Health Associations
Just ask us!
AskAway
About: provides convenient and expert chat reference help to post-secondary students, faculty, and researchers across BC and the Yukon. For assistance click here.
Getting Started
Below you will find articles and databases specific to Health. As we progressively move to an online environment X̱wi7x̱wa is moving away from print and physical materials. For more research guidance please consult the Indigenous Health research guide or refer to the related guides to the left of this page.
Key Resources
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowArticles on Aboriginal health may be hard to find in PubMed due to the use of older subject headings, such as "Indians, North American." See the Articles section for more details.
- iPortal : Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) has over 25,000 records describing electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photos, archival resources, and maps relevant to Indigenous studies and communities.
- Native Health Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers the history & culture of Native North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, & literacy. Includes books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth)Compiled by Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet and produced at Kurongkurl Katitjin (Edith Cowan University Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research). Includes both published and grey literature.
- Native American Ethnobotany - University of MichiganDatabase searchable by plant or medical use/condition
- NatMed Pro This link opens in a new windowAn international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
Cultural Safety and Cultural Competency
- NCCIH Cultural Safety CollectionResources from the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
- CulturallyConnected"CulturallyConnected provides practical information and tools to enable health professionals to better support the health of children, youth, women, and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds."
- Indigenous Cultural Safety Collaborative Learning SeriesNational webinar series on Indigenous cultural safety in the health and social services.
- Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis People of Canada (Tri-Council)The Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans - Chapter 9 is a framework for ethical conduct of research involving Aboriginal peoples. It is a joint policy of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).
- San’yas Training, Indigenous Cultural Competency, Provincial Health Services AssociationBursaries may be available for this training for practicing physicians and residents based in rural BC communities. Please see: http://rccbc.ca/practitioner-support/rural-physicians/jsc-programs/indigenous-cultural-competency-training-program/
- Indigenous Health EquityWebinar series targeted to public health professionals, from the University of Toronto Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Includes links to further Indigenous cultural safety modules developed by Cancer Care Ontario.
- Indigenous Relations Behavioural Competencies17 competencies for BC Public Service employees.
Canadian Government
- Indigenous HealthHealth Canada's branch devoted to the health of First Nations peoples. Includes information on programs, statistics, funding, non-insured health benefits, and more.
- National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous HealthFunded through the Public Health Agency of Canada and located at the University of Northern British Columbia.
- National Aboriginal Health OrganizationClosed in 2012, but resources remain online via the Internet Archive.
- Aboriginal Ways Tried and TrueFrom PHAC. Describes public health interventions successfully implemented in aboriginal Canadian communities.
- Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)Responsibilities include: Health, Education, Housing, Water, Social Programming, and Infrastructure.