Special Collections: English Literature
About This Collection
The collection includes books by and about Joseph Thomas Sheridan Le Fanu, a noted Irish author, including a number of first editions of his novels and stories. In addition there is correspondence from Le Fanu and from his son, and a manuscript biography, notes, transcripts and working papers by Roy Stokes.
Featured Materials
J. Sheridan le Fanu by Call Number: Z8492.7 C73 1995ISBN: 0313285152Publication Date: 1995-01-30This book is not officially part of the Le Fanu Collection at RBSC but provides valuable context for research.
Known primarily for his ghost stories and mysteries, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu was one of the most popular writers of the Victorian era. Many of his works were published anonymously, and he either owned or had an interest in four Irish newspapers, which served as an outlet for other anonymous pieces by him. This bibliography provides as comprehensive a record as possible of Le Fanu's works. It also includes a bibliography of books, articles, and dissertations about him.- Catalogue of modern first editions, presentation copies, autograph letters and literary manuscripts. byCall Number: Spam25495Publication Date: 1968
- A catalogue of books relating to Ireland / Hodges, Figgis & Co. ; with illustrations. byCall Number: Z2031 .H63 1953Publication Date: 1953
- Memoir of the Le Fanu family byCall Number: CS439 .L417 1924Publication Date: 1924"One hundred and fifty copies only of this Memoir have been printed..."
"List of works by members of the Le Fanu family": p.76-80.
The portraits are reproductions from original paintings by Emery Walker.
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
UBC Catalogue
Le Fanu Collection: Works that are indexed under this collection name
Author Search
Le Fanu, Joseph Sheridan: Works indexed under the author's name
Subject Headings
Le Fanu, Joseph Sheridan 1814-1873
Le Fanu, Joseph Sheridan, 1814-1873--Criticism and interpretation