Multi-thematic
- Data.govThe US government's open data portal (which includes geospatial data).
- EarthExplorer (EE)EarthExplorer (EE) is a client/server interface that provides access to the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center archive. The EROS archive is a comprehensive collection of land remote-sensing data that spans more than 70 years for national (US) coverage and more than 50 years for the world. Current EE data collections include aerial photography, satellite imagery, elevation data, land cover products, and digitized maps as well as remotely-sensed data for a variety of USGS projects and partners.
- The National Map Small-Scale CollectionDownload small-scale geospatial data for land cover, governmental units/boundaries, elevation, geographic names/map reference, and transportation.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowInternet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using Canadian and US demographic, business, and marketing data.
- GIS Data by State (University of Maryland LibGuide)A list of links to geospatial data portals by state.
Agriculture
- Web Soil SurveyDownloadable soil data for the US in both tabular (csv) and geospatial (shp) formats.
Base Data
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesThe Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every US county.
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014.
- USGS National Hydrography DatasetThe National Hydrography Dataset (NHD) and Watershed Boundary Dataset (WBD) are used to portray surface water on The National Map. The NHD represents the drainage network with features such as rivers, streams, canals, lakes, ponds, coastline, dams, and streamgages. The WBD represents drainage basins as enclosed areas in eight different size categories. Both datasets represent the real world at a nominal scale of 1:24,000-scale, which means that one inch of The National Map data equals 2,000 feet on the ground.
- The National Map Small-Scale CollectionDownload small-scale geospatial data for land cover, governmental units/boundaries, elevation, geographic names/map reference, and transportation.
Business & Economics
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowInternet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using Canadian and US demographic, business, and marketing data.
Elevation
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Elevation ProductsA list of Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Elevation Products and how to access them.
- Yale University's Center for Earth Observation DEM SourcesA list of free DEM Sources for the US and the world from Yale University's Center for Earth Observation.
Energy
- US Energy Information AdministrationIndividual layers from their interactive mapping system, including coal mines, crude oil pipelines, petrochemical crackers, refineries and more.
Environment
- US National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Environmental Information Data AccessNational Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Environmental Information Data Access, including geospatial data and imagery from satellites and land-based stations.
- US National Weather Service GIS PortalUS National Weather Service Data with links to WMS, KML and shapefiles on forecasts, extreme weather events, and base map data.
- Nature Serve DataPublicly available animal, ecology and plant data available for free download.
- North American Environmental AtlasFrom the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, the North American Environmental Atlas assembles seamless, accurate cartographic data, including maps, documentation, and interactive map layers at a scale of 1:10,000,000
Land Cover/Land Use
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Land Cover ProductsA list of Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Land Cover Products and how to access them.
Remote Sensing/Satellite Imagery
- EarthExplorer (EE)EarthExplorer (EE) is a client/server interface that provides access to the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center archive. The EROS archive is a comprehensive collection of land remote-sensing data that spans more than 70 years for national (US) coverage and more than 50 years for the world. Current EE data collections include aerial photography, satellite imagery, elevation data, land cover products, and digitized maps as well as remotely-sensed data for a variety of USGS projects and partners.
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Satellite Imagery ProductsA list of Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Satellite Imagery Products and how to access them.
- Reverb/ECHO (NASA)The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS), from NASA’s Earth Science Data Systems Program, provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA’s Earth science data from various sources—satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs. Reverb is EOSDIS's new metadata and service discovery tool you can use to find remote sensing and earth science data.
- USGS Landsat Data AccessInformation about the USGS Landsat data and how to access the data through various tools/portals.
- USGS Global Visualization Viewer (GloVis)View and download worldwide satellite imagery (requires free account registration).
Selected Nearby State/City Data Portals
Alaska
Oregon/Washington
Transportation
- The National Map Small-Scale CollectionDownload small-scale geospatial data for land cover, governmental units/boundaries, elevation, geographic names/map reference, and transportation.