"Our mission is to improve the quality of life of the next 3 billion people that will move into cities in the next 40 years, by providing inspiration, knowledge and tools to the architects who will have the challenge to design for them." In addition to daily posts, includes overviews (information, photos, drawings, plans) of hundreds of projects as well as highlighting their 100 top projects. You can also search by Vancouver or Canada.
"The goal of Architecture Lab is to make architecture more connected, and bring together architects/designers from around the world searching for the latest architectural news: projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others."
The largest online-database covering international architects and buildings from past to present. It includes images, histories, bibliographies, and more. Searchable by keyword and browsable by subject divisions. Tip: separate search terms with semicolons.
A digital humanities project housed in the Department of Architecture at MIT with the ambition to address the needs of educators in diverse disciplinary contexts by providing practical lecture materials for teaching global architectural history at the survey and introductory level.
Created by the Pevsner Architectural Guides, LAB is an introduction to architecture with pages on building types, architectural styles and traditions and building materials and methods of construction.
Contains biographies of over 2,200 architects who lived and worked in Canada as well as those architects who resided in the United States, Britain and elsewhere, and for whom it is now possible to link their names with buildings constructed in Canada.
A periodical for architects and professionals in related fields. The Industry Links section lists architectural sites, associations, schools, historical and environmental sites, journals, and more. UBC Library subscribes to both the print and electronic versions.
Established in 1974 as a joint venture between the Library and the Faculty of Environmental Design, the Archives collects the works of twentieth century Canadian architects and consist of drawings, project files, correspondence, slides, photographs, aperture cards, oral history tapes and transcripts, and architectural models.
Founded in Montreal in 1979 by Phyllis Lambert the CCA Holds one of the world’s foremost international research collections of publications, conceptual studies, drawings, plans, models, prints, photographs, related artefacts and ephemera, archives and oral histories of individual architects. To search the collection visit: http://www.cca.qc.ca/en/search
Based in the Department of Art History at Concordia University in Montreal, CWAHI is a collaborative endeavour that fosters and circulates scholarly research into women’s contributions to the cultural and material history of Canada. Women architects born before 1965 are included.
An open-content collaborative effort to accurately document development and real-estate activity. The resources have been dedicated to buildings 5 storeys or over in height within the Greater Toronto Area but are slowly branching out (also include Vancouver & Calgary).
Vancouver Heritage Foundation is a registered charity supporting the conservation of heritage buildings and structures in recognition of their contribution to the city’s economy, sustainability and culture. The website includes a Discover Vancouver's Heritage section with a number of online tools including a guide to Vancouver House Styles.
"Aims to inspire design practitioners and bring together in dialogue anyone interested in exploring how children's cultures, capacities and imagination may have an impact upon the design profession, design process and ultimately the built environment."
A collection of historic images (c. 1100 - c. 1450) that represents the medieval monuments and cities of the Kingdom of Sicily collected from museums, libraries, archives and publications. Supported by Duke University and Hertziana Library.
SNCC focuses on culturally and environmentally sustainable development with American Indian, First Nations, and Indigenous communities. Through planning, architectural design, technical assistance and research, our services help tribal communities gain self-sufficiency, improve their impacts on the natural world, and develop healthy, green, culturally-appropriate communities.
UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. Consult the World Heritage List for specific sites.