Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.

The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.

GeoGratis is an open data portal from the Natural Resources Canada, allowing you to search for a variety of Canadian geospatial data. It is particularly useful to get satellite imagery and digital elevation models.

A geospatial data portal offered by Esri Canada.

The Government of Canada's new Open Data Portal can be used to find a wide variety of Canadian data, including geospatial data.

Canadian soil survey data, maps and reports.

Cartographic Boundary Files are a series of products containing the boundaries of standard geographic areas together with the shoreline around Canada and larger inland lakes, all integrated in a single layer. They are used to map Census of Population data, and can also be used with Census of Agriculture, National Household Survey, or other Statistics Canada data.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.

Download elevation and topographic data based on predefined or custom-defined geographic areas.

Includes links to Canada Lands Digital Cadastral Data, Administrative Boundaries for Canada Lands, Aboriginal Lands Administrative Boundaries, and Canadian Geopolitical Boundaries.

Download elevation and topographic data based on predefined or custom-defined geographic areas.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.

A geo-spatial representation of the land division system, in NAD83 coordinates, is available in ShapefileTM format for oil and gas exploration and regulations. The dataset is composed of three layers: Grid Areas; Sections; and Units. The geo-spatial files cover the Northwest Territories (including the offshore), Nunavut (including the offshore), the Atlantic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, and Hudson Bay.

From the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, the North American Environmental Atlas assembles seamless, accurate cartographic data, including maps, documentation, and interactive map layers at a scale of 1:10,000,000

Publicly available animal, ecology and plant data available for free download.

Links to various GeoGratis searches on Climate Change data topics.

The National & Large Fire Databases are collections of forest fire locations as provided by Canadian fire management agencies including provinces, territories, and Parks Canada.

1km resolution land cover data for Alaska and Canada from the USGS. (Data Produced: 2000)

From the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, the North American Environmental Atlas assembles seamless, accurate cartographic data, including maps, documentation, and interactive map layers at a scale of 1:10,000,000

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.

GeoGratis is an open data portal from the Natural Resources Canada, allowing you to search for a variety of Canadian geospatial data. It is particularly useful to get satellite imagery and digital elevation models.

An extensive library licensed data set from DMTI Spatial, Inc., which includes shapefiles covering all of Canada for transportation, points of interest, administrative boundaries, land use, physical features, building footprints, and more.