Hong Kong

This is an online resource providing information and materials from the drafting history of Hong Kong’s constitution, The Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China. Four databases are currently available for free public access: Drafting Materials, News Coverage, Legco Database, and Textual History.

Part of the Hong Kong History Project based at Bristol, aims to encourage and facilitate the study of the history of Hong Kong in the UK.

The Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online is a full-text image database providing access to past revised editions of Hong Kong Laws. The database comprises a total of seven consolidations of the laws of Hong Kong: 1890, 1901, 1912, 1923, 1937, 1950, and 1964 (last updated to 1989).

The "Hong Kong & the West until 1860" database was created by the University of Hong Kong Libraries. A total of forty-two titles, mostly in English and published before 1860, the database provides online access and retrieval to a variety of valuable information, including sketches, maps, and accounts of western visitors and settlers about early Hong Kong. The year 1860 has been identified as the cut-off date because it marked the end of the first phase of Hong Kong history. Geographically and politically, the territory of Hong Kong was confined to Hong Kong Island until 1860 when the Convention of Peking was signed under which Kowloon became part of the territory.

The Hung On-To Memorial Library, or popularly known as Hong Kong Collection, well known for its comprehensive holdings of pre-war materials (pre-1945 Hong Kong sources) which include books, government publications, journals, print newspapers, manuscripts, grey literature, ledger books, archival materials, etc.

Hong Kong Government Reports Online (HKGRO) is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. It contains a wide range of information, such as official notifications, proceedings of the Legislative Council, statistics, and reports of government departments and special committees, which are essential to students and scholars in conducting research on Hong Kong.

The HKWCT Collection is part of a project funded by the Hong Kong SAR government’s Research Grant Council. The Collection’s website provides details of, and access to, the case files of 46 trials involving 123 persons who were tried in Hong Kong for war crimes committed during the Second World War.

A remarkable donation of some 360 Chinese land deeds and 1,500 family documents from the late Mr Tin-Pong Chow (鄒殿邦先生), the then Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce of Guangzhou in the 19th to early 20th Century. These documents dated from 1920 to late 1940, provide important data on the economic development of China, particularly Guangdong and Hong Kong.

Opened to the public, this collection houses a great variety of historical records of the Kuk since its establishment in 1878. The archive includes Exchange of correspondence between the Secretary for Home Affairs and the Kuk, Exchange of correspondence between the Kuk and overseas associations, Record books and Minute books, Registry of women and children admitted, Refugee records, Donation records, Legal statements, Rules and regulations, Registers of marriage, adoption and fostering, Oral Statements of the refugees, shelter women and orphans and much on.

Central Preservation Library for Government Publications (CPL) which contains selected government publications, reports and printed material on Hong Kong to preserve local documentary heritage.

The Tung Wah Group of Hospitals with a long history from 1800, is the oldest and the largest charitable organization in Hong Kong. Two important records for scholars who research on local history include Oral History Archives (Chinese version only, an Oral History Research Project in collaboration with The University of Hong Kong), and Articles of Tung Wah Coffin Home (showing Tung Wah engaged huge resources to arrange bone repatriation of Chinese from all over the world to their birth place on the Mainland).

There is an excellent website devoted to Hong Kong history which sometimes carries discussions of Stanley Camp.

This blog by Rudi Butt and other contributing authors provides rich resources of the Hong Kong history beginning 1278 to the present with digital archives based three periods labelled by author: Nothing Happened, Cultural Fusion, and Identity Crisis.

Hong Kong War Diary is a project by Tony Banham documenting the 1941 defence of Hong Kong, the defenders, their families, and the fates of all until liberation. This page is updated monthly with a record of research and related activities. Pages on the left cover the books that have spun off from this project, and a listing of each and every member of the Garrison.

This research project blog is created for anyone who has knowledge of, or who wishes to learn about, Hong Kong’s wide-ranging industrial history began in the 3rd century BC, from incense to textiles, cameras to rickshaws, also covers many aspects of agriculture and fishing, food and beverages, mines and quarries, shipbuilding and ship breaking, technical education, telecommunications, traditional industries, transport and utilities.

This blog focuses on the experiences of the author Brian Edgar's parents Thomas and Evelina Edgar in Hong Kong 1941-1945. The blog provides a full picture of their life at the time in the context of what is known about the general history of war-time Hong Kong, and his parents’ experience.

Particular emphasis is given to America’s principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People’s Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. However, countries such as Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia are covered as well.

Gathered by BBC, this is an archive of WW 2 memories of Hong Kong.