Library COVID Updates
Branch hours and the process for picking up print materials has changed. See these links for more information on accessing print materials at your local libraries!
- UBC Library COVID UpdatesFor UBC Library updates, hours of operation, resource pick-up, delivery of materials, and more!
- Okanagan Regional Library Updates
For details about ORL's phased re-opening plan for using the library during the COVID-19 pandemic. - VPL COVID Updates
For information on branch hours, access to resources, and more!
Science Literacy Week Banner
UBC Library Databases
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information (e.g. characteristics, distribution, migration, habitat, food habits, behaviour, sounds) for bird species.
- Global Plants This link opens in a new windowGlobal Plants is the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowCore database of articles and supplementary materials containing the world's zoological and animal science literature. Searchable on the Web of Science platform.
Additional Resources
- Biodiversity of BCThe Biodiversity of BC web site provides an introduction to biodiversity in British Columbia--what it is and how it is influenced. It is also a portal to the two biogeographic atlases of the province: E-Flora BC and E-Fauna BC. Use the atlases to search for wild species in the province. Learn what they look like and where they are found.
- UBC Library Seed Lending Library: How to Save SeedsResources to help you harvest your seeds for next year's garden.
- Wildflower SearchYou can use this website to identify plants by different characteristics such as the color of their flowers and the number of flower petals, the leaf attachment, where you observed the plant, and what time of year it is, among others. You will get to see a list of photographs of possible matches, then you can learn more about the scientific name of your plant and whether it is native to the area you found it in.
- Beaty Biodiversity MuseumExplore biodiversity exhibits online
- Encyclopedia of LifeAn online encyclopedia on all 1.9 million species currently known to science, capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species. Provides text, images, video, maps, and data.
- Tree of Life Web ProjectThe Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
Games
- Phylo: The Trading Card Game"a Pokemon card type resource but with content focusing on real creatures"