Slavic, Central, and East European Studies

The Russian literature collection is split between the 1st floor of Koerner Library and ASRS.  The call number range for Russian Literature is PG 2900-3698.  In general, newer items and works in translation are on the 1st floor of Koerner Library, while older materials (pre-1975) in Russian are in the ASRS.

To find books in the library catalogue, search for a specific author or try a Subject Heading search:

• Russian Fiction
• Short stories, Russian
• Russian poetry
• Russian drama
• Russian Literature
  • for English editions, add the phrase "Translations into English" to the Subject Headings above:
  • ie: Russian Fiction - Translations into English

UBC Library has two large microform sets useful for Russian history and literature studies. To view, please visit the Journals and Microforms desk, 2nd floor, Koerner Library

• Russian History and Culture
  Collection of 2000 scarce books on 19th and early 20th century Russia, from Helsinki University Library's 300,000-volume Russian collection. Individual titles are not catalogued; see the Russian history and culture index located in Koerner microforms reference (ZDK188 .R877 1978)
• Russian Historical Sources (1846-1929)
  Two series containing thirty-eight titles considered vital to research in Russian history, economy, sociology, culture, and language covering the time period from the late 19th to the early 20th century. The collection is in Russian, and includes dictionaries, bibliographies, government documents and periodicals, some of which are unavailable in any other format.

Russian Literature

• Reference Guide to Russian Literature (1998)
• Handbook of Russian Literature (1985)
• Plots and characters in major Russian fiction (1977)

Russian Women Writers

• Dictionary of Russian women writers (1994)
• Women and writing in Russia and the USSR : a bibliography of English-language sources (1992)
• Russian women writers (1999)

Unofficial and Samizdat Writing

• Soviet dissident literature, a critical guide (1983)
• Free voices in Russian literature, 1950s-1980s : a bio- bibliographical guide (1987)
• Samizdat Leningrada, 1950-e-1980-e : literaturnaia entsiklopediia (2003)
• Samizdat : bibliograficheskii ukazatel´ (1992)
• Samizdat and political dissent in the Soviet Union (1975)
• Präprintium : Moskauer Bücher aus dem Samizdat (1998 includes CD-ROM)
• Samizdat Leningrada, 1950-e-1980-e : literaturnai︠a︡ ėnt︠s︡iklopedii︠a︡ (2003)

Emigré Writings

• Russian poetry and criticism in Paris from 1920 to 1940 (1990)
• Literatura russkogo zarubezhʹi︠a︡ : knigi 1917-1940 : materialy k bibliografii (1993)
• Locating exiled writers in contemporary Russian literature (2009, also online)

• Fundamental'naia elektronnaia biblioteka "Russkaia literatura i fol'klor" (Fundamental Electronic Library): Russian literature and folklore from the 11th to the 20th century.
• Klassika.ru (Classics): Digital library of many classics of Russian literature, including both prose and poetry.
• The Pushkin Page: Includes full text of selected works in Russian and English.
• Russian Poets of the XXth Century: Biographies of Akhmatova, Blok, Mandelshtam, Tsvetaeva, Mayakovsky, and Pasternak.
• From the Ends to the Beginning: A Bilingual Anthology of Russian Verse: Searchable anthology of Russian poetry from the 18th century to contemporary.
• SovLit: A Soviet Literature Resources: Summaries and select translations of influential Soviet authors.