News & Current Affairs Sources
News articles and editorials are an excellent source of information when studying political science. They are used as primary sources when studying politics historically, and they are often the only source available when studying contemporary events. As peer-reviewed articles and books take months or years to write and publish, news sources can be critical when examining the politics of the day. UBC Library provides access to a wide range of local and global news sources.
- News & Newspaper Research GuideUBC Library maintains a full research guide on all of the news sources that we provide access to. The selection below highlights resources with notable relevance to political science research.
- Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- ClimateWire: The Politics and Business of Climate Change This link opens in a new windowPart of E&E. ClimateWire provides coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. For more information, see About ClimateWire.
- CQ weekly & CQ.COM This link opens in a new windowCQ weekly plus access to US federal government committee reports, congressional transcripts, and floor votes.
- Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new windowA weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, translated into English.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
- Integrum Profi This link opens in a new windowIntegrum databases include electronic versions of full text documents that cover any issue of public importance, thus ensuring global monitoring of the Russian information space.
Thousands of documents from press, radio and TV, commercial and governmental structures' open documents, materials available online and directories including those recently published, are added every day. Overall, Integrum stores more than five hundred million documents, their total volume exceeding a terabyte. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's premier fulltext news, government, legal, finance and business information services. Research international news, corporate and legal materials.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of survey questions and responses covering a broad range of issues, from polling groups such as Gallup, Harris, Roper, and more than 700 other organizations
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
- World Bank eLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank eLibrary offers full access to nearly 9,000 World Bank books, reports, journal articles and working papers published since the 1990s.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources.
- Yearbook of International Organizations This link opens in a new windowThe Yearbook of International Organizations includes detailed information on over 37,000 active and 32,000 dormant international organizations from 300 countries and territories.
