Handbooks
Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica by ISBN: 9781138941380Publication Date: 2015Provides comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of Spanish linguistics: Part 1 covers linguistic disciplines, approaches and methodologies.Part 2 brings together the grammar of Spanish, including subsections on phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.Part 3 brings together the historical, social and geographical factors in the evolution of Spanish.
The Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics by ISBN: 9781405198820Publication Date: 2012Explores all facets relating to the origins, evolution, and geographical variations of the Spanish language Examines topics including second language learning, Spanish in the classroom, immigration, heritage languages, and bilingualism
The Handbook of Hispanic Sociolinguistics by ISBN: 9781119108917Publication Date: 2015This Handbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of theoretical and descriptive research in contemporary Hispanic sociolinguistics.
The Handbook of Spanish Second Language Acquisition by ISBN: 9781118584439Publication Date: 2013This Handbook covers the most recent developments across a range of sub-fields relevant to the study of second language Spanish.
Routledge Handbook of Spanish As a Heritage Language by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781138833883Publication Date: 2018The Routledge Handbook of Spanish as a Heritage Language brings together contributions from leading linguists, educators and Latino Studies scholars involved in teaching and working with Spanish heritage language speakers.
Dictionaries
Online
Available via UBC Library
- A frequency dictionary of Spanish : core vocabulary for learners (2018)
- Pocket Oxford dictionary : English-Spanish (2009)
From the Real Academia Española
- Diccionario de la Lengua Española, 23a. edición - Real Academia Española
- Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA) - Real Academia Española
- Diccionario panhispánico de dudas - Real Academia Española
Others
- Jergas de habla hispana - slang expressions from the Americas and Spain
In Print
Listed below is a small sampling of the print dictionaries available at UBC Library. For more Spanish dictionaries, search the UBC Library catalogue using the Subject Headings:
- Spanish language -- Dictionaries -- English (for 2-way dictionaries)
- Spanish language--Dictionaries
Language Grammars and Workbooks
The grammars and workbooks below are a sampling of recent ebooks available through UBC Library. To see the full range of print and ebooks, search under the subject headings:
Nueva Gramatica de la Lengua Española by ISBN: 9788467032079Publication Date: 2010Una obra académica panhispánica. La primera vez que una gramática académica refleja todas las variedades del español. La Nueva gramática de la lengua española, primera gramática académica desde 1931, es el resultado de once años de intenso trabajo de las veintidós Academias de la Lengua Española. This link is for the print set. Search online interface through the REA site here.
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish by ISBN: 9781444137699Publication Date: 2011-07-10Long-trusted as the most practical and comprehensive Spanish grammar book available, A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish provides a comprehensive, cohesive, and clear guide to the forms and structures of Spanish as it is written and spoken today, both in Spain and in Latin America.
¡Exacto! by ISBN: 9780415785082Publication Date: 2018¡Exacto!is an accessible guide to Spanish grammar. Using an appealing visual layout, the essentials of Spanish grammar are presented in tables and charts allowing learners to navigate the information easily and view explanations, examples of usage and any exceptions to the rule at a glance.
Spanish Grammar Made Easy by ISBN: 9781138095779Publication Date: 2017An introduction to the basics of Spanish grammar for anyone new to the language or looking to refresh their knowledge
A Spanish Learning Grammar by ISBN: 9781138437678Publication Date: 2017Explanations of grammar are supported by examples with contemporary vocabulary, humorous cartoon drawings, and plentiful, varied exercises, helping you to grasp often complex points of grammar in an enjoyable way.
Language Data (Corpora)
The Real Academia Española (Royal Spanish Academy) is Spain's official royal institution with a mission to ensure the stability of the Spanish language. They have produced a number of large language data sets (corpora):
- CORPES XXI - Corpus del Español del Siglo XXI - Corpus of 21st Century Spanish
- CDH 21 - Nuevo diccionario histórico del español - Corpus of the Historical Dictionary
- CREATES - Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual - Reference corpus of current Spanish
- CORDE Corpus Diacrónico del Español - Diachronic Corpus of Spanish