Getting Started: 18th & 19th Century Art
This section provides information on resources for topics related to 18th and 19th century art, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources.
Get started with the Quick Links section of this guide before exploring the resources in this section.
Note:
Print materials on 18th and 19th century art are located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Print materials on related history, aesthetics, and humanities topics can be found at the Koerner Library and/or Rare Books & Special Collections.
Databases
Start your search by looking at the Databases section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.
Then explore the topic-specific databases below.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDelivers significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- Eighteenth Century Journals: Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815 This link opens in a new windowBritish periodicals of the eighteenth century.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable primary documents arranged in subject-specific archives. Encompasses a variety of disciplines from History to Literature to Women's studies to Science
- Nineteenth Century Index [C19] This link opens in a new windowThis database provides integrated access to the twelve most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives for 19th century studies.
- Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new windowContains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe full text of hundreds of periodical titles from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape This link opens in a new windowLiterary manuscripts,letters and other material by Wordsworth, Coleridge, de Quincey and others supplemented by selections from printed books and images of the Lake District created by Gainsborough, Turner and others.
- Grand Tour This link opens in a new windowThe Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men between c1550 and c1850: a phenomenon which influenced British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new windowA collection of primary sources, together with interpretive essays, describing popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowContains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters & other fugitive material.
- Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new windowDocuments from the Colonial Office and the Dominions Office relating to i) the status of native colonial women and ii) the debate over universal suffrage throughout the British empire.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowIncludes a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
- Defining gender This link opens in a new window110 source documents (books and periodicals) from the early modern period to the nineteenth century supported by introductory essays, biographies, and chronologies.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, supported by interpretive essays and other secondary materials, for the study of 'Empire'.
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
Articles / Journals
Print & Electronic Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific journal, search by Title here:
For a selective list of print journals related to 18th and 19th century art, browse the UBC Library Catalogue with the following subject headings, while using the "Subject begins with" or "Subject contains" search options. Here are a few examples:
Select Art Publications
This is a selection of journals in UBC Library holdings related to 18th and 19th century art:
- Nineteenth-century art worldwide
A scholarly, refereed e-journal dedicated to 19th century visual culture.
Available online. - Gazette des beaux-arts
Published in Paris; one of the oldest and most well-established art journals.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N2 .G3 (1859-2002). - Ver Sacrum
The official magazine of the Vienna Secession. Founded by Gustav Klimt and Max Kurzweil.
Online coverage: 1898-1903. - The Magazine of Art
Covers English 19th century artists; includes exhibitions and book reviews.
Available online and in print at Rare Books & Special Collections at: N1 .M22 (1878-1904). - Pan
Art noveau art and literature journal, published under the authorship of German scholar Wilhelm Bode.
Available online and in print at Rare Books & Special Collections at: N1 .P22 (1895-1900). - The Portfolio; an artistic periodical
Covers the English 19th century art world; includes news, notices and places.
Available online and in print at Rare Books & Special Collections at: N1 .P68 (1870-1893). - Petit journal pour rire; journal humoristique de la famille
French weekly satirical magazine founded by caricaturist, journalist, and publisher Charles Philipon.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library, and in the ASRS, at: AP103 .P4 (1856-1904). - Illustrated London News
Includes illustrations, advertisements and reviews.
Available online and in print in the ASRS at: AN.L6 I4 (1842-1993). - Ladies' museum
An example of women's 19th century periodicals.
Available online (1825-1826, 1829-1832) and in print in the ASRS at: AP4 .L227 (1816-1818). - Le Diable à Paris
Covers drawings and texts by French artists and authors.
Available in print at Rare Books & Special Collections at: NC1495 .D5 1868 (1868-1869). - Builder
Journal of architecture published in the UK in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Available online and in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA1 .B5 (1843-1966).
Subject Headings & Keywords
Listed below is a selection of art subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Click on the links to browse books on specific subjects.
|
By name of artist, school, or group: |
By period style:
|
|
By topic: |
By format: exhibition catalogues:
|
Expanding your search
To find more keywords / search terms, try using the following links to get more suggestions. Type a keyword into the search box and see what alternate or related terms they return to you. Then, try searching these new terms in Summon or the UBC Library Catalogue.
- Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus
- Offers structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, conservation, and bibliographic materials.
- Library of Congress Subject Headings
- Identifies controlled vocabularies -- specific words and phrases -- used to organize and locate books and articles by topic.
Select Books on 18th & 19th Century Art
Highlighted Resources
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Art by Call Number: Online / N6450ISBN: 9781118856338Publication Date: 2018
Qing Encounters: Artistic Exchanges Between China and the West by Call Number: N7429 .Q25 2015ISBN: 9781606064573Publication Date: 2015
Southeast Asia in Ruins: art and empire in the early 19th century by Call Number: N72.S6 T54 2016ISBN: 9789971698492Publication Date: 2016Women Writing Art History in the Nineteenth Century by
Call Number: Online / N7482.5ISBN: 9781139871976Publication Date: 2014
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Nineteenth-Century European Art by Call Number: N6757 .S77 1999 (Reference)ISBN: 031329898XPublication Date: 1999
19th Century Painters and Painting by Call Number: ND190 .N57 1977 (Reference)ISBN: 9780500232491Publication Date: 1977L'impressionnisme et son époque : dictionnaire international illustré by
Call Number: N6465.I4 M66Publication Date: 1978
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Call Number: N7560 .E53 1998ISBN: 1579580092Publication Date: 1998
Bibliographies
British art periodicals of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries by Call Number: ZN6761 .R62 1970APublication Date: 1970Nineteenth-Century Photography by
Call Number: ZNH72 .J64 1990 (Reference)ISBN: 0816179581Publication Date: 1990
A Bibliography of Salon Criticism in Paris from the July Monarchy to the Second Republic, 1831-1851 by Call Number: ZN5066 .M38 1991 (Reference)ISBN: 0521400910Publication Date: 1991
Victorian Art Reproductions in Modern Sources by Call Number: ZN6767.5.V52 G37 1991 (Reference)ISBN: 0824033353Publication Date: 1991
A Gallery of Her Own: an annotated bibliography of women in Victorian painting by Call Number: Z5949.G7 H37 1997 (Reference)ISBN: 0815300409Publication Date: 1997
Women Artists in Nineteenth Century France and England by Call Number: N6847 .Y4 1984ISBN: 0824059891Publication Date: 1984
Art nouveau : an annotated bibliography by Call Number: ZN6465 .A7 (Reference)ISBN: 091215859XPublication Date: 1977
Sourcebooks & Documents
Impressionism and post-impressionism, 1874-1904; sources and documents by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1966
Women Impressionists: A Sourcebook by Call Number: N6847.5.I4 C43 2000 (Reference)ISBN: 0313308489Publication Date: 2000
Realism and tradition in art, 1848-1900: sources and documents by Call Number: N6450 .N57Publication Date: 1966Neo-Impressionist Painters by
Call Number: ND547 .C54 1999 (Reference)ISBN: 0313303827Publication Date: 1999
Les archives de l'impressionnisme : lettres de Renoir, Monet, Pissarro, Sisley, et autres ; mémoires de Paul Durand-Ruel ; documents by Call Number: ND1265 .V3 1939 APublication Date: 1939
Culture and Society in Britain 1850-1890 by Call Number: HN385 .C85 1986ISBN: 0198711123Publication Date: 1986
Neoclassicism and romanticism, 1750-1850: sources and documents by Call Number: N6425.N4 E35 1970ISBN: 0136109071Publication Date: 1970
From the classicists to the impressionists: a documentary history of art and architecture in the 19th century by Call Number: N5303 .H74Publication Date: 1966
Lectures on painting, by the royal academicians. Barry, Opie, and Fuseli. by Call Number: ND1135 .W6Publication Date: 1848Six lectures by James Barry, four by John Opie, and twelve by Henry Fuseli.- Realism and tradition in art, 1848-1900; sources and documents by Call Number: N6450 .N57Publication Date: 1966
Print Indexes
Print Index: a guide to reproductions by Call Number: NE90 .P17 1983 (Reference)ISBN: 0313220638Publication Date: 1983Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals by
Call Number: Z5937 .S34 1999ISBN: 0932087566Publication Date: 1999
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital image library for the arts and sciences with an unparalleled range of images licensed for educational use at UBC.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art. First published as the Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture.
- Wellcome CollectionThousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects. Most art works and photographs were acquired between 1890 and 1936 by Sir Henry Wellcome and his agents across the globe.
- Getty Research Institute ImagesGateway to resources across the Getty's collections. Includes artists’ sketchbooks, drawings and watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia.
- Frick Digital CollectionsIncludes photoarchive images and documentation, book materials, Frick Collection images, and archival documents.
- The British Library - Flickr Commons CollectionsManaged by the British Library Digital Research Team, these collections offer access to millions of public domain images to increase access and encourage reuse of The British Library's open materials.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material CultureCollects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Includes electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
- Google Arts & CultureGoogle partners with museums and cultural heritage institutions from around the world to provide high-resolution images.
- Web Gallery of ArtSearchable database of European art and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 49,500 reproduction images with new images regularly added.
Websites
- EuropeanaMillions of items from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, and more.
- GallicaFrom the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, millions of documents including digitized historical books, journals, and images.