Related Reseach Guides
- Education Library Research GuideA guide to general information and resources in the field of education
- NITEP GuideFor students in NITEP.
Just ask us!
AskAway
About: provides convenient and expert chat reference help to post-secondary students, faculty, and researchers across BC and the Yukon. For assistance click here.
Getting Started
Below you will find articles and databases specific to Education. As we progressively move to an online environment X̱wi7x̱wa is moving away from print and physical materials. For subject specific resources and lesson plans please refer to our K-12 guide and the related research guides to the left of this page.
Why Databases?
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
- Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you will retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
- Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.
The following databases are useful for finding articles related to this topic. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies listed on the books & media tab, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you expected within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.
Featured Articles
- Designing a model of culturally responsive mathematics education : place, relationships and storyworkCynthia Nicol, Jo-ann Archibald & Jeff Baker. Mathematics Education Research Journal, 25:1 (2013).
- Engaging non-Indigenous students in Indigenous history and 'un-history' : an approach for non-Indigenous teachers and a politics for the twenty-first centuryMary O'Dowd. History of Education Review, 41:2 (2012).
- Designing Pedagogies for Indigenous Science Education: Finding Our Way to StoryworkAmanda Marin & Megan Bang. Journal of American Indian Education, 54:2 (2015).
- Is early immersion effective for Aboriginal language acquisition? A case study from an Anishinaabemowin kindergartenLindsay A. Morcom & Stephanie Roy. International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism (2017).
- 2016-2017 Nunavut Approved Curriculum and Teaching ResourcesA government document with grade-specific listings of teaching materials approved for use in Nunavut, with a focus on Inuit education.
- Alternatives Journal (AJ) - Canada's Environmental Voice; 2020, Vol. 45 Issue 3/4, p55-59.In short, while education is responsible for creating a divide between Western-based knowledge and Indigenous Knowledge, education is also capable of establishing change. EDUCATION Knowledge is at the forefront of academia and literacy, positioning itself within research, lectures, discussions, and projects. Cultural humility is a lifelong learning journey that incorporates rebuilding one's knowledge, awareness, and acceptance of different cultures.
Additional Databases
Though these databases might not focus specifically on education, they can have useful articles for your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowA research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. Indexes and abstracts over 800 journals, and includes access to 500 full text journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowNorth American Women's Letters and Diaries, colonial to 1950.
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- Repère This link opens in a new windowRepère provides the most comprehensive source for journal articles in French.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Nunavut Approved Curriculum and Resources databaseContains curriculum and educational material created and endorsed by the Government of Nunavut. Covers a wide range of subjects, including ESL and Inuktitut language learning.
- Global Environmental Justice CollectionThe documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Indigenous studies, environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion and the humanities.