Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History & Visual Art – Specialized Topics

Getting Started: Modern Art

This section provides information on resources related to Modern art of the 20th century, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources.

Get started with the Quick Links section of this guide before exploring the resources in this section.

Note: 

Print materials on art are located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Print materials on related history, aesthetics, and humanities topics can be found at the Koerner Library and/or Rare Books & Special Collections.

Databases

Start your search by looking at the Databases section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.

Then explore the topic-specific databases below.

Articles / Journals

Print & Electronic Journals @ UBC Library

To find a specific journal, search by Title here:


For a selective list of print journals related to Modern art, browse the UBC Library Catalogue with the following subject headings, while using the "Subject begins with" or "Subject contains" search options. Here are a few examples:


Select Art Publications

This is a selection of art journals in UBC Library holdings related to Modern art: 

              

  • October 

    Online coverage: 1976-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NX1 .O37 N48 (1976- ).

  • Artforum
    Online coverage: 1993-2019.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A72 (1962-1982).

  • Third Text
    Online coverage: 1997-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1.T44 T485 (1989-2007).

  • Art Journal
    Online coverage: 1960-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N81 .C6 (1960-Present).

  • Art in America
    Online coverage: 2002-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A45 (1913-Present).

  • Art in Print
    Online coverage: 2011-2019.

  • Cahiers d'art
    Online coverage: 1926-1946.

  • 391
    Online coverage: 1917-1924.

  • The Feminist Art Journal
    Online coverage: 1972-1977.

  • Kunstforum International
    Online coverage: 1973-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N6480 .K86 (1989; 2009-Present).

  • Print Quarterly
    Online coverage: 1984-Present.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NE1.P74 Q827 (1985-Present).

  • ARTnews
    Online coverage: 1923-24; 1997-2000.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A61.

  • Modernism/Modernity
    Online coverage: 1994-Present.

  • The American Art Journal
    Online coverage: 1969-2003.
    Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N6501.A44 A78 (1969-2004).

Books

Highlighted Resources

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Sourcebooks & Documents

Bibliographies

Indexes

Images

Websites