Reference Resources for Psycholinguistics
Psycholinguistics combines methods and theories from psychology and linguistics. It attempts to evaluate the psychological reality and underpinnings of linguistic rules and processes. It also seeks to link word and sentence processing to the deeper expressive processes of message construction and interpretation. Modern psycholinguistic theories emphasize the ways in which distinct areas of the brain interact in a dynamic incremental way to process language. (From the entry for Psycholinguistics by Brian MacWhinney in the International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed.)
The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2018This new and expanded edition of The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics brings together the views of over 80 experts in various domains of psycholinguistic research, offering a comprehensive and authoritative review of the field.
The Handbook of Psycholinguistics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2017Incorporating approaches from linguistics and psychology, The Handbook of Psycholinguistics explores the subject from an array of perspectives and features cutting-edge research from cognitive science, neuroscience and other related fields. The chapters are organized into three parts: production, comprehension, and acquisition.
Introducing Psycholinguistics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2012With a logical, flexible structure, Introducing Psycholinguistics steps through the central topics of production and comprehension of language, and the interaction between them. Students will gain an understanding of the processes and representations involved in language use, aided by a comprehensive glossary, notes in margins and online flashcards.
The Cambridge Handbook of Psycholinguistics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2012This comprehensive handbook is a collection of chapters written not by practitioners in the field, who can summarize the work going on around them, but by trailblazers from a wide array of subfields, who have been shaping the field of psycholinguistics over the last decade.
Psycholinguistics: The Key Concepts by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2004This is an authoritative, wide-ranging and up-to-date A to Z guide to this important field. Cross-referenced, with suggestions for further reading and a full index, this book is a highly accessible introduction to the main terms and concepts in psycholinguistics.
New Books on Psycholinguistics at UBC Library
Library Subject Headings
UBC Library, like most academic libraries, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Books on Psycholinguistics can be found in the UBC Library catalogue under these Subject Headings:
Use the subdivision "Psychological aspects" following the name of a language. For example:
Psycholinguistics: Key Journals
Applied Psycholinguistics publishes original research papers on the psychological processes in language. It examines language development, language use and language disorders in adults and children, with a particular emphasis on cross-language studies. The journal brings together the best work from a variety of disciplines including linguistics, psychology, reading, education, language learning, speech and hearing, and neurology.
Bilingualism: Language and Cognition is an international peer-reviewed journal focusing on bilingualism from a linguistic, psycholinguistic and neuroscientific perspective. The aims of the journal are to promote research on the bilingual and multilingual person, and to encourage debate in the field. Areas covered include: bilingual language competence, bilingual language processing, bilingual language acquisition in children and adults, bimodal bilingualism, neurolinguistics of bilingualism in normal and brain-damaged individuals, computational modelling of bilingual language competence and performance, and the study of cognitive functions in bilinguals.
Cognitive Linguistics presents a forum for linguistic research of all kinds on the interaction between language and cognition. The journal focuses on language as an instrument for organizing, processing and conveying information. Cognitive Linguistics is a peer-reviewed journal of international scope and seeks to publish only works that represent a significant advancement to the theory or methods of cognitive linguistics, or that present an unknown or understudied phenomenon.
Articles in the Journal of Memory and Language contribute to the formulation of scientific issues and theories in the broad areas of memory and language (learning, comprehension and production). The journal's focus is on describing the mental processes that underpin these capacities. Special emphasis is given to research articles that provide new theoretical insights based on a carefully laid empirical foundation.
Mind & Language brings together research done in linguistics, philosophy, psychology, artificial intelligence, cognitive anthropology and cognitive archaeology in a genuinely interdisciplinary way. It is an important forum for sharing the results of investigation and for creating the conditions for a fusion of effort, thus making real progress towards a deeper and more far-reaching understanding of the phenomena of mind and language.
Websites
- CogPrints - PsycholinguisticsWorking papers on psycholinguistics, from CogPrints, an electronic archive of papers in the cognitive sciences.
- Max Planck Institute for PsycholinguisticsResearch on psycholinguistics - the study of mental processes involved in language production, language comprehension and language acquisition, as well as the relation between language, thought, and culture
- CHILDESChild Language Data Exhange System. Tools for studying conversational interactions, including a database of transcripts, programs for computer analysis of transcripts, methods for linguistic coding, and systems for linking transcripts to digitized audio and video.
- MRC Psycholinguistics DatabaseMachine usable dictionary containing 150837 words with up to 26 linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes for each.
- WordNetA large lexical database of English, with a network of meaningfully related words and concepts, made available by Princeton University.