Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian Canadian History and Archives

About These Collections

The fonds and collections included here contain the records of Korean Canadians.

Archival Collections

The Korean Canadian Heritage Archive (KCHA) was a collaborative project begun in 2009 by the University of Toronto’s Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library and the University of British Columbia’s Asian Library that aimed to preserve the history of the Korean Canadian community's activities as well as its literary and artistic works. The primary goal of the project was to physically collocate materials into one location, make the physical items accessible to the public, and digitize the materials in order to create a nation-wide online searchable database of materials relating to Korean Canadian culture and history. The secondary goals were to develop and strengthen the relationship among Korean communities in different regions and generations and to provide a wealth of information about the Korean Canadian community.

RBSC's holdings of the Korean Canadian Heritage Archive consist of UBC's General Collection, which was one of the two sub-collections of UBC's portion of the KCHA. The creators of this collection divided the collection into nine series based on the physical formats of the materials. The series are as follows: Ephemera, Books, Grey Literature, Multimedia, Correspondence, Manuscripts, Newspaper Clippings, Serials, and Personal Documents.