About This Collection
The collection comprises over 100 items and includes first editions of important nineteenth century fiction and multi-volume editions of works by Walter Scott, Charles Dickens, W.M. Thackeray, Charlotte Brontë, Anthony Trollope, Benjamin Disraeli, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charles Kingsley, George Eliot, and George Meredith.
Featured Materials
- [Catalogue] / [Ian Hodgkins & Co., Ltd.] byCall Number: Z2011 .I26Publication Date: 1974-Title supplied by cataloguer.
Dealer's catalogue with prices included.
Some issues have distinctive titles.
Latest issue consulted: No. 60 (Winter, 1991/2) - Daniel Deronda byCall Number: PR4658 .A1 1876aPublication Date: 18768 volume rebinding of first issue, eight parts.
- Can you forgive her? / with illustrations ; in two volumes. byCall Number: PR5684 .C2 1864ISBN: Can you forgive her? / with illustrations ; in two volumes.Publication Date: 1864-1865Plates by Phiz and a Miss Taylor. Originally appeared in 20 monthly parts, Jan. 1864-Aug. 1865. cf. Michael Sadleir. Trollope: a bibliography.
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
UBC Catalogue
Herbert J. Rosengarten Collection: Locate all the items indexed under this collection name
Searching within the collection:
- Go to Advanced Catalogue Search
- Enter "Herbert J. Rosengarten collection" in the first Search Field and select "Title" from the "All Fields" drop down menu
- Enter the name of an author (e.g., Dickens, Bronte, Eliot, etc.) in the next Search Field and select "Author Name" from the "All Fields" drop down menu
- Select "Rare Books and Special Collections" in the "Location" drop down menu
- Click Search!