Hong Kong

General academic:

• Academic English Support
• History Writing Centre
• UBC Writing Centre
• Academic Integrity Resource Centre
• How to Cite
• How to Cite Asian-Language Sources
• Notes on Romanization  (Library of Congress)
• Cantonese Sound System
• Cantonese-English Dictionary

Alternative perspectives on Hong Kong history:

• Carroll, John M. A Concise History of Hong Kong. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2007.
• Endacott, G. B. A History of Hong Kong. Rev. ed. Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1973.
• Lee, Leo Ou-fan. City Between Worlds: My Hong Kong. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2008.

Quick references:

• Chan, Ming K, and Shiu Hing Lo, eds. Historical Dictionary of the Hong Kong SAR and the Macao SAR. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
• Holdsworth, May, and Christopher Munn, eds. Dictionary of Hong Kong Biography. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2012.
• Roberts, Elfed Vaughan, Ngai-Ling Sum, and Peter Bradshaw, eds. Historical Dictionary of Hong Kong & Macau. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1992.

Scholarly literature:

• Carroll, John M., and Chi-kwan Mark, eds. Critical Readings on the History of Hong Kong. 4 vols. Leiden: Brill, 2015.
• Cheung, Sidney C. H., and Siumi Maria Tam, comps. Culture and Society of Hong Kong: A Bibliography . Hong Kong: Department of Anthropology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1999.
• England, Vaudine. Bibliography on Hong Kong Studies . Part of the Hong Kong History Project  based at Bristol.
• Lee, Pui-tak 李培德, ed. Xianggang shi yan jiu shu mu ti jie 香港史硏究書目題解 [An Annotated Bibliography of Hong Kong History]. Hong Kong: San lian shu dian, 2001. See instructor for copy.
• Scott, Ian, comp. Hong Kong. Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1990.
• Shulman, Frank Joseph, and Anna Leon Shulman, comps. Doctoral Dissertations on Hong Kong, 1900–1997: An Annotated Bibliography with an Appendix of Dissertations Completed in 1998 and 1999. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2001.
• Dissertations and Theses Collections  (union catalog of theses completed in Hong Kong and Macau)
• Hong Kong Journals Online  (titles )
  • esp. Journal of the Hong Kong Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society  (1961–; also available at Koerner and online )

Historical documents:

• Endacott, G. B., ed. An Eastern Entrepôt: A Collection of Documents Illustrating the History of Hong Kong. London: H.M. Stationery Office, 1964.
• Faure, David, ed. A Documentary History of Hong Kong: Society . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 1997.
• Faure, David, and Pui-tak Lee, eds. A Documentary History of Hong Kong: Economy. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2004.
• Hase, Patrick H. "Part 3: Customary Land Deeds." In Custom, Land and Livelihood in Rural South China: The Traditional Land Law of Hong Kong's New Territories, 1750–1950 . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2013.
• Hong Kong Government Reports Online  (University of Hong Kong)
• Hong Kong & the West until 1860  (HKU)
• Ng, Peter Y. L. New Peace County: A Chinese Gazetteer of the Hong Kong Region . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 1983.
• Public Records Office  (fact sheet ; part of the Government Records Service )
• Ou Zhijian, Peng Shumin, and Cai Sixing 區志堅, 彭淑敏, 蔡思行. Gai bian Xianggang li shi de 60 pian wen xian 改變香港歷史的60篇文獻 [60 documents that transformed the history of Hong Kong] (Chinese). Hong Kong: Zhonghua shu ju, 2011.
• Pre-1950 Hong Kong E-Books  (HKU)
• Tsang, Steve, ed. A Documentary History of Hong Kong: Government and Politics . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 1995.
• Richard Charles Lee Canada-Hong Kong Library  (University of Toronto)

Newspapers, periodicals, and photographs:

• Bard, Solomon, ed. Voices From the Past: Hong Kong, 1842–1918. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2002.
• List of Newspapers in Hong Kong 
  • Quite a few of the current newspapers in Hong Kong (including South China Morning Post ) are accessible through Factiva  or similar databases through UBC.
  • Note that some Chinese-language newspapers (such as Ming Pao Daily  [1959–]) do occasionally publish bilingual editorials.
• Newspaper Society of Hong Kong  ("The Past 50 Years" ; List of newspapers ) (in Chinese)
• Old HK Newspapers  (Hong Kong Public Libraries)
  • Searchable by date (yyyy-mm-dd) and by text of 13 Chinese- and English-language newspapers:
  • 香港工商日報 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 – 1984/11/30)
  • 華僑日報 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 – 1991/12/31)
  • 香港華字日報 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 – 1940/12/31)
  • 香港華字晚報 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 – 1938/01/27)
  • 大公報 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 – 1991/12/31)
  • 天光報 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 – 1940/11/30)
  • 遐邇貫珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 – 1856/05)
  • 循環日報 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 – 1886/01/30)
  • China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29)
  • Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 – 1941/09/30)
  • Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 – 1950/10/29)
  • Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 – 1951/03/30)
  • Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 – 1909/12/24)
• History in Pictures  (Hong Kong Public Records Office)
• Hong Kong Image Database  (HKU)
• Photos of Old Hong Kong  (gwulo.com)

Memoirs and interviews:

• Balke, Gerd. Hong Kong Voices. Hong Kong: Longman, 1989.
• Blyth, Sally, and Ian Wotherspoon, eds. Hong Kong Remembers. Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1996.
• Hong Kong Memory: Oral History
• White, Barbara-Sue, ed. Hong Kong: Somewhere Between Heaven and Earth. Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1996.

Literary writings:

• Cheung, Martha, ed. Hong Kong Collage: Contemporary Stories and Writing. Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1998.
• Hung, Eva, ed. Hong Kong Stories: Old Themes, New Voices. Hong Kong: The Research Centre for Translation, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1999.
• Hung, Eva, and Chi-yin Ip, eds. To Pierce the Material Screen: An Anthology of 20th-Century Hong Kong Literature. 2 vols. Hong Kong: Research Centre for Translation, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2008.
  • See also Renditions: #29–30 (Hong Kong ); #47–48 (Hong Kong Nineties ); #66 (Hong Kong Essays )
• Ingham, Mike, and Xu Xi, eds. City Stage: Hong Kong Playwriting in English . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2005.
• Xu Xi and Mike Ingham, eds. City Voices: Hong Kong Writing in English, 1945 to the Present . Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2003.
• Hong Kong Literature Database 香港文學資料庫  (中文版 ). Full-text access to a wide range of literary writings in Chinese found in newspapers  and other periodicals , including:
  • 大公報 (1938–41, 1946–52, 1992–)
  • 華僑日報 (1947–49, 1992–94)
  • 鐵馬  (1929)
  • 中國學生周報  (1952–74)
  • Hong Kong Literary 香港文學  (1985–; most recent issues available in the Asian Library )
• Hong Kong English Literature Database

Movies, comics, multimedia:

• Stokes, Lisa Odham and others, eds. Historical Dictionary of Hong Kong Cinema. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
• Hong Kong Film Archive
• 100 Must-See Hong Kong Movies
• List of Films set in Hong Kong
• Old Master Q 老夫子
• Digital Resources: Hong Kong Studies (HKU)
• Hong Kong Memory
• Multimedia Information System  (Hong Kong Public Libraries)
• Gwulo: Old Hong Kong