Getting Started: Korean Art
This section provides information on resources for topics related to Korean art, including print books and ebooks, article databases, images, streaming media, and digital resources.
Get started with the Quick Links section of this guide before exploring the resources in this section.
Note:
Print materials on Korean art are located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Print materials on related history, aesthetics, and humanities topics can be found at the Koerner Library and/or Rare Books & Special Collections.
Korean language materials can be found at UBC's Asian Library.
Databases
Start your search by looking at the Databases section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.
Then explore the topic-specific databases below.
- Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new windowReports on business, government, economic, environmental and social issues in 55 countries in the Asia-Pacific region.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 800,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new windowContains terms from Chinese, Japanese and Korean Buddhism. The dictionary is fully searchable, and the site also includes browsable indices, presentations about the dictionary, and details of contributors.
- DBpia (Korean Database) This link opens in a new windowOver 2 million full-text articles from more than 2,085 scholarly journals.
Articles / Journals
Print & Electronic Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific journal, search by Title here:
For a selective list of print journals related to Korean art, browse the UBC Library Catalogue with the following subject headings, while using the "Subject begins with" or "Subject contains" search options. Here are a few examples:
Select Art Publications
This is a selection of art journals in UBC Library holdings related to Korean art:
- The International Journal of Korean Art and Archaeology
- Online coverage: 2007-present.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N8.K6 I58 (2007-2010). - Koreana
Online coverage: 1987-Present.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NX584.6.A1 K69 (1987-Present). - The Korean Journal of Aesthetics
Online coverage: 1971-present. - Arts of Asia
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N8.A78 A85 (1971-present). - The Journal of Asian Studies
Online coverage: 1956-present.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: DS501 .F2 (1941-2009). - Journal of Korean Art and Archaeology
Online coverage: 2011-present. - The Korean Journal of Art and Media
Online coverage: 2005-present. - East Asian History
Online coverage: 1991-present.
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: DS511 .E17 (1991-2008). - Asian Arts
Online coverage: 1995-present. - Asian Art & Culture
Available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A842 A78 (1994-1996). - Bulletin of Korean Society of Basic Design & Art
Online coverage: 2000-present.
Subject Headings & Keywords
Listed below is a selection of art subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Click on the links to browse books on specific subjects.
|
By general Korean art and artists: |
By historic period:
|
|
By context or influence: |
By topic in visual and performing arts: |
|
By format: |
By media or medium: |
Select Books on Korean Art
Highlighted Resources
A Companion to Korean Art by Call Number: Online (ebook) / N7360 .C66 2020ISBN: 9781118927045Publication Date: 2020
Arts of Korea: histories, challenges, and perspectives by Call Number: N7360 .A873 2018ISBN: 9781683400004Publication Date: 2018
Treasures from Korea: arts and culture of the Joseon Dynasty, 1392-1910 by Call Number: N7363.4 .T74x 2014ISBN: 9780300204124Publication Date: 2014
Korean Art from the 19th Century to the Present by Call Number: N7360 .H67 2017ISBN: 9781780237367Publication Date: 2017
Korean Art from 1953: Collision, Innovation, Interaction by Call Number: N7365 .K67 2020ISBN: 9780714878331Publication Date: 2020
Interpreting Modernism in Korean Art by Call Number: Online (ebook)ISBN: 9780429351112Publication Date: 2021
Early Korean Art and Culture: Tomb Murals of Koguryŏ by Call Number: ND2853.7.A1 Y83 2011ISBN: 9780968107270Publication Date: 2011Traditional Performing Arts of Korea by
Call Number: PN2931 .C54 2008ISBN: 9788986090260Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture by Call Number: N7340 .C63 2011ISBN: 9781405185370Publication Date: 2011
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Korea: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary by Call Number: Online (ebook)ISBN: 9781315026718Publication Date: 2013
New Millenium Dictionary of Korean Language and Culture by Call Number: PL937.E5 N435 2003ISBN: 8995135234Publication Date: 2003
An encyclopedia of Korean Buddhism by Call Number: BQ128 .H94 2013ISBN: 9788957463666Publication Date: 2013
Sourcebooks & Documents
Korean Court Dance: As Seen in Historical Documents by Call Number: GV1747 .Y534 2010ISBN: 9788986090376Publication Date: 2010
Indexes
Images
Start your search by looking at the Images & Streaming Media section of the general Art History & Visual Art guide.
Then explore the topic-specific image resources below.
- UBC Museum of AnthropologySelect "Asia" and explore the map to browse the MOA's online collection of Korean objects.
Websites
- Centre for Korean ResearchUBC established the Centre for Korean Research in 1993 as a constituent part of the Institute of Asian Research. It was established to facilitate research on Korea through multidisciplinary approaches and now has faculty members focusing on Korean language, literature, history, political science, music, and anthropology.
- The MET: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History: KoreaThe Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history.
- Asian Art Museum of San FranciscoHome to one of the world’s finest collections of Asian art, boasting more than 18,000 artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations.
- Victoria and Albert Museum - Korea CollectionThe Victoria and Albert Museum's Korean collection spans from the fourth century to the present day, and includes ceramics, embroideries, lacquerware, inlaid metalwork, fashion, product design and digital art. This combination of historic and contemporary materials offer a comprehensive view into the rich cultural heritage and diversity of current studio practices in Korea.
- The Korean Journal of Art HistoryThe Korean Journal of Art History covers Asian as well as Korean art history from ancient to modern times. Published topics encompass various subfields of art history including paintings, sculptures, crafts, and architecture.
- Khan Academy - Asian Art, KoreaKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. About this unit: Explore the Royal Palaces of Seoul, monastic practices that keep traditional painting alive, and ancient temples.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Korean ArtThe Encyclopædia Britannica connects learners with information on subjects ranging from language and science, history and the arts, and more. Explore their Korean Art entry for an overview of Korea's vibrant artistic history.