UBC Library has an extensive collection of newspaper sources. The collection includes both current and historical newspapers; newspapers from Canada, US, and international sources; newspapers in print, online in databases, and other formats such as microfilm. Use this guide to find print, online, or microform copies of newspapers and newspaper articles available at the UBC Library. To find articles you may... search by topic - a person, company, event, etc. To find articles by topic you will need to use the online indexes and databases, or print indexes, listed in this guide. search for a known article in a particular newspaper. Use this guide to determine if the Library has the newspaper title for the date you require; it may be available online, on microfilm, or if it's very current, in the original print version.
BC NewspapersUBC Library has an extensive collection of British Columbia newspapers. Major newspapers are available in print for the current 3 months at Koerner Library. Online issues of newspapers are available from a variety of databases. Historical newspapers are also available; most are in microformat, with indexing ranging from non-existent to complete coverage depending on the newspaper.
BC Newspaper Collections - Indexes and Full-Text DatabasesContemporary Canadian Newsstand: Start your search here. The major database for Canadian newspapers, with online full text of Canadian newspapers - coverage from mid-1970s to current. BC content includes the Vancouver Sun, Province, Times-Colonist, and local weekly papers. Historical - Use the indexes below to start your research in historical newspapers. More information on how to use the microformat indexes is found under the Indexes/Databases/Guides tab. British Columbia Historical Newspapers - under development; a growing collection of digitized local BC newspapers BC Newspaper Index: The major index to historical BC newspapers. The BC Legislative Library has selectively indexed the Vancouver Sun, Province, Times-Colonist (and its predecessors). The focus in on BC history, politics, and economics. Online: 1991-2007Microform: 1900-1990 BCARS: Indexes articles in a variety of historical British Columbia newspapers. Microfiche: pre-1900 to 1980s.
BC Newspapers by TitleMajor local, Vancouver, and BC papers in the UBC Library collection, contemporary and historical Daily Colonist - online | microformat Georgia Straight - print | online New Westminster Columbian - print | microformat Province - print | online | microformat Times-Colonist - online | microformat Vancouver Courier - online Vancouver Sun - print | online | microformat Ubyssey - print | online | microformat
Canadian Newspaper Collections - Full-Text DatabasesContemporary Canadian Newsstand: Start your search here. The major database for Canadian newspapers, with online full text of Canadian newspapers - coverage from mid-1970s to current. Canadian content includes the Globe and Mail and the National Post. Historical - Use the indexes below to start your research in historical newspapers. More information on these resources is found under the Databases/Directories tab. Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844 Peel's Prairie Provinces
Canadian Newspapers by TitleNational Globe and Mail - print | online | microformat National Post - print | online | microformat Provincial Calgary Herald - online | microformat Chronicle Herald (Halifax) - online | microformat Gazette (Montreal) - online | microformat Le Devoir (Montreal) - print | microformat Edmonton Journal - online | microformat Ottawa Citizen - online | microformat Star Phoenix (Saskatoon) - online | microformat Toronto Star - online | microformat Winnipeg Free Press - online | microformat
US and International Newspaper Collections - Full-Text Databases Factiva - full text of Canadian and international newspapers. International newspapers include: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Sunday Times, Times [London], Le Monde, Washington Post. License allows only 6 simultaneous users; Lexis-Nexis is another source for many of the same newspapers. Factiva help with advanced search strategiesFactiva Inside Out User Guide (PDF) - examples for advanced searching including using connectors such as: and, or, not, w/#, atleast, same, and more LexisNexis Academic - full text of U.S. and International news sources. LexisNexis Help with advanced search strategies - examples for advanced searching including using connectors such as: and, not, w/#, atleast, w/p, w/s ProQuest Historical Newspapers - offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue - cover to cover - in downloadable PDF files. Collection includes: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Christian Science Monitor. World News Connection - important international English language news source. Includes newspapers and news magazines, radio and television broadcast transcripts. Areas covered include Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, Near East & South Asia, East Europe, West Europe, South and Central America, and Sub-Saharan Africa. Information is generally available within two to three days of original publication or broadcast.
US and International Newspapers by TitleFollow the links for information on UBC Library collections of these titles in print, online, and microformat. Christian Science Monitor - online | microformat Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung - online | microformat Financial Times - online | microformat Guardian Weekly - print | online | microformat Izvestiia - print | online | microformat Japan Times - print | online | microformat Le Monde - online | microformat Moscow News - print | online | microformat New York Times - print | online | microformat Observer (London) - online Pravda - online | microformat Sunday Times (London) - online | microformat Times (London) - online | microformat Wall Street Journal - print | online | microformat Washington Post - online | microformat
Historical NewspapersMajor strengths in the UBC Library collection include: historical British Columbia newspapers; the majority of these newspapers are available in microformat. Search the UBC Library catalogue by title, or ask for more help at the Koerner Library reference desk. the Globe and Mail from 1844 to present major international newspapers: available through databases including the Proquest Historical Newspaper collection and the Times Digital Archive, and through microformat collections in Koerner Library The Google Newspaper archive also has many historical newspapers, including Canadian titles, in its free online collection. List of titles and dates available here.
Full text online historical newspaper collectionsCanadian British Columbia Historical Newspapers - under development; a growing collection of digitized local BC newspapers British Colonist - website contains all the issues of the British Colonist (also called the Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from its first issue in 1858 to June of 1910. The British Colonist was the leading paper in the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, and was the paper for the province of British Columbia until the emergence of Vancouver and competitors in the 1890s. Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844 - the full text online of the Globe and Mail (and former title the Globe) from 1844 to 4 years ago. Google Newspaper Archives - contents and dates vary. Includes the Vancouver Sun, Montreal Gazette, Calgary Herald, Ottawa Citizen, Saskatoon Star-Phoenix Peel's Prairie Provinces - index and full text to historical prairie newspapers; over 35,000 newspaper issues. International Gale NewsVault - searches across a range of historical newspaper and periodical collections - see the information page for a full description of resources. 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection of UK Newspapers - features about 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. The news sources represent the largest single archive of English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries available from the British Library. 19th Century British Library Newspapers - full runs of national, regional and local 19th-century British newspapers; full text of 71 newspapers. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers - full-text content and images from numerous newspapers based in urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 Latin American Newspapers - digitized full text of 35 Latin American newspapers from 19th and 20th century Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2005 Proquest Historical Newspapers - Complete coverage of the New York Times 1851 - 2000s, Christian Science Monitor 1908 - 1990s, Washington Post 1877 - 1990s, Wall Street Journal 1889 -1990s. Every word in each paper has been indexed. PDF of each article, plus full page images available.See database for exact dates of coverage. Times Digital Archive - Times (London) from 1785-1985.
Historical Newspapers by TitleBritish Columbia The majority of BC historical newspapers are available in microformat. Search the library catalogue for the name of the newspaper, using the 'journal title' index. If you aren't sure which newspaper you want, ask at the Reference Desk at Koerner Library; or consult the Union Catalogue of British Columbia Newspapers to find the titles of newspapers published in BC, then search the catalogue to determine if we have the title in our collection. Daily Colonist - online | microformat New Westminster Columbian - print | microformat Vancouver Sun - online from Google Newspapers archive (dates vary) Victoria Times - microformat Canada Globe and Mail - print | online | microformat Financial Post - online | microformat US/International Christian Science Monitor - online | microformat Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung - online | microformat Financial Times - online | microformat Guardian Weekly - print | online | microformat Izvestiia - print | online | microformat Japan Times - print | online | microformat Le Monde - online | microformat Moscow News - print | online | microformat New York Times - print | online | microformat Observer (London) - microformat Pravda - online | microformat Sunday Times (London) - online | microformat Times (London) - online | microformat Wall Street Journal - print | online | microformat Washington Post - online | microformat
Indexes, Databases, and Guides - Canadian Newspapers B.C. Newspaper Index - 1900-1990 (microfilm) This index has selective coverage of the Vancouver Sun, Province, Times-Colonist (and predecessors Victoria Times and Colonist) for 1900-1990. It was developed by the BC Legislative Library so the focus is articles about BC history, politics, and economics. This index on microfilm is images of the original index cards. You can search only by subject or name headings. It is important to start your search by first finding suitable subject headings: consult the B.C. Provincial Library Newspaper Index List of Subject Headings, and updates. Once you have found suitable subject headings, proceed to the microfilm collection for the B.C. Newspaper Index at Koerner Microforms AW1 R5065, consult the appropriate reels, and note the citations to articles you wish to read. The articles are found on other microfilm reels for the appropriate newspapers and dates. Still need help? Ask for assistance at the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Desk in Koerner Library. B.C. Newspaper Index - 1991 - current (online) This online index has selective coverage of the Vancouver Sun, Province, and Times-Colonist for 1991 to current. It is produced by the BC Legislative Library so the focus is BC history, politics, and economics. Search by subject/name, headline, author, keyword. Because this is an index, once you have found references for articles of interest, you must then locate the full text of the articles in either microfilm or online newspaper collections at the Library. Canadian Newsstand has the full text of most articles listed in this index. BCARS (British Columbia Archives and Records Service) Newspaper Index - pre-1900 to 1980s (microfiche) Indexes articles in a variety of historical British Columbia newspapers. Microfiche of BCARS index cards for newspaper articles. Coverage from pre-1900 newspapers through to 1980s. Depth of coverage varies. Because this is an index, once you have found references for articles of interest, you must then locate the full text of the articles in either microfilm or online newspaper collections at the Library. Canadian News Index This multi-volume print index covers various Canadian newspaper titles: Calgary Herald, Halifax Chronicle Herald, Globe and Mail, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, and Winnipeg Free Press. This index covers the years 1980-1992. Canadian Newspaper Index This multi-volume print index covers various Canadian newspaper titles: Globe and Mail, Montreal Star, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, and Winnipeg Free Press. Index covers the years 1977-1979, and is continued by the Canadian News Index (above). Canadian Newsstand Online full-text and indexing of national and leading regional newspapers. Full access to the articles, columns, editorials, features, and selected letters to the editor. Date coverage varies but typically last ten to fifteen years. CBCA Complete - The Current Events section of this database features newspapers, newswires, and newsmagazines as well as television and radio transcripts. It is updated daily, with full text content and indexing. Factiva - full text of over 9000 news sources. Has Canadian and international newspapers, including the Globe and Mail. Updated daily with no embargoes. License allows only 6 simultaneous users. Index to Prince George Newspapers - print index of 6 Prince George newspapers from 1909-1923. LexisNexis Academic - full-text online news source for some Canadian newspapers including the Globe and Mail, but focus is U.S. and international sources. Newspaper Index for Saskatchewan - print index of Saskatchewan newspapers from 1930-1983. Peel's Prairie Provinces - index and full text to historical prairie newspapers; over 35,000 newspaper issues. Saskatchewan News Index - online searchable index of stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers 1884-2000. Union Catalogue of British Columbia Newspapers - This invaluable 3-volume set attempts to "include all known newspapers published in the province." Search by newspaper title, place of publication, or type of newspaper (including ethnic, political, financial, labour, student, and underground). Record for each title includes: dates of publication, publishers and editors, frequency of publication, indexing sources for each title, variations on titles (former, merged with, continued by, etc.), and holdings (institutions that own copies, by date and format). If you don't see the index you want, check this source: Checklist of Indexes to Canadian Newspapers held by the National Library of Canada.
US and International Newspaper Collections - Full-Text Databases Factiva - full text of Canadian and international newspapers. International newspapers include: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Sunday Times, Times [London], Le Monde, Washington Post. License allows only 6 simultaneous users; Lexis-Nexis is another source for many of the same newspapers. Factiva help with advanced search strategiesFactiva Inside Out User Guide (PDF) - examples for advanced searching including using connectors such as: and, or, not, w/#, atleast, same, and more LexisNexis Academic - full text of U.S. and International news sources. LexisNexis Help with advanced search strategies - examples for advanced searching including using connectors such as: and, not, w/#, atleast, w/p, w/s ProQuest Historical Newspapers - offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue - cover to cover - in downloadable PDF files. Collection includes: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Christian Science Monitor. World News Connection - important international English language news source. Includes newspapers and news magazines, radio and television broadcast transcripts. Areas covered include Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, Near East & South Asia, East Europe, West Europe, South and Central America, and Sub-Saharan Africa. Information is generally available within two to three days of original publication or broadcast.