Getting Started: Latin American Art
This section provides information on resources related to Latin American art, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources.
Get started with the Quick Links section of this guide before exploring the resources in this section.
Note:
Print materials on art are located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Print materials on related history, aesthetics, and humanities topics can be found at the Koerner Library and/or Rare Books & Special Collections.
Databases
Start your search by looking at the Databases section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.
Then explore the topic-specific databases below:
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new windowForeign and Colonial Office documents concerning Latin America.
- Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks in Spanish from renowned publishers in Spain and Latin America
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowSelective bibliography of the humanities and social sciences literature on Latin America from 1935-present.
- Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text of 35 newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
- Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowFull text of poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Articles / Journals
Print & Electronic Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific journal, search by Title here:
For a selective list of print journals related to Latin American art, browse the UBC Library Catalogue with the following subject headings, while using the "Subject begins with" or "Subject contains" search options. Here are a few examples:
Select Art Publications
This is a selection of art journals in UBC Library holdings related to Latin American Art:
- Latin American & Latinx Visual Culture
Online coverage: 2019-present
Publishes research on Latin American and Latinx visual culture, especially art and film, architecture, and performance art. -
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures
Online coverage: 1976-present
Includes scholarly essays, original poetry, fiction, theatre and art by Latinos and non-Latinos interested in Latino issues. -
Arte al Dia International
Online coverage: 2003-present
(Note: Spanish and English language)
Publishing for over forty years and specializing in promoting established Latin American artists. -
Art Nexus
Online coverage: 1997-2011
(Note: Spanish and English language)
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (1994-2021) at: N6502.5 .A78
Based in Bogotá, Colombia; covers contemporary art in Latin America. -
Third Text
Online coverage: 1997-present
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (1989-2007) at: N1.T44 T485
Focuses on the fields of art criticism, art history, and cultural studies. Often includes material about Latin America with a postcolonial lens. -
Latin American Perspectives
Online coverage: 1974-present
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (1974-1999) at: F1401 .L335
Discusses critical issues relating to capitalism, imperialism, and socialism as they affect individuals, societies, and nations. -
Confluencia (Greeley, Colorado)
Online coverage: 1985-present
(Note: Spanish and English language)
Features articles and notes encompassing Hispanic art, literature, and culture throughout Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.
Subject Headings & Keywords
Listed below is a selection of art subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Click on the links to browse books on specific subjects.
|
By general Latin American art: |
By Latin American artists:
|
|
By exhibitions and exhibition catalogues: |
By topic in visual and performing arts:
|
|
By geograpy:
|
By related subjects:
|
|
By historic period:
|
Select Books on Latin American Art
Highlighted Resources
Art Museums of Latin America: Structuring Representation by Call Number: N6502 / OnlineISBN: 9781138712591Publication Date: 2018
Dematerialization: Art and Design in Latin America by Call Number: N6502.5 .B535 2020ISBN: 9780520307063Publication Date: 2020
Hemispheric Integration: Materiality, Mobility, and the Making of Latin American Art by Call Number: N6502.5 .V55 2020ISBN: 9780520310025Publication Date: 2020
The Latin-American Collection of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) by Call Number: N6502 .N47Publication Date: 1943
Latinx Art: Artists, Markets, and Politics by Call Number: N6538.L3 D38 2020 / OnlineISBN: 1478008563Publication Date: 2020
Liquid Ecologies in Latin American and Caribbean Art by Call Number: NX650.W37 L57 2020 / OnlineISBN: 9780367199005Publication Date: 2020
Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985 by Call Number: NX180.P64 R35 2017ISBN: 9783791356808Publication Date: 2017
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art by Call Number: N6502 .E53 2000ISBN: 1884446043Publication Date: 2000
Artists from Latin American Cultures : A Biographical Dictionary by Call Number: N6502.5 .C657 2002ISBN: 0313315442Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Call Number: F1406 .E515 2000ISBN: 9780415131889Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780684312705Publication Date: 2008
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by Call Number: F1406 .C36 1992ISBN: 0521413222Publication Date: 1992
Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Latin American HistoryCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199366439Publication Date: 2014-
Sourcebooks & Documents
The Routledge Handbook to the Culture and Media of the Americas by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1138479829Publication Date: 2020
Indexes
Arte Chicano: A Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981 by Call Number: ZN6538.M4 G6 1985ISBN: 0918520096Publication Date: 1985
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexCall Number: ZF1401.H36 H48 / OnlinePublication Date: 1974-2002
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital image library for the arts and sciences with an unparalleled range of images licensed for educational use at UBC.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art. First published as the Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture.
- Museum of Anthropology (MOA) Collection: Central and South AmericaSelect "Central and South America" to browse the MOA's online collection.
- Google Arts & Culture: Latino Cultures in the USExplore the powerful voices, resilient communities, and deep historical roots of Latino culture through four different topics: Icons and Heroes ; Art and Entertainment ; History and Traditions ; and Latino Communities Today.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA): Introduction to the Latin American Art CollectionIn the last decade LACMA has assembled one of the most extensive holdings of Latin American art in the United States, unique in its range from ancient, Spanish colonial, modern and contemporary art.
Websites
- Vancouver Latin American Cultural Centre (VLACC)A non-profit organization whose mission is to contribute to the education and cultural legacy of all Canadians by exploring and sharing a deeper understanding of Latin American arts and cultures.
- The Museum of Anthropology (MOA): Arts of Resistance - Politics and the Past in Latin America (exhibition)Arts of Resistance: Politics and the Past in Latin America illustrates how communities in Latin America use traditional or historical art forms to express contemporary political realities. The exhibition was on display at the Museum of Anthropology from May 17, 2018 – September 30, 2018.
- Latin American-Canadian Art Projects (LACAP)A Toronto-based, not-for-profit arts organization dedicated to the implementation of art projects, which promote Latin American art in Canada with an emphasis on artistic excellence, critically engaged artistic practices, and hemispheric networks of exchange.
- International Center for the Arts of the Americas (ICAA): Documents of Latin American and Latino ArtAn online project and digital archive at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. Explore over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st-century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities.
- The Hemispheric InstituteThe Hemispheric Institute gathers artists, scholars, writers, learners, and activists from across the Americas. They focus on social justice and research politically engaged culture and performance, and share this work in digital archives and amplify it through dialogues and public scholarship, residencies, publications, and gatherings.
- El Museo del BarrioSituated in the El Barrio neighbourhood of New York City, El Museo’ features a permanent collection of over 8,000 objects, that spans more than 800 years of Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino art, includes pre-Columbian Taíno artifacts, traditional arts, twentieth-century drawings, paintings, sculptures and installations, as well as prints, photography, documentary films, and video. The mission of El Museo del Barrio is to present and preserve the art and culture of Puerto Ricans and all Latin Americans in the US.
- The Mexican MuseumLocated in San Francisco, CA this museum houses nearly 16,000 art objects in its permanent collections from before the colonial period to contemporary times. Currently undergoing renovations.
- Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA)The Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA) is the only museum in the US fully dedicated to celebrating Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latino Art through its collection, exhibitions, educational programs, and cultural events.
- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA): Survey of Survey of Archives of Latino and Latin American ArtThis survey features research and archival resources on Latin American art collections from around New York City.