Key Resources
Listed below are a few key databases. For many more urban design related databases see the Databases section of this guide.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, the index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Art and Architecture Archive: Architecture & Design This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of journals, magazines and trade publications comprising key research material in the fields of architecture and design, dating from the late-19th to 21st century.
- Geobase This link opens in a new windowResearch literature with abstracts on human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies.
- North American City Reports This link opens in a new windowOver five million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
Access is provided through Policy Commons. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowPAIS is an index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- ULI Case Studies This link opens in a new windowShowcases innovative approaches and best practices in real estate and urban development. Includes photos, site plans, floor plans, project data, a report on the development process and more.
Library Research Help
This guide will help you find urban design related information including articles, books, standards, theses, images, videos, data and more. Need additional help? Please don't hesitate to contact me.
Paula Farrar
Architecture, Landscape & Planning Librarian
Music, Art & Architecture Library
I K Barber Learning Centre
#414 - 1961 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Email: paula.farrar@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-4474