BC Wine Territory Memory Project
Many wineries hold photographs and documents which demonstrate the rich history of the British Columbia wine territory. UBC’s Okanagan Special Collections and Archives provides an opportunity to preserve them long-term, and make them accessible to people with an interest in learning about the history of the British Columbia wine industry. Learn more about how this collecting initiative participates in wine research at UBC Okanagan.
Fonds and Collections
Described archives
Bill Collings fonds in UBC AtoM
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the winemaking career of Bill Collings, including records such as correspondence files, articles and writings, research documents, as well as posters and prints. Fonds contains records both created and received or collected by Bill Collings.
Quails' Gate Vineyards Estate Winery fonds in UBC AtoM
The fonds consists of records from Quails’ Gate Estate Winery located in West Kelowna, British Columbia. Records in this fonds pertain to the history of the vineyard and the Stewart family, as well as the winery’s business and administration. This fonds includes both analog and born-digital records.
British Columbia Grapegrowers' Association fonds in UBC AtoM
The fonds consists of certificate of incorporation, board meeting minutes and those of some constituent committees, annual reports, education, marketing, and outreach materials, and digital photography of experimentation sites extracted from optical disc. Print photographs depict locations relevant to the Becker Project and a group portrait. The fonds contains reference material that predates the formation of the corporate creator.
Ste. Michelle Wine Labels collection in UBC AtoM
The collection consists of 55 wine labels.
Chefs About Town video fonds in UBC AtoM
Fonds consists recordings of or materials relating to Chefs About Town 1998-1994. The program contains video footage of many Okanagan wineries and vineyards captured on location at places such as Gray Monk, Summerhill, Cedar Creek, Calona, Sumac Ridge, and many others.
British Columbia Wine Grape Council fonds in UBC AtoM
Records concern enology, viticulture, climate, wildlife and pest control, and health and safety. Documentary forms include workbooks, booklets, correspondence, printed emails, reports, proposals, financial records (including invoices, receipts, statements, and accounts), newsletters, and meeting minutes.
Fonds and collections in process (not yet available - please inquire)
John Schreiner fonds
Gary Strachan fonds
John and Lynn Bremmer fonds
From the catalogue
Monographs
John Schreiner's Okanagan Wine Tour by Call Number: TP559.C3 S35 2020ISBN: 9781771513241Publication Date: 2020-04-28For nearly fifteen years Okanagan Wine Tour Guide has been the definitive companion for travelling the winding roads of BC's Interior wine region. In this, the 6th edition, John Schreiner and his new co-author--wine writer, podcaster, and instructor Luke Whittall--chart the latest developments at the oldest wineries and the very first vintages from the newest startups in a region that stretches along Okanagan Lake, west to the Similkameen, north to the Thompson, and east to the Kootenays. This edition includes 240 wineries, revised and updated maps, contact information, tasting room information, and recommendations.
Icon by Call Number: TP559.C3 S345 2017ISBN: 9781771512077Publication Date: 2017-05-16British Columbia has a thriving and exciting wine industry that attracts winemakers from across the globe, and has brought global acclaim to local vintners. It now has a such an array of high-calibre winemakers that John Schreiner has compiled a book showcasing the icon wines from BC's best wineries--and the region itself. For each wine profiled, readers will learn the behind-the-scenes story of the winery and winemaker, as well as the history, provenance, and inspiration behind each wine. The available vintage is listed along with detailed tasting notes, information on number of cases produced, percentages of varietals in the case of blends, and even clone number of particular varietals.
The Wineries of British Columbia by Call Number: TP559.C3 S35 2009ISBN: 9781552859834Publication Date: 2009-05-15Covering 122 wineries, John Schreiner outlines the history of production and rise to fame of the province`s domestic wines. Full of useful resources such as wine shop hours and contact information, The Wineries of British Columbia is an invaluable tour guide.
British Columbia Wine Country by Call Number: TP559.C3 S333 2007ISBN: 9781552858035Publication Date: 2007-04-18British Columbia Wine Country is now fully revised and updated to include the new faces in this scenic wine region. Through a blend of color photography and stories of the personalities behind the bottles, the book presents a rare opportunity to meet the remarkable people who have established British Columbia's best wineries and vineyards. Chapters focus on wine regions in the Okanagan Valley, the Lower Mainland, the Gulf Islands and Vancouver Island, inviting readers to enjoy picturesque landscapes, portraits of leading winemakers and a detailed description of the province's wine industry. With its thorough coverage, lively style and splendid photography, British Columbia Wine Country is an indispensable reference and a visual treat.
Icewine by Call Number: TP548 .S45 2001ISBN: 9781894622134Publication Date: 2004-09-01In the last decade, icewine has become a phenomenon among wine lovers. With the growth of the wine industry in North America in the 1970s and 80s, icewine became a natural for the vineyards of the northern U.S. and Canada, where it can be produced every year. Today, with high quality standards and strong marketing campaigns, icewine has become a prized addition to the gourmet dinner table. With all these new producers and growing interest in it, the market is ripe for an informative book about icewine. With his extensive knowledge of the current wine scene, John Schreiner is in an ideal position to write this, the first authoritative guide to icewine.
Chardonnay and Friends by Call Number: TP559.C3 S35 1998ISBN: 9781551431031Publication Date: 1999-02-01Helps wine lovers explore the mainstream varieties like Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot as well as hidden treasures such as Auxerrois, Ehrenfelser, Pinotage and Sovereign Opal. The author describes the origin of the grape varieties, the taste of the wines, and makes recommendations for food pairing.
John Schreiner's BC Coastal Wine Tour by Call Number: TP559.C2 S323 2011ISBN: 9781770500426Publication Date: 2011-04-25Now from BC's most respected wine writer comes the much-awaited guide to all the wineries of the coastal regions. Here you'll find everything you need to know to take a fascinating self-guided tour of the wineries.
Serials
- Orchard & vineCall Number: SB354 .O724ISBN: 1713-5362Publication Date: 2003-Orchard & Vine Magazine offers a fresh, innovative perspective on industry trends providing interesting articles specific to the tree fruit, berry, grape, wine, cider and spirit industry across Canada.
Pamphlets
Pamphlets describe a class of special materials which were published, but perhaps never intended for durable use or widespread distribution such as convention packages, programs, brochures, or marketing materials.
At Okanagan Special Collections, pamphlets are catalogued simply, without all the detail of monographs (books), often because these resources lack title pages and there is less information to add to a catalogue record. All are identified as OKPAM (Okanagan Pamphlet) and then a sequential number. Search summon with OKPAM AND (wine* OR vin* OR grape*) to discover a list of all pamphlets containing at least one of variations of wine, vines, or grapes.
A few highlights are linked below. Pamphlets are largely undigitized and can be accessed only in our reading room.
- News release: B.C. premium wine industry positioned for growth byCall Number: OKPAM 167Publication Date: 1989News release dated September 21, 1989 about the establishment of "an industry led Premiuim Wine Institute", new wine quality standards, new marketing plans, and changes to production limits for estate wineries. It also announced the creation of a new category of winery, the "mini estate wineries" that would be "farmer owned and operated, with a 10,000 gallon production limit."
- British Columbia Wine Institute annual report, 1999-2000 byCall Number: OKPAM 176Publication Date: 2000From the dedication: "... a report on activities for the year ending March 31, 2000, together with audited financial statements for the period ending March 31, 2000." The report also includes a message from the Chairman, list of the BCWI Board of Directors, season highlights and next season predictions, historical comparisons, various committee reports, and lists of BCWI member wineries and VQA wine stores.
- BC wine grape council newsletter, v.2 no.2 - Winter 2008 byCall Number: OKPAM 169Publication Date: 2008This newsletter contains articles and blurbs on a variety of topics of interest to vintners in British Columbia, including: "Water Supplies Come Under Scrutiny in British Columbia", "Research Updates", "R&D Committee Update", "Okanagan Sustainable Water Strategy", and "Okanagan College Wine Study Certificate".
- Savvy sippers wine guide : what to look for when buying wine byCall Number: OKPAM 246Publication Date: 2014Includes Pinot Noir, Merlot, Syrah/Shiraz, Malbec, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris/Grigio, Riesling, Chardonnay, RoseĢ, Blends and Glossary.