Getting Started: Greek and Roman Art
This section provides information on resources for Greek and Roman art, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources.
Get started with the Quick Links section of this guide before exploring the topic-specific resources in this section.
Note:
English language print materials on Japanese art are located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Print materials on related history, aesthetics, and humanities topics can be found at the Koerner Library and/or Rare Books & Special Collections.
Databases
Start your search by looking at the Databases section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.
Then explore the topic-specific databases below.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowDYABOLA provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae : TLL This link opens in a new windowThe Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae : TLG This link opens in a new windowThe Thesaurus Linguae Graecae has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 145
Articles / Journals
Print & Electronic Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific journal, search by Title here:
For a selective list of print journals related to Greek and Roman art, browse the UBC Library Catalogue with the following subject headings, while using the "Subject begins with" or "Subject contains" search options. Here are a few examples:
Select Art Publications
This is a selection of art journals in UBC Library holdings related to Greek and Roman art:
- American Journal of Archaeology
Online coverage: 1897-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (ASRS) at: CC1 .A6 (1885-2007). - Antike Kunst
Online coverage: 1958-2018.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N5320 .A55 (1958-Present). - Antike Welt
Online coverage: 1970-2016
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: CC1 .A69 W44 (1970-Present). - L'Antiquité Classique
Online coverage: 1932-2014.
Also available in print at PARC (1934-2008) and Koerner Library (2015-2017; 2018-2019) at: DE1 .A63. - Antiquity
Online coverage: 1995-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: CC1 .A7 (1927-2008). - Hesperia
Online coverage: 1932-Present. - Journal of Roman archaeology
Online coverage: 2013-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: DG11 .J687 (1988-2015). - Nestor
Online coverage: 2009-Present.
Also available in print at PARC: DF10 .N47 (1957-1984). - Journal of Roman Studies
Online coverage: 1911-Present.
Also available in print at PARC: DG11 .J7 (1911-2005). - Journal of Hellenic studies
Online coverage: 1880-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (ASRS) at: DF10 .J8 (1880-1921; 1923-2006). - Gnomon
Online coverage: 1925-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: PA3 .G6 (Backfiles). - Anzeiger für die Altertumswissenschaft
Online coverage: 2018-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: CC1 .A7305 (1948-59; 1961-63; 1965-2013; 2015-17). - Pronesis
Online coverage: 1955-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (ASRS) at: B1 .P59 (1955-2008). - Archäologischer Anzeiger
Online coverage: 1848-1900; 2008-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: DE1 .A68 (1911-13;1917;1928-29;1931,1939,1943; 1962-2013). - Hermes
Online coverage: 1866-Present.
Also available in print at Koerner Library at: PA3 .H5 (Latest issues). - Historia: Zeitschrift für alte Geschichte
Online coverage: 1950-Present. - Revue Archéologique
Online coverage: 1844-Present.
Also available in print at PARC: CC1 .R4 (1925-35; 1937-41; 1946; 1948-2014).
Subject Headings & Keywords
Listed below is a selection of art subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Click on the links to browse books on specific subjects.
|
By general topic in Greek and Roman art:
|
By material, format, or type: |
|
By site or place name: |
By name of artist, writer, or subject: |
Select Books on Greek & Roman Art
Highlighted Resources
The Oxford handbook of Greek and Roman art and architecture by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199790524Publication Date: 2014
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Classical Mythology by Call Number: BL715 .M38 2014ISBN: 9781782976356Publication Date: 2014
Brill's New Pauly: Antiquity / encyclopaedia of the ancient world by Call Number: Online / DE5ISBN: 9789004183308Publication Date: 2010
A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature by Call Number: N7760 .P68 1983ISBN: 068417913XPublication Date: 1983
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007ISBN: 9780195300826Publication Date: 2007
Gods and Heroes in Art by Call Number: N7760 .I4713 2002 (Reference)ISBN: 0892367024Publication Date: 2003
Sourcebooks & Documents
The Art of Rome c. 753 BC-AD 337 by Call Number: N5760 .P57 1983ISBN: 0521253675Publication Date: 1983
The Elder Pliny's chapters on the history of art by Call Number: N5610 .P6 1968Publication Date: 1968
The literature of classical art, Franciscus Junius by Call Number: N5605 .J86 1991ISBN: 0520034619Publication Date: 1991
Select passages from ancient writers illustrative of the history of Greek sculpture by Call Number: NB90 .J7 1966Publication Date: 1966
Bibliographies
Greek and Roman Art, Architecture, and Anthropology: an annotated bibliography by Call Number: ZN5610 .C694 1987ISBN: 0824087569Publication Date: 1987
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital image library for the arts and sciences with an unparalleled range of images licensed for educational use at UBC.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art. First published as the Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture.
Websites
- LIMC-icon: Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae ClassicaeFreely available online database containing iconographical documents kept both in France and elsewhere that have been catalogued and analysed by the French LIMC team. Contains data relating to ancient Greek, Roman and Etruscan documents bearing a mythological or religious representation. It is regularly updated and enhanced with new documents.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum | Corpus of Ancient VasesA series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then almost 400 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries.
- University of Oxford: Classical Art Research CentreFreely available online databases and web resources for The Classical Art Research Centre, which leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
- New York University: Ancient World Digital LibraryAn initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at NYU. AWDL identifies, collects, curates, and provides access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.
- PleiadesA community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license.
- ABZU | ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East ArchivesA guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
- Attic Inscriptions OnlineAIO is a resource structured around English translations of the inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica. Browse by source, date, location (original or present), and inscription or monument type.