
  • NC - drawing, design, illustration
  • ND - painting
  • NE - print media
  • NK - decorative arts
  • NX - arts in general

     Photography books are classed in the T-call number range. ​

  • TR - photography
  • TT - handicrafts, arts and crafts

 

 

 

 

Additional call numbers to consider:

  • E-F - History of the Americas.
    • Materials related to Indigenous art can be found within this call number
  • GN - Anthropology.
    • Additional materials related to Indigenous art can be found here. 
  • GV - Recreation, Leisure.
    • Materials related to dance and performance.
  • LC - Special aspects of education.
    • Materials related to art and social justice, and/or activism.
  • QA - Mathematics.
    • Materials related digital art and new media art. 
  • SB - Plant Culture.
    • Materials related to ecological art and installation art.

Note: some topics are interdisciplinary and may not be limited to the call numbers above. 

For more information on how these call numbers are organized by the Library of Congress, see: 


New Art Books

To browse new art books recently acquired by the Music, Art & Architecture Library, see: New Books & Materials. Search by using: 

(1) the "Restrict to subject" option and selecting "Fine Arts" in the drop down menu.

(2) the "Call number range(s)" option and identifying a specific call number to search (eg., AM, N-NX, ND249, TR).

(3) "More Options" and selecting "Music, Art & Architecture Library." Note: this retrieves new books from all three disciplines.

Research Help

Need additional help? Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Art Librarian Sara Ellis

Sara Ellis
Art Librarian
Music, Art & Architecture Library
Room 414, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
1961 East Mall, Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Email: sara.ellis@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-827-3549