About This Collection
The Angeli-Dennis papers came to the University through two separate acquisitions from the former home of Helen Rossetti Angeli at Woodstock, England. Dr. William E. Fredeman acquired the papers on behalf of the University. The first acquisition in 1966 consisted primarily of papers of William Michael Rossetti. The second acquisition in 1972 resulted in further Rossetti family papers from Imogene Dennis, Helen Rossetti Angeli's daughter.
This collection consists of the diaries (1855-1913), manuscripts, financial records, and correspondence of William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919). It also includes the manuscripts, correspondence, and financial records of Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1842-1882), Christina Georgina Rossetti (1853-1894), Ford Madox Brown (1852-1993), Gabriele Rossetti, other members of the Rossetti family, and other Pre-Raphaelites, such as Robert Browning.
Archival Materials
- Angeli-Dennis CollectionThis collection consists of the diaries, manuscripts, financial records, and correspondence of members of the Rossetti family and other Pre-Raphaelites, such as Robert Browning.
- William E. Fredeman fonds [PDF][485 KB]Fredeman joined UBC's Department of English in 1956. Although he was enormously interested in and published widely about the Victorian era, Fredeman focused on the Pre-Raphaelite poets and painters throughout his life. He wrote more than fifty articles and reviews on Rossetti and the Pre-Raphaelites, Tennyson, and bibliography, as well as the introductions to A Bookman's Catalogue: The Norman Colbeck Collection of nineteenth century and Edwardian poetry and belles lettres in the Special Collections of the University of British Columbia, and Thomas Bird Mosher Pirate Prince of Publishers. This fonds is held in the UBC Archives.
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Subject Headings
Pre-Raphaelitism--Great Britain
Rossetti, Dante Gabriel, 1828-1882
Rossetti, Dante Gabriel, 1828-1882--Criticism and interpretation
Rossetti, Christina Georgina, 1830-1894
Rossetti, Christina Georgina, 1830-1894--Criticism and interpretation
Related Works
Pre-Raphaelites by Call Number: N6767.5.P7 B37 2012ISBN: 9780300194449Publication Date: 2013Led by Dante Gabriel Rossetti, William Holman Hunt, and John Everett Millais, the Pre-Raphaelites' unflinchingly radical style, inspired by the purity of early Renaissance painting, defied convention, provoked critics, and entranced audiences. Many of their most famous paintings are featured, including Millais's Ophelia and Ford Madox Brown's The Last of England. This book also includes sculpture, photography, and the applied arts, the last of which shows the important role the Brotherhood played in the early development of the Arts and Crafts movement and the socialist ideas of the poet, designer, and theorist William Morris.
Ford Madox Brown by Call Number: N6797.B759 A4 2008ISBN: 9781904832560Publication Date: 2008Ford Madox Brown: The Unofficial Pre-Raphaelite - the third in a series of publications on Birmingham's unique collection of 19th-century drawings - reassesses the work of this important artist, and reveals his achievements. Older than his contemporaries Holman Hunt, Millais, and pupil Rossetti, and never officially a member of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, Ford Madox Brown was nonetheless a central figure within this major art movement.
The British Pre-Raphaelite Illustrators by Call Number: NC978 .S855 2005ISBN: 1584561602Publication Date: 2005The British Pre-Raphaelite Illustrators is the most comprehensive study of Pre-Raphaelite graphics yet published, embellished with more than 525 illustrations. In this revised and expanded edition (of the book originally published as The Pre-Raphaelite Illustrators), 75 of the images are newly reproduced, and all of the illustrations have been rescanned and enlarged for improved detail. There are authoritative biographical essays on forty artists, whose Pre-Raphaelite engravings are critically discussed.
Dante Gabriel Rossetti : painter and poet by Call Number: ND497.R8 M37 1999ISBN: 0297817035Publication Date: 1999
Reading Dante Gabriel Rossetti by Call Number: Available online through UBC Library ; patrons will need a CWL to access this resourceISBN: 9781472446688Publication Date: 2015A revolutionary figure throughout his career, Dante Gabriel Rossetti's work provides a distinctly revolutionary lens through which the Victorian period can be viewed. Suggesting that Rossetti's work should be approached through his poetry, Brian Donnelly argues that it is both inscribed by and inscribes the development of verbal as well as visual culture in the Victorian era.
Related Library Research Guides
- Norman Colbeck Collection
This collection features works by the Rossettis.