UBC Okanagan Special Collections and Archives

Described archives

Doug and Joyce Cox Research collection in UBC AtoM

The collection consists of the documentation of Cox’s career as an historian and author. The collection is comprised predominantly of photographic material, ca.1870 to approximately 2008 .There are approximately 15,000 unique photographic images in the full collection. Comprised of research and collecting streams that conform to patterns of land use, such as railroads, mining and ranching. 

Simpson family fonds in UBC AtoM

The fonds consists of two separate streams of documentation. The first consists of documents, photographs, and artifacts pertaining to the operations of a succession of sawmills and wood manufacturing plants founded by Stanley Merriam Simpson and assumed by his son, Horace B. Simpson in the Okanagan area. Includes series of recordkeeping revolving around water use and forest management and harvesting. 

The second stream consists of the materials generated by Sharron J. Simpson, a Kelowna author, publisher, and activist. Sharron J. Simpson's records within this aggregation are primarily in relation to legal proceedings against the City of Kelowna in pursuit of the maintenance of the Simpson Covenant, which limits use of waterfront land on a former mill site sold by S.M. Simpson to the City under restrictive terms of sale in 1946. In the 2000s, the City sought to dissolve the Covenant; Sharron J. Simpson founded a society to challenge this initiative.

Redlich Pond video collection in UBC AtoM

The collection consists of video capture of Redlich Pond between the years 2007 and 2018, showing changes to its appearance and biodiversity over time, and one appeal to action in the form of a letter.

The Pocket Desert fonds in UBC AtoM

The fonds consists of documents and records that would go on to compose The Pocket Desert radio documentary, which aired on CBC Radio’s Ideas, produced by Gayle Cornish, and co-created by Dr. Jeannette Armstrong and Dr. Geoffrey Scudder. The documentary concerns the unique desert climate and ecology in and around Osoyoos, British Columbia, and the significance of the land to Syilx Okanagan people.

Len Bawtree fonds in UBC AtoM

The fonds consists of records relating to Bawtree’s time on two important legislative committees: The Committee on Crown Corporations and The Select Standing Committee on Agriculture (SSCA). The SSCA was tasked by the Legislature to make a complete review of agriculture in the province, including the production, processing and distribution of food products within the province. 

Fonds and collections in process (not yet available - please inquire)

British Columbia Air Photos 

Air Photos are a series of photographs taken along lines of flight of an aircraft flying at a specific elevation and utilizing a specific type of camera and lens. A sequence of overlapping photographs are taken so that when a pair of photos is viewed in stereo the image can be seen in three dimensions.

Flight lines usually run east-west or north-south, but especially in areas of mountainous or unique terrain, as .is common in British Columbia, lines can run at any orientation which is best suited for the flights or the weather patterns or the light (shadows).

OSC's holdings represent a regionally relevant portion of a broader collection initially described at Mount Royal University and subsequently temporarily held at Thompson River University. Identified by location according to its National Topographical Service sheet number, most of our air photos correspond with sheets 82E and 92H. Learn how to interpret N.T.S. sheet numbers.

Northcote Collection 
Dr. Tom Northcote was a Professor with tenure, in the Departments of Zoology and Forest Sciences at UBC.  He was given a Lifetime Achievement Award for his many contributions to the scientific understanding and sound management of natural resources in our province.  He taught limnology courses at the University of BC for many years and performed research in limnology and many other fields including fish ecology, behaviour and evolution.  He also started one of the first courses on fish/forestry interactions offered in North America during his association with UBC Faculty of Forestry from 1972 to 1992. 

Upon his retirement from UBC in 1992, Dr. Northcote donated his personal library to this campus.  The collection, related to fresh water and fisheries, consists of reprints and government reports.