Art Specific Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes Art, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Urban Planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowProvides high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications - many of which are peer-reviewed - and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial arts.
- Artists of the World This link opens in a new windowArtists of the World contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than 1.2 million artists and entries on groups of visual artists from all over the world and from all eras. Entries with detailed articles are supplemented by lists of works, literature, sources, and exhibitions.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowProvides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowCovers western art from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to 2007. Coverage of contemporary art includes critical and theoretical publications.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowArticles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Information on designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA Online) This link opens in a new windowCovers restoration and preservation of artworks, material culture and archaeology
- Getty Research PortalThrough this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
- Getty Vocabularies (Thesaurus)Structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, conservation, and bibliographic materials.
Explore the databases: Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA), and Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN).
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of history, excluding that of Canada and the US, from the late fifteenth-century on.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline access to a comprehensive selection of important journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Canadian Databases
For art-specific and multidisciplinary databases with a Canadian context, see the Databases section of the Canadian Art guide.
A few examples are provided below.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowOffers full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- British Columbia Newspaper Index This link opens in a new windowSelective index of The Province, Vancouver Sun, and Times-Colonist; 1991-2007.
- British Columbia Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowArticles selectively indexed from major British Columbia magazines.
Need Help?
For more help finding articles:
- Look at the Articles / Journals section of this research guide
- Look at the UBC Library Finding Journal Articles guide
- Visit the Music, Art & Architecture Library's Information Desk
- Contact the Art & Visual Literacy Librarian.