Hong Kong

Established in July 2015, The Academy of Hong Kong Studies (AHKS) is the first academy dedicated to fostering Hong Kong studies within local tertiary institutions. Their works include: organizing conference, seminars, forums, executive education, advanced and multi-disciplinary training for postgraduate students in the area of Hong Kong Studies; promoting research and publication activities in the area of Hong Kong studies; heading a Social Science Data Laboratory conducting various quantitative and qualitative studies (e.g. telephone survey, online survey, focus groups interview, in-depth interview and content analysis).

Provides coordination and depository infrastructure for the research, collection development and public education of the effects of migrations and cultural connections between Hong Kong and Canada from the 1960s to the 2010s.

The Hong Kong Heritage Project (HKHP) archive houses a rich collection of more than 150 linear metres of paper records, as well as the largest oral history collection in Hong Kong. Many of these records were donated by The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels and CLP. These primary and secondary sources shed light on the business, social and economic history of Hong Kong and Shanghai from 1884 – 1980, and holds substantial collections on: Hong Kong's rural communities, Hong Kong industry, manufacturing and tourism, Hong Kong's post-war development, The Kadoorie Family's connection to the Jewish community.

This project aims to serve as a focal point for a programme of events and research initiatives that will provide new perspectives on the history of Hong Kong, both as an object of study in itself, and in comparative and regional perspective.

A joint project of The Hong Kong Jockey Club and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department of the HKSAR Government, Hong Kong Memory (HKM) is a multi-media web site that gives free and open access to a digital repository for the collection, conservation, preservation and presentation of Hong Kong’s historical and cultural heritage. The materials include text documents, photographs, posters, sound recordings, motion pictures and videos.

Jointly operated by the Centre of Asian Studies and Department of Sociology of The University of Hong Kong with a collection of over 200 oral histories of individuals from a diversity of sectors, ethnic groups, trades and occupations, associations and communities.

Understanding the role Hong Kong plays on world screens animates the first Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) devoted to Hong Kong films ... [by examining] how the local and the global intersect to make Hong Kong cinema an integral part of popular culture around the world as well as a leading force in the development of world cinematic art.