Other examples
Please consult the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association for additional examples not listed on this page, including:
- Translated journal articles
- Republished works
- Advanced online publications
- Specific database examples
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Quick tips
"Capitalize the title of a periodical using the title case (see Section 6.17), italicize it, and place a comma (not italicized) after it (APA, 2020, p. 294)."
Include a DOI if provided. If a DOI is not available, include a permanent URL if provided. If the article was retrieved from a commonly accessible database, do not include the URL (APA, 2020, p. 317).
"Links should be live if the work is to be published or read online (APA, 2020, p. 299)." This includes DOI's and URL's.
Journal article with a DOI (1-2 authors)
List all authors in reference list and in-text citations.
EXAMPLE
Janmaat, J., & Rahimova, N. (2018). Managing drought risk in the Okanagan: A roll for dry-year option contracts? Canadian Public Policy, 44(2), 112-125. https://doi.org/10.3138/cpp.2017-003
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Janmaat & Rahimova, 2018)
Narrative in-text citation: Janmaat and Rahimova (2018)
(APA, 2020, p. 317)
Journal article with a DOI (3-20 authors)
List all authors in the reference list and only first author in the in-text citations.
EXAMPLE
Mei, Y., Yu, K., Lo, J. C. Y., Takeuchi, L. E., Hadjesfandiari, N., Yazdani-Ahmadabadi, H., Brooks, D. E., Lange, D., & Kizhakkedathu, J. N. (2018). Polymer-nanoparticle interaction as a design principle in the development of a durable ultrathin universal binary antibiofilm coating with long-term activity. ACS Nano, 12(12), 11881-11891. https://doi.org/10.1021/acsnano.8b05512
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Mei et al., 2018)
Narrative in-text citation: Mei et al. (2018)
(APA, 2020, p. 317)
Journal article with a DOI (21+ authors)
List first 19 authors followed by an ellipsis and final author in reference list, and only first author in the in-text citations.
EXAMPLE
Oen, K., Guzman, J., Dufault, B., Tucker, L. B., Shiff, N. J., Watanabe Duffy, K., Lee, J. J. Y., Feldman, B. M., Berard, R. A., Dancey, P., Huber, A. M., Scuccimarri, R., Cabral, D. A., Morishita, K. A., Ramsey, S. E., Rosenberg, A. M., Boire, G., Benseler, S. M., Lang, B., ... Duffy, C. M. (2018). Health-related quality of life in an inception cohort of children with juvenile idopathic arthritis: A longitudinal analysis. Arthritis Care & Research, 70(1), 134-144. https://doi.org/10.1002/acr.23236
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Oen et al., 2018)
Narrative in-text citation: Oen et al. (2018)
(APA, 2020, p. 317)
Journal article with no DOI and retrieved from a common research database
Omit the hyperlink for articles with no DOI or permanent URL, and are retrieved from a common research database.
EXAMPLE
Neumann, K. L.(2019). Narrating a story of a community with Google Tour Creator. Voices from the Middle, 27(2), 15-24.
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Neumann, 2019)
Narrative in-text citation: Neumann (2019)
(APA, 2020, p. 317)
Journal article with an article number
EXAMPLE
Pither, J., Botta, A., Malty, C., & Ghosh, S. (2017). Analysis using national databases reveals a positive association between dietary polyunsaturated fatty acids with TV watching and diabetes in European females. PLoS ONE, 12(3), Article e0173084. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0173084
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Pither et al., 2017)
Narrative in-text citation: Pither et al. (2017)
Note: Where there are no page numbers and you are directly quoting the text, you will need to follow APA guidelines to provide a way for readers to find the passage you are quoting, for example by using a section heading or paragraph number. Do not use PDF pagination for in-text citations or in the references list.
(APA, 2020, p. 318)
Magazine article
EXAMPLE
Trilling, L. (1949, June 11). Orwell on the future. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1949/06/18/orwell-on-the-future
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Trilling, 1949)
Narrative in-text citation: Trilling (1949)
(APA, 2020, p. 320)
Newspaper article (with print edition)
The following example is only for newspaper that also have print versions of the content. For articles posted to news websites that only publish content online, please see the Webpages & News Sites tab of this guide.
EXAMPLE
Bains, C. (2019, June 13). Study shows low levels of THC in marijuana don't increase car crashes. The Globe and Mail. https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/article-study-shows-low-levels-of-thc-in-marijuana-dont-increase-car-crashes/
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Bains, 2019)
Narrative in-text citation: Bains (2019)
(APA, 2020, p. 320)
Editorial (in journal)
Use the same citation format as the item in which the editorial was published (i.e. use a journal article style if the editorial was published in a journal).
EXAMPLE
Saewyc, E. (2017). A global perspective on gender roles and identity [Editorial]. Journal of Adolescent Health Care, 4(Suppl. 4), S1-S2. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jadohealth.2017.07.010
Parenthetical in-text citation: (Saewyc, 2017)
Narrative in-text citation: Saewyc (2017)
(APA, 2020, pp. 320-321)