Library and Research Help
1958 Main Mall
Vancouver BC V6T 1Z2
Getting Started
Welcome! This guide highlights key resources for conducting research in linguistics, including the following:
- reference sources to find background information on your topic
- linguistics books in print and online
- databases for finding scholarly journal articles and reviews in linguistics
- streaming audio and video on language and linguistics
- guides for linguistic areas of study, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, semantics, syntax, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, historical linguistics and computational linguistics
- a list of spoken and written language corpora for language analysis, plus resources on statistical methods in linguistics
- help with managing your language research data
- links to freely available Open Educational Resources (OER) in linguistics
Featured Online Resources
Ethnologue
Ethnologue offers rich data for every language in the world, including speaker populations, maps, dialects, usage and more. Look at statistics for a given country, region, or the entire world, or plug raw data into your own analysis tools to tease out exactly what you need.
LLBA
LLBA is the main scholarly journal article index for linguistics. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, with abstracts of articles from over 1,500 journals. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters and dissertations.
Oxford Bibliographies
Overview articles for more than 250 topics in linguistics. Each article includes citations and contextualization of key works on a topic. Once logged in, select Linguistics from the Subject List.
The Linguist List
A major online resource and forum for academic linguists to discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.