About this Collection
In 1973 library and clerical workers on university and college campuses across British Columbia began organizing as a union in order to represent their collective interests. Workers at University of British Columbia (Local 1), Simon Fraser University (Local 2), Notre Dame University of Nelson (Local 3), Capilano College (Local 4), College of New Caledonia (Local 5), and the Teaching Support Staff at S.F.U. (Local 6) organized over the next two years to collectively form the provincial wide and independent union, the Association of University and College Employees (AUCE). When the union formed, over ninety percent of its members were women, and many of their top concerns had to do with equality and fair treatment in the workplace regardless of gender, sexuality, race or ethnicity. Over the next decade, AUCE members bargained for wages to match the rising cost of living, transparent job classifications, maternity leave, childcare, and other employee benefits.
The AUCE operated as a democratic union with an elected executive, and held yearly conventions to address the needs of its members. Each local chapter worked individually with their university to bargain for collective contracts for their members. The negotiations of changes in collective contracts between the university and the union members sometimes resulted in the workers going on strike until a collective agreement could be reached. In addition to contract negotiations, the AUCE also supported other union, labour, and human rights efforts, especially in response to the changes made by the British Columbia government in the 1970’s to 1980’s.
In 1985 a decision was made by the members to disband the AUCE, partly due to the increased support and protection offered by national unions. For Local 1 workers on the University of British Columbia campus, this resulted in a two year trial affiliation with the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE). In 1987 the members voted to become a chartered local union of the CUPE, CUPE Local 2950. It is an operating local chapter today.
Image source: SFU Archives. Pacific Tribune Photograph Collection.
Archival Collections
- Association of University and College Employees fondsThe fonds consists of records related to the Association of University and College Employees' (AUCE's) provincial and local chapters' activities, efforts, publications, and ephemera. Records span the provincial and local unions' initial accreditation in 1973, to the provincial union disbanding in 1985, and then follow the Local 1 (University of British Columbia) chapter through to its merger with CUPE in 1985 and forward into the late 2000's. The fonds is comprised of the following series: Executive, Advocacy and Bargaining, Committees, AUCE Local Chapters, Correspondence and Related Material, and Photographs, Publications, News Clippings and Ephemera.
- Dick Martin fondsThe fonds consists of material relating to the founding and early history of the AUCE on campus.
Dick Martin became an employee in the Library at the University of British Columbia in the early 1970s. He was an active member of the Association of University and College Employees which represents the clerical and library workers on campus. He was instrumental in establishing the UBC branch (Local 1) of the A.U.C.E. in 1972. - Jean Rands fondsJean Rands was raised in Saskatchewan in the 1950s. Her parents, Stan Rands and Doris Rands (née Fraser), were both prominent figures in social activist circles in the province. Jean was politically and socially engaged from an early age: a member of the Young Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF), she regularly participated in peace marches and joined picket lines in support of striking workers during her school years. In 1968, at age 19, Jean relocated to Vancouver, and began work as a typesetter for the student newspaper at Simon Fraser University. She became involved with the SFU Women’s Caucus, and grew increasingly active in feminist labour organizing, especially in sectors with high participation of women workers which the Canadian labour movement had historically neglected. Throughout the 1970s and 80s, Jean was active as a labour organizer, particularly with SORWUC (the Service, Office, and Retail Workers’ Union of Canada) and several of its local chapters. She was a founding member of both AUCE (Association of University and College Employees) and SORWUC, and served in executive positions in both organizations. She maintained a lifelong interest and commitment to labour and feminist issues, which are reflected in her speaking and writing.
- Larry Kuehn fondsLarry Kuehn obtained his Masters degree in Education from Reed College (Oregon) and started his teaching career in Kitimat, B.C, in 1968. He later taught in Midway, B.C., and Kamloops. He became a member of the Executive of the B.C. Teachers' Federation in 1977, serving as president of the Federation from 1981 to 1984. In 1984, Kuehn left the BCTF to serve as a coordinator of Operation Solidarity, a broadly-based group of B.C. labour unions committed to reversing the provincial government's labour policies. Kuehn worked with Operation Solidarity until 1986.
- Solidarity Coalition fondsThe Solidarity Coalition was formed August 3, 1983 by a group of concerned citizens from all walks of life who wanted to oppose the Social Credit Party of B.C. specifically its policy of "restraint," by voicing a unified protest. Out of this coalition came The People's Commission For Social and Economic Policy Alternatives. Composed of four commissioners, the People's commission travelled B.C. for three months in 1983 (Oct .-- Dec .) holding public meetings, collecting briefs and hearing grievances from individuals and organizations . Its aim was to disseminate information, provide people all over B.C. with a readily available forum, and thus to create a popular opposition. The fonds consists of biographical information, minutes and records of the meetings of the Coalition and its steering committee, and copies of the reports, briefs, submissions and letters received by the People's Commission of Solidarity in its travels around British Columbia. The fonds also includes printed material on various subjects (eg., economics, education, housing, health care, labour, etc.), photographs, copies of petitions and taped hearings of the Commission
- Vancouver Status of Women fondsVancouver Status of Women (VSW) was formed in 1971 in response to the Report of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women set up by Prime Minister Lester Pearson in 1967. VSW’s goals were to ensure that the recommendations of the Royal Commission were implemented, foster public knowledge of women’s issues, and facilitate communication amongst individuals and groups concerned with the status of women.The fonds consists of records related to Vancouver Status of Women’s (VSW’s) administrative activities, projects and lobbying endeavours, and research and reference resources. Although the nature of VSW’s activities has changed over time, the organization has consistently maintained a commitment to addressing social issues related to women, including gender discrimination, pay equity, familial violence, and many more topics. VSW has addressed these issues through a variety of avenues, including publications, press releases, lobbying of governments, a television program, workshops, and services for individuals in Vancouver. The fonds reflects these diverse organizational interests and activities in three series: Administration, Research and Reference Resources, and Projects and Lobbying Activities. Additionally, the fonds contains alphabetized subject files dating from 1971-1978. These files are grouped into sets and described in the attached PDF finding aid.
Collating this Collection
Collections Beyond UBC
- Association of University and College Employees collection at Simon Fraser UniversityCollection consists of records reflecting the administration, organization and activities of AUCE #2 as well as AUCE's provincial organization. Includes constitution, by-laws, articles of agreement, contracts, financial statements, reports, correspondence, memoranda, ephemera, newsletters, handbooks, and bulletins.
- Teaching Support Staff Union fonds at Simon Fraser UniversityThe fonds consists of records created and received in the course of the formation, establishment and operation of the union, primarily during the period 1976-1987. The records reflect the initial drive to charter, organize and certify the union; the internal administration of the union, including elections and finance; negotiations with the administration to establish and renew contracts; efforts to maintain, expand, represent and inform the membership; participation in the provincial organization of the Association of University and College Employees and cooperation with other AUCE locals, and other unions; and involvement in industrial action.
Supplementary Material
AUCE & TSSU : Memoirs of a Feminist Union, 1972-1993 by Call Number: HD6079.2.C32 B7 1994ISBN: 0969813406Publication Date: 1982
Ten Thousand Roses: the Making of a Feminist Revolution by Call Number: HQ1453 .R423 2005ISBN: 0143015443Publication Date: 2005
- Association of University and College Employees labour disputeSpoken word recording: 3 audio cassettes. Radio broadcasts recorded December 4-18, 1975 by the University of British Columbia Information Services Office.
Open Collections
Image source: 1975. “The Ubyssey.” N. Ubyssey. Vancouver : Alma Mater Society of the University of B.C. December 2. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0125768.