Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more. (Replaces CanMap Route Logistics datasets from earlier years)

The Province of British Columbia's main data catalogue

Links to webmap applications working of DataBC's data such as iMap and HectaresBC, and location services such as BC Physical Address Geocoder, Geographical Names Web Service, and Route Planner.

The Soil Information Finder Tool (SIFT) provides access to soil survey data, reports and maps.

The Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR) boundaries for the province.

Download GIS shapefiles for economic regions, regional districts, municipalities, health boundaries, school districts, college regions and electoral districts for the province.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more. (Replaces CanMap Route Logistics datasets from earlier years)

Electoral districts and voting area shapefiles for the province

ICIS is an organization that attempts to collect and normalize data from various municipalities in BC. The main datasets available are data on land parcels and BC assessment property boundaries. ICIS also provides a point layer on addresses in BC and other useful data, such as health care facilities or police jurisdictions.

TRIM data contains two geospatial data sets – one called the TRIM DEM, has shapefiles for elevation points and breaklines. You would use this data to create your own elevation or surface models. The second set is called TRIM Positional and includes various layers for contours, cultural features, landcover, transportation and water. Both sets are for a scale of 1:20,000.

The BC Economic Atlas (BCEA) is a user friendly, web-based mapping application that integrates and displays economic and natural resource data on a map to support investment opportunity identification, business case analysis and decision-making in British Columbia.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more. (Replaces CanMap Route Logistics datasets from earlier years)

TRIM data contains two geospatial data sets – one called the TRIM DEM, has shapefiles for elevation points and breaklines. You would use this data to create your own elevation or surface models. The second set is called TRIM Positional and includes various layers for contours, cultural features, landcover, transportation and water. Both sets are for a scale of 1:20,000.

Geological, geochemical, and geophysical spatial data for the province (and more)

On this website, browse or search a detailed PDF atlas and download GIS data files of over 300 ocean features, as well as view analysis results.

Biogeoclimatic zone/subzone/variant GIS data and maps available for the province.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more. (Replaces CanMap Route Logistics datasets from earlier years)

TRIM data contains two geospatial data sets – one called the TRIM DEM, has shapefiles for elevation points and breaklines. You would use this data to create your own elevation or surface models. The second set is called TRIM Positional and includes various layers for contours, cultural features, landcover, transportation and water. Both sets are for a scale of 1:20,000.

Geospatial forest inventory dataset updated for depletions, such as harvesting, and projected annually for growth. Sample attributes in this dataset include: age, species, volume, height. The Vegetation Resources Inventory (VRI) spatial datasets describe both where a vegetation resource (ie timber volume, tree species) is located and how much of a given resource is within an inventory unit.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more. (Replaces CanMap Route Logistics datasets from earlier years)

TransLink route and station data created from General Transit Specification Feed (GTFS), downloaded 14 September 2015. Esri shapefiles were created by UBC library from the GTFS feed from TransLink.

TransLink route and station data created from General Transit Specification Feed (GTFS), downloaded 18 July 2016. Esri shapefiles and geojson were created by UBC library from the GTFS feed from TransLink.