Introduction
UBC Okanagan Library, including Special Collections and Archives is located on the ancestral, traditional, and unceded territories of the Syilx Okanagan People. Indigenous history, images, and perspectives can be found in its collections.
A note on language: the materials in Okanagan Special Collections and Archives were created, labelled, titled, and described over the course of many decades. From then to now, conventions around use of words referring to Indigenous persons, communities, and concepts, changed.
UBC Okanagan Library recognizes that the word “Indian” is no longer in broad use, and we acknowledge that this word can be damaging. The word choice in this guide reflects the actual expression of terms in the materials we have collected. To authenticity characterize our collections, we have chosen to reproduce the titles and other descriptors verbatim, even when they contain words that are no longer in use.
We strive to be respectful and accurate. We invite you to be in touch if you have any questions or concerns. To learn more about UBC’s commitment to respectful language, please see Indigenous Peoples: Language Guidelines
Theytus Books
UBC Okanagan Library Special Collections has been pleased to present an exhibition featuring the publications of Theytus Books.
These books, having an essential tie to the Okanagan, provide a reflection of place that is valuable to our campus and communities. Founded in 1980, Theytus Books is the first, and oldest, Indigenous publishing house in Canada. It operates in partnership with the En’owkin Centre on Syilx territory on the Penticton Indian Reserve. Frequently lauded for its focus on the authentic expression of Indigenous voices in print, Theytus has brought the writing, dialogue, and art of a multitude of Indigenous authors to the public. Many of these authors are local to the Okanagan.
Fonds and Collections
Described archives
The Pocket Desert fonds in UBC AtoM
The fonds consists of documents and records that would go on to compose The Pocket Desert radio documentary, which aired on CBC Radio’s Ideas, produced by Gayle Cornish, and co-created by Dr. Jeannette Armstrong and Dr. Geoffrey Scudder. The documentary concerns the unique desert climate and ecology in and around Osoyoos, British Columbia, and the significance of the land to Syilx Okanagan people.
Doug and Joyce Cox Research Collection in UBC AtoM
The collection consists of the documentation of Cox’s career as an historian and author. The collection is comprised predominantly of photographic material, ca.1870 to approximately 2008 .There are approximately 15,000 unique photographic images in the full collection.
- 1.3-22: Penticton Indian Band Collection
- 1.3-23: Inkameep/Osoyoos Indian Band Collection
- 1.3-24: Lower Similkameen Chuchuwaya Bands Collection
BC Indian Languages Project fonds in UBC AtoM
The fonds consists primarily of print copies of Okanagan stories collected and translated by the Br.itish Columbia Indian Languages Project between 1966-1971. It also includes correspondence and a project description.
From the catalogue
Kou-Skelowh/We Are the People by Call Number: E99.O35 K68 2012ISBN: 9781894778664Publication Date: 2010-08-01A collection of original legends told in a strong rhythmic language, this new revised edition of Kou-Skelowh/We Are the Peoplefeatures the Okanagan language and uses stories to teach readers about the values of sharing, self-sacrifice and reverence for life in all forms.
Looking at the Words of Our People by Call Number: PS8089.5.I6 L66 1993ISBN: 0919441521Publication Date: 1993-01-01A collection of Native academic voice on First Nations literature. Includes views on the relevance of First Nations literary analysis. This collection is an example of the diversity of voice and opinion from various regions and various cultural experience. This collection includes essays which will be helpful in identifying contemporary issues related to literature a well as a very useful coverage of the first Native American gathering of writers in Oklahoma in 1992. --Back cover.
Slash by Call Number: PS8551.R7635 S557 2011ISBN: 9781894778459Publication Date: 1995-05-01Slash is Jeannette Armstrong's first novel. It poignantly traces the struggles, pain and alienation of a young Okanagan man who searches for truth and meaning in his life. Recognized as an important work of literature, Slash is used in high schools, colleges and universities.
We Get Our Living Like Milk from the Land by Call Number: E99.O35 W4 1993ISBN: 9780919441361Publication Date: 1994-01-03We Get Our Living Like Milk from the Land is the first historical overview of the Okanagan Nation. It starts with the Creation Story, moves through the first contact of colonization and ends in the present.- Okanagan Indian Language : Written for Hester White byCall Number: OKPAM 58Publication Date: 1940Typewritten lists of vocabulary words in English and Okanagan.
