Find Articles
To find a specific journal article, search for the article title or the journal title in UBC Library's Summon database.
To find journal articles on a topic, begin by searching the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Expand your search with other resources listed on the Databases page.
Find Architecture Journals
AASL Core List of Periodicals
The Association of Architecture School Librarians (AASL) maintains a list of core architecture journals.
Print Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific print journal, search the UBC Library's Print & Electronic Journals database and/or the UBC Library Catalogue.
Recent issues of journals are located in the Current Journals section (level 3) of the Music, Art and Architecture Library. Older issues are located in the open stacks or ASRS storage.
For a selective list of print journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by the subject heading Architecture - Periodicals.
e-Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific ejournal, search UBC Library's Print and Electronic Journals database.
For a selective list of electronic architecture journals @ UBC, browse the online subject listing for: Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Architecture.
Open Access Ejournals
In addition to the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) the USModernist library is the largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines.
Canadian Publications
Journals
- Architecture BCAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA1 A423 N482
- AzureFull issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NK1160 .A98
- BC Historical NewspapersThe BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Miner, date from 1865 to 1994.
- Canadian ArchitectAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA1 .C2
- HindsightFull issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA9000. H56.
- Journal of the Society for the Study of Architecture in CanadaAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA1.S682 N4
- SABMagAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NA2542.36 .S33
- Site MagazineFull issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .O497
- Spacing.caBoth a magazine and a blog, Spacing was launched in the fall of 2003 by a group of young journalists and public space advocates in Toronto, and has grown to cover cities across Canada. Full issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: FC3097.1 .S63
For a list of Canadian architecture journals at UBC Library see the subject heading: Architecture--Canada--Periodicals.
Print Indexes
(See the Databases section of this guide for Canadian databases)
- Canadian architectural periodicals indexA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection.
- Index of/du Canadian architect and builderMicroform available at Koerner Library.
Alternative Format Journals
- Archimemo Reserach JournalOpen access online journal produced by Henriquez Partners.
- Architecture_MPSPeer reviewed open access journal produced by the nonprofit research organization AMPS (Architecture_media_politics_society).
- Attention JournalPrinceton’s Audio Journal for Architecture
- Colossus Architecture Magazine Archive"Colossus is the first vast open searchable digital archive of major 20th century architecture publications."
- DezeenDezeen began as a blog and has morphed into an online magazine.
- Sustainable Native Communities Collaborative (SNCC) JournalSNCC focuses on culturally and environmentally sustainable development with American Indian, First Nations, and Indigenous communities. Through planning, architectural design, technical assistance and research, our services help tribal communities gain self-sufficiency, improve their impacts on the natural world, and develop healthy, green, culturally-appropriate communities.
- Trimtabmonthly digital news service of the Buckminster Fuller Institute.
Current Awareness Tools
Want the latest issue of your favourite journal delivered to your inbox? Many ejournals provide TOC (Table of Contents) alerts and many databases provide search alerts. For more information visit UBC Library's Current Awareness Tools guide.
Below is a TOC feed from the latest issue of Architectural Design (AD):