Key Architecture Resources
Listed below are a few key resources. See the Databases section of this guide for more Architecture related databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, the index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Art and Architecture Archive: Architecture & Design This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of journals, magazines and trade publications comprising key research material in the fields of architecture and design, dating from the late-19th to 21st century.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowArticles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Information on designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowFull text architectural database providing case studies and thematic articles from Birkhäuser publications (2002-2016). Includes photos and plans.
- Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowOver 3,000 architecture and building projects from the last 50 years of Detail available for pdf download.
- OnArchitecture This link opens in a new windowAn audiovisual database featuring the main trends in the field of architecture.
- Pidgeon Digital This link opens in a new windowA collection of historical and recent talks given by some of the world's most important architectural professionals.
- RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Online Catalogue This link opens in a new windowFormerly the Architectural Publications Index, the British Architectural Library is the largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture.
Library Research Help
This guide will help you find architecture related information including articles, books, standards, theses, images, videos, data and more. Need additional help? Please don't hesitate to contact me.
Paula Farrar
Architecture, Landscape & Planning Librarian
Music, Art & Architecture Library
I K Barber Learning Centre
#414 - 1961 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Email: paula.farrar@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-4474