Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Studies Initiative

UBC Collection

Books, articles, journals ...

 

Audio-Visual:

- Call Number: PN1997 .C4855 2004 dvd, OKANAGAN LIBRARY audiovisual

- Call Number: PN1997 .Z675 2002 dvd, ASIAN LIBRARY audio-visual

- Call Number: VMatica.D-868, KOERNER LIBRARY Videomatica (Koerner Circulation Desk)

Online Resources

  • Chinese Documentary Festival 華語紀錄片節
  • By Visible Record, a non-profit organization that advocates for the art and culture of documentary film
  • Federation of Hong Kong Filmmakers 香港電影工作者總會 (Chinese language)
  • Established in 2002 aims to uphold and safeguard the rights and interests of Hong Kong filmmakers
  • Film News in East Chinese Newspapers 早期華文報紙電影資料庫 (Chinese language)
  • This database created by Hong Kong Baptist University provides an index to film-related materials in early Chinese newspapers from Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Hangzhou and Tianjin. It is one of the major outcomes of a GRF research project entitled "Chinese Film Industry Beyond Shanghai, 1900-1950".
  • Film Services Office 香港電影服務統籌科
  • A government office to facilitate film production in Hong Kong and provide information, liaison and support to filmmakers.
  • Hong Kong Chamber of Films 香港電影商協會 (link not available)
  • Founded in 2006,its objectives are to express film investors' views and to uphold and safeguard their rights and interests; and act as a bridge between the film industry and Government by expressing the industry's opinions on matters such as copyrights and other issues so as to seek Government support for the industry.
  • Hong Kong Film Archive 香港電影資料館
  • Hong Kong governmental film archive
  • Hong Kong Film Awards 香港電影金像獎
  • Founded in 1982 to promote Hong Kong films locally and abroad
  • Hong Kong Film Critics Society 香港電影評論學會
  • Reviews & essays by members
  • Hong Kong Film Development Council 香港電影發展局
  • Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild 香港電影導演會
  • Focus on the directors; published "The Ultimate Guide to Hong Kong Directors 1979-2013"《香港電影導演大全 1979-2013》, a compendium of data on more than 600 local film directors who contributed to the movie scene of Hong Kong during the period from 1979 to 2013
  • Hong Kong International Film and TV Market 香港影視娛樂網
  • By Hong Kong Trade Development Council that provides industry news and Hong Kong new release as well as synopsis of archives films
  • The Hong Kong International Film Festival Society 香港國際電影節協會
  • A charitable, non-profit and non-governmental organization dedicated to the discovery and promotion of creativity in the art and culture of film
  • Hong Kong Performing Artistes Guild 香港演藝人協會
  • Hong Kong Screenwriters' Guild 香港電影編劇家協會
  • IFVA 亞洲獨立影像媒體
  • Organized by Hong Kong Arts Centre, ifva is an Incubator for Film and Visual media in Asia (formerly the Hong Kong Independent Short Film and Video Awards) serves as a platform that actively promotes and encourages creative talents in Asia, making short films, videos, animation and media art.
  • MPIA (Motion Picture Industry Association) 香港影業協會
  • Established in July 1986, with the objectives to promote and protect the rights and interests of people in the motion picture industry
  • Media Study from MCLC
  • A bibliography of Hong Kong Films created by MCLA Resource Center at The Ohio State University
  • Office for Film, Newspaper and Article Administration of Hong Kong 香港特區政府電影、報刊及物品管理辦事處網
  • Take up the functions of the former Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority in relation to film classification, control of obscene and indecent articles and newspaper registration.

Personal Research Projects/Blogs: