Find Architecture Books
Search Summon and the Library Catalogue to find ebooks and print books. Core architecture books are classed in NA and are located on Level 4 of the Music, Art & Architecture Library.
Keywords & Subject Headings
Listed below is a selection of architecture subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue. Click on the links to browse books on specific subjects.
Subject headings can be further broken down by time period/style, place, building type, architect etc.. as shown below.
By time period or style:
|
By building type:
|
Material on architectural history includes publications on national and area history, historic preservation, cities and towns, topographical guides and the history of building technologies. Here are some sample subject headings:
- Architecture--Conservation and restoration
- Architecture--Early works to 1800
- Architecture--History
- Historic buildings
- Historic preservation
- Historic sites
Expanding your Search
To find more keywords/subjects try searching the Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus.
Handbooks & Manuals
Manual of Section
"It has been a while since I devoured a book on architecture with as much pleasure. I love a good section and I love this book."--Aaron Betsky, Architect Magazine Award-winning architects Paul Lewis, Marc Tsurumaki, and David J. Lewis's essential guide to section. Section, along with plan and elevation, is one of the most important representational techniques of architectural design. Manual of Section is the first book to provide a framework to describe and evaluate this fundamental design process in architecture. Divided into seven categories of section based on extensive archival research: * Range is from simple one-story buildings to complex structures * Features stacked forms, fantastical shapes, internal holes, inclines, sheared planes, nested forms, or combinations of each * Includes sixty-three intricately detailed cross-section perspective drawings of many of the most significant structures in international architecture from the last one hundred years "A must-read for all designers associated with the built environment and should surely be on the library shelves of every architecture, urban design and interior design school...the intricate drawings provided by LTL are sure to inspire all those who have the privilege of cracking the spine of this amazing reference." --Spacing In addition to the incredible cross-section drawings, the book includes smart and accessible essays on the history and uses of section. Manual of Section has become a top architecture book for architecture students and professional architects.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
The Professional Practice of Architectural Working DrawingsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Architectural Drawing: a visual compendium of types and methodsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
Thinking Design Blueprint for an Architecture of TypologyCall Number: NA2750 .L4313 2021 (MAA reference)Publication Date: 2022
Precedents in Architecture: analytic diagrams, formative ideas, and partisCall Number: NA2750 .C55 2012 (MAA reference)Publication Date: 2012
Architectural Detailing: Function, Constructability, AestheticsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Evidence Based Design: A Process for Research and WritingCall Number: NA2570 .K67 2012 (MAA stacks)Publication Date: 2011
Canadian Handbook of Practice for ArchitectsCall Number: NA1996 .R652 2009 (MAA reference & stacks)Publication Date: 2009
Architecture Student's Handbook of Professional PracticeCall Number: NA1996 .A726 2009 (MAA reference)Publication Date: 2008
Integrating Building Performance with Design: an architecture student's guidebookCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017- Wood design manual: the complete reference for wood design in CanadaCall Number: TA666 .W653 2010 (Woodward Library)Publication Date: 2010
LEED Practices, Certification, and Accreditation HandbookCall Number: TH880 .K84 2010 (MAA reference)Publication Date: 2010
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art. First published as the Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture.
- Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada (1800-1950)Contains biographies of over 2,200 architects who lived and worked in Canada as well as those architects who resided in the United States, Britain and elsewhere, and for whom it is now possible to link their names with buildings constructed in Canada.
Encyclopaedia of Architectural TermsCall Number: NA31 .C87 1993 (IKB reference)Publication Date: 1993
Illustrated Dictionary of ArchitectureCall Number: NA31 .B83 2012 (IKB Reference)Publication Date: 2012
A Visual Dictionary of ArchitectureCall Number: NA31 .C44 2012 (IKB reference)Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the WorldCall Number: NA208 .E53 1997 (IKB reference)Publication Date: 1997
Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the WorldCall Number: NA208 .V45 2007 (IKB reference)Publication Date: 2008
Decoding Theoryspeak: an illustrated guide to architectural theoryCall Number: NA2500 .O78 2010 (IKB reference)Publication Date: 2010
Bibliographies for Historical Research
Architecture Sourcebook: a guide to resources on the practice of architectureCall Number: NA2750 .A73 1997 (reference)Publication Date: 1997
Avery's Choice: five centuries of great architectural books : one hundred years of an architectural library, 1890-1990Call Number: Z5941 .A94 1997 (Storage reference)Publication Date: 1997Architecture: a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks
Call Number: NA2520 .E38 1984 (reference)Publication Date: 1984- Built Environment: a subject index 1800-1960Call Number: TA170 .R877 1989 (reference)Publication Date: 1990
British Architectural Books and Writers, 1556-1785
Call Number: NA965 .H37 1990 (reference)Publication Date: 1990Early Printed Books 1478-1840: a catalogue of the British Architectural Library Early Imprints Collection
Call Number: NA2515 .B74 (reference)Publication Date: 1993Fowler architectural collection of the Johns Hopkins University
Call Number: Z5945 .J6 (reference)Publication Date: 1961
- Building Technology Heritage Library (BTHL)"primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides."
Books from Other Libraries
If UBC Library doesn't have the book you need, try ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
Visiting another university library? Reciprocal Borrowing agreements may allow you to sign out books at that library.
These databases will expand your search beyond UBC Library:
- Outlook Online This link opens in a new windowCatalogue of the holdings of British Columbia's public, college, and institute libraries.
