Spanish Language, Literature and Culture

The entries in this reference book explore the fascinating history of the Golden Age of Spanish drama. The volume begins with an introductory overview of the literary, cultural, and historical contexts that shaped dramatic writing of the period. The book then presents alphabetically arranged essays for nineteen significant Spanish dramatists of the Golden Age.

Bibliography on women in the Hispanic literature of the Middle Ages until the beginning of the century XVI, in Arabic, Hebrew and Latin, as well as in Castilian, Catalan, Galician and Portuguese

A companion volume to the author's acclaimed Spanish, Catalan, and Galician Literary Authors of the Twentieth Century (1992), this bibliography provides a comprehensive index to published bibliographies that list a literary author's works and/or critical studies about the works.

Although there are several annotated bibliographies of contemporary Spanish novelists, this book covers critical works published on the post civil war Spanish novel as a literary form. The volume cites books and articles, and each citation is accompanied by a descriptive and evaluative annotation.

Provides a comprehensive index to published bibliographies that list a literary author's works and/or critical studies about the works. In addition to novelists, playwrights, poets, and short story writers, the guide also covers bibliographies for linguists, literary critics, and historians.

Comprehensive reference work for serious scholarship on Latin American literature with sources through 1986. Among the criteria used to determine which authors and works would be included are originality, critical appraisal, and the interest the work held for professors, researchers, and students.

The enormous body of short story anthologies from the nineteen countries of Spanish America and Brazil testifies to their importance. The study of anthologies and their contents can be particularly revealing for many of the questions looming large in critical discourse, particularly those on canon formation and the relations between literature and cultural institutions; but researching this corpus is difficult because it varies greatly in quality, distribution, and format. The present volume for the first time gathers this mass of material and organizes it for systematic study. The main section comprises annotated listings of 1302 short story anthologies.

Rather than listing everything ever written by and about the vanguardists, this volume narrows its focus to a fundamental 15 year period, 1920 through 1935, and selects, assesses, and annotates both primary and secondary materials from those years. Secondary materials published since 1935 are also included as part of the listings.