Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: English Literature

About This Collection

Thomas J. Wise portaitThe Thomas J. Wise Collection, donated by Arthur Stockett in 1976, consists mainly of monographs, either by or about Thomas J. Wise, or relating to forgeries and piracies of literary material. Thomas J. Wise was a famous bibliographer, collector, and forger in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The collection includes books edited by and bibliographies compiled by Thomas J. Wise, various books by and about Wise, manuscripts and correspondence.

 

Archival Material

Colocating This Collection

Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.

 

Indexes, Catalogues, and Bibliographies in Print

University of British Columbia. Thomas J. Wise Collection in the University of British Columbia Libraries' Special Collections Division. Vancouver: The Division, 1976.


UBC Catalogue

Thomas J. Wise Collection: Works indexed in this collection


Related Material

ENGL 419 Wiki

This page details the history of a facsimile of a forged copy of Elizabeth Barrett Browning Sonnets held in this collection, and details the creation of the forgery and the discovery of Thomas J. Wise's forgeries.