Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish Language, Literature and Culture

Video at UBC Library

UBC Library provides access to many films. Films are available on DVD, VHS and streamed online.

UBC Vancouver faculty, staff and students can book UBC Library videos, films or DVDs for individual use or for classroom presentation on a specific date.  Instructions on how to place a Media Booking request are available here.

 

UBC Okanagan faculty, staff and students can book UBC Library videos, films, or DVDs by contacting: media.ok@ubc.ca

Streaming Video via UBC Library

Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Search by language or film name or browse by collection (e.g. Latin American Studies).


Criterion On Demand - feature films from theCriterion Collection, including feature film producers, including, but not limited to: 20th Century Fox, Fox Searchlight, Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.

Routledge Performance Archive - audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. Included here are interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences.

Theatre in Video - more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in

Video on the Web

Sueños, World Spanish : Filmed in Spain, Latin America and the USA this series aims to help beginners and those with a little Spanish develop listening and speaking skills with confidence, taking them to the rough equivalent of GCSE or NVQ Level 1.

Audio

Audio

BBC Languages - Spain -  Links to Spanish new, TV, and radio from across Spain and Latin America.


Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape

Listen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz, and renowned writers Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, and Julio Cortázar reading from their works at the Library of Congress.