Language Maps of British Columbia
- Language Map of B.C. (First Peoples Heritage, Language, and Culture Council)Interactive language map of the 203 BC First Nations communities and languages.
- Language Map of B.C. (Print copies)Click this link to order print copies of the language map.
- First Nations Languages of British Columbia (UBC Museum of Anthropology)First Nations languages are shown with outlines that are approximate representations of their geographic locations.
Language Maps of Canada
- Aboriginal Languages MapsCollection of maps and statistics relating to Aboriginal languages in Canada: language communities, language ability, and language continuity. (See: Aboriginal languages by community 1996)
- Canada's Aboriginal Languages (CBC)Simplified map of Canada, showing Aboriginal languages by province and territory.
- Native LandAn interactive digital map representing Indigenous territories, languages and treaties across the world with a focus on Canada, the US, Australia and New Zealand.
- Arctic Languages MapMap on linguistic diversity in the Arctic region.
- Talking Place Names Map (Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute)A product of research beginning in 1992, this map allows users to learn about Gwich'in culture and history through interacting with 30 recorded place names and associated stories, trails, traditional camp sites, graves, historic sites, harvesting locales, and sacred or legendary places.
- Gwich'in Place Name and Story Atlas (Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute)This interactive map is the product of over two decades of research between the Gwich’in Social and Cultural Institute, Gwich’in Elders and community members. Users can select locations on the map to hear place names and explore Gwich’in culture, history, traditional knowledge and land use.
Just ask us!
AskAway
About: provides convenient and expert chat reference help to post-secondary students, faculty, and researchers across BC and the Yukon. For assistance click here.
Getting Started
Below you will find articles and databases specific to Languages. As we progressively move to an online environment X̱wi7x̱wa is moving away from print and physical materials. For more research guides please refer to the related guides on the left side of this page.
Search Tip
When searching for information using the UBC Library Catalogue, Summon, or databases, remember that names of Indigenous nations and languages often change over time and spellings may vary. You may need to conduct multiple searches using a variety of search terms to find information about a particular Indigenous nation or language.
Changes Over Time
- Names of languages change over time and also vary by different groups and academic disciplines.
For example: Dane-zaa Záágéʔ is also called the Beaver language.
For example: Dakelh is also called the Carrier language.
- Names of dialects also vary.
For example: Plains Cree is also known as the Y-dialect or Nehiyawewin.
Spelling Variations
- Consider spelling variations, especially for languages that have had multiple (or no) written systems.
- Classification systems in libraries and archives might use different spellings and ordering systems.
For example: Stó:lō, Stó:lô, Stó:lõ, Stahlo, Staulo, Stolo, Stohlo, Sto:lo (group of people)
For example: Tsuut’ina, Sarcee, Sarsi, Tsuu T’ina, Tsu T’ina, Tsúùtínà (language)
The First Peoples' Language Map of British Columbia maintains a First Nations Index, which includes current and other names of nations, and a Language Index, which includes current and other names of languages.
Michif
The Métis language is called Michif (also Mitchif, Mechif, Michif-Cree, Métif, Métchif, French Cree). Michif is blend of Cree and French; the verbs are taken from Cree, while the nouns are taken from French.
For information on Michif, check out A Language of Our Own [e-book] by Peter Bakker (1997).
Online Michif Resources
- Michif To Go (Gabriel Dumont Institute)The first English-to-Michif dictionary app available for Android.
Apps
- File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council Education DepartmentiPhone and iPad apps for learning the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Nakota, and Lakota languages. From Treaty 4 territory in Saskatchewan.
- First Peoples' Cultural CounciliPhone, iPad, and Android apps for learning First Nations languages of BC.
- Honour WateriPad app that passes on songs in Anishinaabemowin, the Anishinaabe language.
- Inuit-Specific Online Learning ResourcesiPhone and Android apps.
- List of Indigenous Apps (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education)iPhone and Android apps. Includes language apps as well as culture and community, music and radio, and children's apps.
- List of Latin American Indigenous Language Apps (Remezcla)iPhone and Android apps.
- Maskwacis Cree Language AppiPhone and iPad app from the Samson Cree Nation.
- Michif To Go (Gabriel Dumont Institute)The first English-to-Michif dictionary app available for Android.
- Ogoki Learning SystemsiPhone and iPad apps. Includes First Nations languages of BC.
- Thornton MediaiPhone and iPad apps for First Nations across Canada.
Language Learning
- The Common Curriculum Framework for Aboriginal Languages and Culture Programs: K - 12 (Western Canadian Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education)Offers frameworks reflecting values and beliefs inherent in Aboriginal cultures for teachers developing language and culture resources.
- Yinka Déné Language Institute (YDLI)Language and training resources for the Yinka Déné language and culture.
- Dene Kede Teacher's Resource Manual (NWT Ministry of Education)Outlines teaching of Dene curriculum focusing on language and culture from a Dene worldview.
- Katiqsugat: Inuit Early Learning Resources (ITK)Policy manuals, teaching tools, activity kits and research on Inuit early childhood development. Available in English, Inuttitut, Inuktitut and ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ.