Other examples
Please consult the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association for additional examples not listed on this page.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Encyclopedia article
"When a stable or archived version of the work is cited ..., a retrieval date is not needed" (APA, 2020, p. 324).
EXAMPLE - Individual author(s), with DOI
Eberhardt, E., & Afshin, A. (2018). Hydraulic fracturing. In P. Bobrowsky & B. Marker (Eds.), Encyclopedia of engineering geology (pp. 1-6). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-12127-7_159-1
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Eberhardt & Afshin, 2018)
Narrative in-text citation: Eberhardt and Afshin (2018)
(APA, 2020, p. 328)
Wikipedia article
The URL in your citation must point readers to the version of the Wikipedia article that you consulted. To find the link to the appropriate archived version of the article, go to the article and select "View History."
EXAMPLE
2019–20 Coronavirus outbreak. (2020, February 20). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=2019_E2_80_9320_coronavirus_outbreak&oldid=941821286
Parenthetical in-text citation: ("2019-20 Coronavirus outbreak," 2020)
Narrative in-text citation: "2019-20 Coronavirus outbreak" (2020)
(APA, 2020, p. 329)
Dictionary or thesaurus
EXAMPLE - Entire print dictionary with author
Colman, A. W. (2015). A dictionary of psychology. Oxford University Press.
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Colman, 2015)
Narrative in-text citation: Colman (2015)
(APA, 2020, p. 324)
EXAMPLE - Dictionary online entry that is routinely updated
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.) Library. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved April 16, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/library
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.)
Narrative in-text citation: Merriam-Webster (n.d.)
(APA, 2020, p. 328)
Diagnostic manuals
"When the author and publisher are the same, omit the publisher from the source" (APA, 2020, p. 324).
You may see examples where authors include the title of the diagnostic manual and its corresponding edition number, but this is not required. For further examples of how to cite using the title and edition number in-text, consult the APA's Publication Manual (2020, p. 324).
EXAMPLE
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596
Parenthetical in-text citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative in-text citation: American Psychiatric Association (2013)
(APA, 2020, p. 324; APA, n.d., https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/diagnostic-manual-references)