Skip to main content

Special Collections: English Literature

English Literature at RBSC

Rare Books and Special Collections features a number of collections significant to the history, development, and art of English language and literature.

Our Collections

Related Resources

If you want to continue your research beyond our collections, the links below will help guide you in searching the UBC Catalogue and other important databases and journals.

 

Journals

English Literature Journals at UBC


Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets


Subject Headings

English Literature--18th Century

English literature--18th century--History and criticism

English poetry--18th century

English poetry--18th century--History and criticism

English literature--19th century

English literature--19th century--History and criticism

English poetry--19th century

English poetry--19th century--History and criticism

English literature--20th century

English literature--20th century--History and criticism

English poetry--20th century

English poetry--20th century--History and criticism


UBC LibGuides

Archival Material

  • This is a guide to searching for archival material in Canada and internationally, with an emphasis on British Columbia. Archival material includes primary sources (generally unpublished material ) such as manuscripts, letters, photographs and audio-visual material.

English

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning English literature and language.

Ephemera

  • The term "ephemera" refers to documents such as broadsides, leaflets, pamphlets and posters which are intended for use for a short period of time. This guide will help you search for these types of documents in UBC Collections.

History

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning history. 

Related UBC Sites

Department of English

English Literature Research Collection

  • This collection, held in the University Archives, was created by David Macaree, a lecturer and professor in the English Department at UBC. He conducted extensive research in the area of 18th century English literature. The collection includes transcribed typed copies of the complete works of David Crawford (ca.1700); a copy of an article written by Macaree about Crawford (1961); and photocopies of early political pamphlets by Daniel Defoe (ca. 1700-1714).