The collection includes material written by and about English and Anglo-Irish poets and essayists of the Romantic, Victorian and Edwardian periods (nineteenth and early twentieth centuries). More than 450 authors of these periods are represented in more than 13,000 volumes.
The collection includes nearly all of the editions of Burns' works, as well as critical and biographical materials, Scottish song books, works by other Scottish writers, and works about the favourite "haunts" of Burns. Also included are Donaldson's correspondence and papers.
The Collection includes over 350 dictionaries and encyclopedias. "There are to be seen in this collection many of the bands in the historical spectrum of the English dictionary" -- spanning from the Classical period to the present day.
The collection comprises over 100 items and includes first editions of important nineteenth century fiction, and multi-volume editions of works by Walter Scott, Charles Dickens, W.M. Thackeray, Charlotte Brontë, Anthony Trollope, Benjamin Disraeli, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charles Kingsley, George Eliot, and George Meredith.
Donated in 2008, this collection includes many early or first printings of classic texts (Montaigne’s Essayes, 1632; Sidney’s Arcadia, 1655; Milton’s Paradise Lost, 1719), as well as uncommon lesser works and more popular works (Dickens, Trollope, Tennyson, etc.).
This collection consists of the diaries (1855-1913), manuscripts, financial records, and correspondence of William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919). Also included are the manuscripts, correspondence, and financial records of Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1842-1882), Christina Georgina Rossetti (1853-1894), Ford Madox Brown (1852-1993), Gabriele Rossetti, other members of the Rossetti family, and other Pre-Raphaelites, such as Robert Browning.
The collection of the published work of the American poet Louis Zukofsky (1904-1978). Half the books and pamphlets are signed and/or inscribed by Zukofsky. There are also anthologies and periodical issues containing his work; four translations; four critical works; manuscripts; ephemera; and a photograph.